Today

Sometimes, I am amazed at how certain lines from the book speak to you at the most opportune moment. Almost as if, you have been wanting someone to tell you that and then this book comes in your life just to do that very thing.

I am now reading “The End of Your Life Book Club” by Will Schwalbe. As I sat in the cab this morning, immersed in many “to-do”lists, too thoughtful for a Friday, I pulled out my Kindle to read a few lines and clear my head a bit. Does reading do that to you? It clears my mind and helps me put things in perspective. Though I know this, I am still amazed everytime it happens. For K, any good game or food shows or even news does that magic. Ah, well.

Like today, I questioned my involvement in too many things. I thought of the packed evening and the tight weekend that I have voluntarily planned for myself, contemplating packing thursday evenings and wondered if I really do have to go to Ikea to assemble a sense of priority.Β And then, the book told me:

“For this day only is ours, we are dead to yesterday, and we are not yet born to the morrow” (Jeremy Taylor); and “For to know Thee is perfect righteousness; yea, to know Thy power is the root of immortality” (Wisdom of Solomon XV. 2,3).

It filled me with a sense of gratitude, goosebumps and all. I looked out of the window to see it had started to drizzle and then I saw a man taking his dog out for a walk at the crossing. He was dressed in white, looking so upbeat about life, in hisΒ 60s or 70s maybe. The dog looked equally charming and they seemed so happy with each other.Β I have no idea why but I think I will hold on to this one image for a long time to come. There was something in that moment that moved me. Moved me enough to come back and write it down immediately. It reassured me that this undertaking as long as it makes me happy, as long as it makes me feel alive, and purposeful, is indeed a great event in my life, by itself. These thoughts may seem so disjointed to you, but there was some amazing connection that made all the sense to me.

I hope all of you get such moments in your life, that touch you and leave you content. For now, let us enjoy our Friday πŸ™‚

 

17 comments

  1. The Girl Next Door · August 15, 2014

    Beautiful post, Kismi. We all have such moments. πŸ™‚ It makes sense.

    Reading clears my mind, too. Cooking and walking, too, has the same effect. Sometimes, writing.

    • kismitoffeebar · August 15, 2014

      Thank you TGND! Cooking does that for me too when I cook out of love πŸ™‚ Writing too, sometimes!

  2. Bikramjit · August 15, 2014

    So True.. indeed yesterday is gone.. cant do much .. tomorrow is not in our hands will it come not come .. so TODAY is the day that is the most important..

    what a lovely thought Kismi.. beautiful

    have a great day and a lovely weekend tooooo ..

  3. Destination Infinity · August 15, 2014

    Maybe you can also buy a dog and walk it in the rain. You can personally experience the moment once again? πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · August 20, 2014

      Well, I guess I didn’t make sense to you after all! πŸ˜›

  4. pixie · August 15, 2014

    how lovely!! πŸ™‚
    yes.. a good book, a drizzle, looking out the window helps me as well πŸ™‚
    happy Friday kismi πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · August 20, 2014

      Thank you Pixie! πŸ™‚ Absolutely agree. I’d like to add maggi πŸ˜›

      • pixie · August 20, 2014

        oh yea! me too!! πŸ˜›

  5. freakyveggie · August 15, 2014

    Beautiful post πŸ™‚

  6. Deeps · August 17, 2014

    That was so beautifully expressed, Kismi! I’m glad you jotted your thoughts down here. I can relate to the moments you’re talking about πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · August 20, 2014

      Thanks Deeps πŸ™‚ I am so glad you could relate to them! And so good to see you here again πŸ™‚

  7. Aarthy · August 17, 2014

    Life does have these moments of revelation Kismi. When we do get them, it makes us feel so happy and liberated. I could completely relate to the feelings you have expressed.

  8. Scribby · August 19, 2014

    lovely!

  9. dreamzandclouds · September 4, 2014

    lovely thoughts! And no, your thoughts are not at all disjointed….sometimes things like these is what makes sense the most. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

