Sunshine on the blog!

Awards make me super happy. Even when I don’t know whether I deserve them. This year hasn’t seen me blogging a lot. I have too many impending travel posts, book reviews and other things on my mind that I haven’t penned down at all. Yet, when sheΒ nominated me for this, I felt happy beyond words. I love reading her blog, the way she uses her words, the mutual love we have for random things from Bodyshop to art and craft and the fact that we sleep on our tummy hugging the pillow πŸ™‚Β Β Thank you MM! This post has been long due but am happy to be doing it at least now.

sunshine

Since nothing good in life comes easy, there are obviously rules here as well.

Rules Of The Sunshine Award
β€’ Display the award on your blog.
β€’ Show your gratitude and link back to the person who nominates you with the award.
β€’ Nominate upto 10 of your favourite deserving β€œbloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere”.
β€’ Link the nominees in your post and let them know they have been awarded.
β€’ Write 10 interesting things about yourself.

And since rules are meant to be flouted, I will shamelessly flout the toughest one – nomination. Instead, I will make a new rule in place (sounds familiar?) – I open this award to anyone here because hey! a little bit of sunshine didn’t do anyone any harm, right? πŸ™‚ Go on and pick this up especially if you are looking for something to inspire you to write.

Now, 10 interesting things about myself. I have no clue whether you will find them interesting, but here goes:

1. I used to come home from school and watch some WWF matches. There was this guy, Rock, who raised each eyebrow individually and it looked so cool when he did that So, I spent days practising the skills and now I can proudly say that I have mastered it. I am suppressing the urge to post photos of it here.

2. Similarly, I can also move my ears back and forth. Now, that is something K had taken up as a favourite pastime until recently. Everytime he needed entertainment he’d go, “Toffee, show me how you move your ears.” I had to use some of my psychology background to wean his obsession.

3. The last one month I have been looking forward to coming back home from work. The reason: I buy myself a peanut butter waffle on my way back from this super awesome place that make yummy waffles. I reach work and am waiting to go back just for waffles.Β I end up reaching home late owing to the queue. But that moment when I have the freshly made waffle in my hand, the smell of peanut butter and that first bite of the perfect crispiness and juicy insides makes it all totally worth it.

4. I am obsessed with stationery. Like OBSESSED. Like, OBSESSED. So, I have a small shop at home. Yet, I can’t for the life of me find a sharpener when I need one badly.

5. I am currently learning Mandarin. My teacher is so cute that he thinks we don’t know a lot more than Mandarin. Like the other day, he was teaching us animal names in Mandarin and we came to the topic of tiger and he was like, “You know tiger? The animal with stripes which says “Groowwwwllll” and is sometimes in a zoo?” He did this for most animals. It was super cute watching him teach us animals and Mandarin. Okay, this isn’t an interesting fact about me but well, I was itching to share this.

6. Β I am fascinated by Coorg cuisine and we have been making a few vegetarianΒ Kodava dishes at home the past 2 weeks. I can’t believe I hadn’t tried my hand at them before. I am raring to go to Coorg and spend a few days there on the coffee plantations, savouring honey, buy cashews and learning about their cuisine from a native. And to think, Β I come from a place so close to Coorg.

7. I am watching some old favourites on youtube with K every nightΒ – Zaika India ka, Malgudi Days, Highway on my Plate and now Sarabhai vs. Sarabhai and Small Wonder. Oh the nostalgia that hits you!

8. I had a very interesting and memorable trip to Vietnam last month. We rented bikes and biked across mountains and visited the most amazing spots and had entire days to ourselves. We stopped along the roads, just stood there at high altitudes, stared into emptiness without a spoken word, savoured the sunset and had mango milkshakes at practically every place where they served them. I can’t wait to write about this trip on my blog. I will never forget this trip, ever.

9. I love animes. As I type this, I am watching Madagascar 3 again.

10. I think I am an interesting person. K uses the term crazy.

Over to you now! Thanks MM, I had a whale of a time doing this πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

20 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · June 14, 2014

    OK. First off, I have snatched the award πŸ˜›

    I remember Small Wonder. That was great. But there was one serial I liked even more – The Wonder Years. I’ve been trying to get DVDs of this series, but I don’t find them anywhere now. Many years back, I found it in Landmark but back then I didn’t have money!

    Waiting for pics from Vietnam trip. Looks like you are in no mood to leave out (touring) any country in SE.Asia! πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · June 14, 2014

      DI!
      Yay, I look forward to reading your 10 points πŸ˜› Ya, I loved Small Wonder. I only have heard of Wonder Years and am yet to watch it. Let me email you a link I found where I could play some episodes just now. Amazon or flipkart don’t have it either?
      Ha ha, we are in Singapore and really want to make best use of it. That and our love for travelling + long weekends + friendly flights = touring πŸ™‚

  2. Bikramjit · June 15, 2014

    Congratulations celebration time.. yayyyyyyyy on the award…

    He he he he the rock.. my favourite dwayne johnson and his eyebrows..

    And those are good points for sure.. mandarin wowow.. I am not sure if I can learn a language now..

    And old is gold for sure I remember malgudi days..
    And yes yiu are a interesting errr crazy nooo interesting person..

    Congrats again. .

