After the hiatus….

I have no clue how to begin this. There have been times when I have blogged after a month’s gap and had no clue how to share all that transpired during that time. And here I am – after almost like 2 years?!

I should perhaps start with a very very hearty “hello!”. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss this space, writing here and just talking to all of you here. But I know you wouldn’t believe me. After all, if I did miss writing and you, wouldn’t I be more regular? Β I honestly have no answer. I kept thinking I’d write when that perfect moment arrives (as much as I knew it never would coz’ it never does) and that I would start with a post that would make up for this long period of dormancy. But am afraid that if I wait longer, I’d probably never get to writing again.

How have you all been? I feel so nostalgic opening up WordPress and finding some changes in the interface, reading my last post and then some comments and wondering why have been so foolish to stay away. For so long.Β Last Sunday, I was just introducing WordPress to a friend (one really cool person) and that was it, I knew then and there that I had to get back. Thank you Mrs. A for having just initiated it.

I have had a good 2 years – the usual roller-coaster that comes with being a PhD student. We travelled a fair bit, K and I, amidst all this – sometimes for conferences and then clubbing it with a vacation, sometimes just for vacation. The number of magnets on the fridge has increased, my fear of flights continues to stay, K stillΒ complains that I cannot get one good photo of him (one of these days, I tell you), my brother came over to study in Singapore as well (yay!)…. well, a lot has happened. Eventually, I will get to write more about all this and share my stories with you.

With that, I take another oath (14th one? 15th one? I can’t remember) to stay more regular here, to write more, to read more blogs, to have that restlessness to blog when I go to some new place/ do something fun, to share stories, to write about people I meet, to feel happy when there is a comment (am frank like that) and just sometimes try something new so I can create a memory to pen down here.

I don’t think any of you will check this space soon but I hope to get back in touch with all of you gradually and re-live the joy of blogging. Some of you wrote to me, asking me why I stopped blogging and encouraging me to write again – for all of you who thought of me, I am grateful. I am back now and with that, I strike one thing off my 2016 resolution list.

 

 

 

18 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · September 20, 2016

    Good to see a post from you Pr. Dr. Priya. Do continue writing a post or two sometimes:)

    Destination Infinity
    PS: Pr. = Prospective πŸ˜›

    • kismitoffeebar · September 20, 2016

      DI! So happy to see you πŸ™‚ Ha ha, it will be a while for the Pr to be Dr πŸ˜›
      I will continue writing more often from now.

  2. wanderlustathome · September 20, 2016

    About to me πŸ™‚

    • wanderlustathome · September 20, 2016

      That was supposed to be, ‘about time’ πŸ˜€

      • kismitoffeebar · September 20, 2016

        So true πŸ™‚ Our conversation quite a while back has a role to play too πŸ™‚

  3. Deeps · September 21, 2016

    Welcome back, Kismi! I havent been around much either. So I know what you mean :D. But it feels great to come back and jot things down no matter how long its been, doesnt it? πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · September 21, 2016

      @Deeps πŸ™‚ So happy to see you here. So true, it feels amazing and liberating even just to jot down a come-back post. After a while of feeling guilty and not opening the page, this feels so good and much-needed. I cannot wait to read you again, am slowly hopping back on the bandwagon again πŸ™‚

  4. Nithvin · September 21, 2016

    Hey Kismi!
    Good to see your post:)
    You know what.. About a month ago, I saw packets of Kismi toffee bars in the supermarket and who do you think they reminded me of ? πŸ˜‰

    • kismitoffeebar · September 21, 2016

      Nithvin! I feel so happy and overwhelmed when I see all of your comments – hugs to you πŸ™‚ Thank you for remembering me, really made me so happy (and a bit vain as well :P)
      I haven’t eaten them since our trip to Bhutan which was almost 2 years ago, I simply haven’t found them anywhere!
      How have you been?

      • Nithvin · September 21, 2016

        Hugs right back to u Kismi πŸ™‚
        Even I don’t remember seeing it for a long time- except on that day recently..
        Am doing fine! Stopped blogging a long time ago..but catch up on my fav. bloggers’ posts now and then..So, waiting to catch up on how you have been πŸ™‚

  5. Bikramjit · September 21, 2016

    what do you mean .. check this space .. I am sure everyone who are blogging are still here .. Good to see you back and hopefully you will be here now …. I think its good to take a break Me too was off blogging for 2 years or more and have just myself started although not as often as we used to 3 or 4 years back .. πŸ™‚

    but its good to get in touch with all the Old bloggers .. πŸ™‚ welcome back

    • kismitoffeebar · September 21, 2016

      Hello Bikramjit,
      So happy to see you here! πŸ™‚ How are you? true, sometimes taking a break makes you understand how valuable something is – and blogging definitely is πŸ™‚
      Hope you are doing very well and had a good break. I will read and catch up on your posts slowly but steadily. Welcome back you too πŸ™‚

  6. Scribby · September 21, 2016

    tell me about not being around, ha, I was away for 1 year πŸ˜€ so good to be back to blogging, I can relate to all your feelings of being away!

    And congratulations on completion of your Ph.D., when does it get awarded? And hey, will you be mad at me if I tell you that just 3 weeks back I was in Singapore? *tsk tsk*

    • kismitoffeebar · September 21, 2016

      I am so mad at you! But I don’t blame you either – it has been so long that I have been away, but please do tell me when you come next time ? πŸ™‚
      I am still doing my PhD, still have 2 more years to go until I even submit haha πŸ˜›
      So good to see you here Scribby πŸ™‚

  7. dreamzandclouds · September 27

    welcome back! πŸ™‚

  8. evascratches · October 1

    Thank you for introducing me to blogging😊

Leave a Reply