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2014

      Thanks Bikram πŸ™‚ Your comments always make me smile. I’d love to read 10 more things about you. So, please do pick this award when free πŸ™‚

      • Bikramjit · June 16, 2014

        πŸ™‚ thank you so much.. yes will do it for sure πŸ™‚ Thank you again

  3. greenboochi · June 16, 2014

    Kismi.. I have missed me so so much here and this sunshine post did bring a lot of sunshine! πŸ˜€

    Let me start from the bottom, I seriously think you are a very interesting and lovely person. How cares what the better half thinks eh? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    I love animated movies too! I would never miss watching an animated movie on big screen. Thankfully, S shares the same love and we end up enjoying it a lot. Rio was the first movie we watched after our wedding πŸ˜€

    Pls do write about your Vietnam trip, would love to read πŸ™‚

    I used to love all those shows – Small Wonder being the most favorite πŸ˜€

    Pls share the Kodagu recipes, would love to try them. I have heard Coorg is famous for its Pork curry, as in called Coorg Pandi curry. I never knew there were equivalent veg dishes too πŸ™‚

    Oh wow! Mandarin eh? Super Kismi πŸ™‚

    I guess I can say the same about my kitchen equipment. I have everything and when I want one small specific thing, I cant find it. Sigh. And art supplies. Too many.

    Waffles – slurrrpp πŸ™‚

    Wow! You can move your ears? I must remember to ask you to show me, when we meet πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I used to regularly follow WWF as well.. sometimes I have woken up very early and not knowing what to do, watched WWF until it was time for school. And after school, we played those WWF Trump cards.. Hulk Hogan, Yokozuna, The Undertaker – do you remember them too? πŸ˜‰

  4. greenboochi · June 16, 2014

    Errr… I have missed *YOU πŸ˜€

    • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2014

      Oh my God!!!!!!! I LOVE your comments GB! πŸ™‚ I love the time you take to write so much though and share your thoughts. Thank you, I mean it. Hugs, lots of it πŸ™‚ And in that order:

      Thankee GB! πŸ™‚
      Same pinch!
      Ha ha, yes, I will share more from the trip pakka.
      I hadn’t watched Sarabhai vs Sarabhai. Small wonder is awesome!
      Oh, sure. I am trying them from websites and will share the links through email.
      Mandarin is super fun!
      Ha ha, same problems everywhere finding lost stuff, eh?
      Waffles – drool.
      Yeah, I can move my ears. LOL, sure will show you πŸ˜›
      Oh, I know those cards but haven’t played them – just watched the shows lol πŸ˜›

      Thanks GB πŸ™‚

  5. Arch · June 16, 2014

    Yay!! Congratulations!! πŸ™‚
    Lovely lovely post Kismi. Good to know you more! πŸ™‚
    – I loved all those shows on TV!
    – Mandarin? Wow!!
    – Cooooorg.. That is why you know Kannada. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    – Waffles or no waffles, I keep thinking about going back home too. 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2014

      Arch! πŸ™‚ You are a sweet person, thanks a lot πŸ™‚ I am from Mysore (naanu mysore huDugi, gotha?) and that’s how I know Kannada πŸ™‚
      Learning a new language is always fun! More people to talk to in a foreign land. Sigh, I think of the other home but have made this my home as well, so not too bad. I miss my parents and brother a lot though. So, I totally understand what you mean Arch. Hugs πŸ™‚

      • Arch · June 16, 2014

        Aha! Mysore Hudugi!! Awesome! πŸ™‚
        Gives me a warm feeling. ❀ Language and places have some magic associated with them, don't they!?

      • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2014

        You bet! πŸ™‚ From now on, I will say at least one sentence in Kannada to you. Parvagilla thane?

      • Arch · June 16, 2014

        super alla! πŸ™‚
        I will be more than happy to read them!

  6. ashreyamom · June 16, 2014

    you too watched WWF.. i used to like 123 kid.. i think his name was that only.. thin guy.. small wonder used to make my all my evenings good.. i kept on trying to talk like a robot.. :P.. it was nice to read 10 points abt u..

    • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2014

      Ha ha .. what is 123kid?? Ya, small wonder made so many evenings good, no? LOL! Vicky is such a cutie pie! πŸ™‚ Thanks AM! Would love to know 10 more things about you as well. Why don’t you take it up? πŸ™‚

  7. The Girl Next Door · June 16, 2014

    Loved this post, Kismi. πŸ™‚ Good to know a wee bit more about you!

    Drooling at ‘waffles’. I have had them only once, and not at a great place, and didn’t end up liking them. Want to try them out again so much.

    Trip to Vietnam?! Oh, wow!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 17, 2014

      Thanks a lot TGND! πŸ™‚
      Oh, I understand “bad” waffles – some smell of raw egg in the batter and I hate that! But this place makes awesome waffles TGND. You come here and I will make sure you try these! πŸ™‚

  8. pixie · June 16, 2014

    Congratulations on the award!!
    This is such a nice post! Made me smile!! My sis used to watch WWF too! *eye roll*
    And your Vietnam vacation sounds idyllic! and I want a peanut butter waffle too! Sounds delicious!
    Kodava veg dishes a? recipe kodu pls.. sounds fascinating!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 17, 2014

      Thanks Pixie πŸ™‚ He he, ya ya we are WWF people! πŸ˜›
      Vietnam vacation was awesome! πŸ™‚ Ohho, maneli waffle maker idiya? Making waffles is easy also πŸ™‚
      Sari link kaLsthini recipes ge. I also cook by looking at the internet πŸ˜›

  9. shaktii · July 29, 2014

    oh im just loving you…how i missed sarabhai vs sarabhai ?? thank you so much dear now iam so addicted to it lol..
    when day begins i start watching episodes after episodes..omg just loving it..ratna is so daring in it…did they make season 2 too?? amazing show…

Leave a Reply

