Cheese and cheese crackers !

Isn’t it amazing how we learn to have good breaks between endless hours of work? I have noticed that while I sometimes forget to work, I never seem to forget to take a break. The past weeks have been full of work and I am always wishing for more hours before I logout from work simply because, I have so much left. But once am out, I hardly let that thought bother me for long. I really think of this as a strength and as my own coping mechanism. Everyone has a coping mechanism and mine is to just let it be by finding something else to do. I must admit that this isn’t always easy. Sitting in a ferry on the way to Indonesia and thinking of that impending report  does happen to me. But, all I need is to look outside, look at happy faces and realise that everything is achievable and nothing merits worry. I constantly seek to spend time with people I like and people who fill me with a lot of positive energy. Books, movies and people have that power of lifting you to such delirious heights that it becomes an addiction, a mandatory ritual even.

Today was one such beautiful day where I realised how life in its little moments has its own way to telling you that needlessly worrying and making a mountain of a molehill is outright ridiculous and a shameful waste of time. I went to the eldercare today for a session of volunteering. As always, it warms my heart to see elderly people happy and welcoming and so friendly forgetting all their ailments. Some cannot raise their hands to wave a hello and yet they make all the effort in the world to convey that through their eyes and smile and the way they lean forward when they see you. I know a few of them quite well and yet, I am always close to tears when I see them – they are beautiful people inside-out; they put all their pains and sorrows aside just for those few hours of happiness they get by spending time with others.

We took them on a kopi trip – a small outing where we take the elderly residents for coffee and food to a nearby food court that is followed by a shopping trip where everyone has an equal budget within which they can choose whatever they wish to buy. It is a 1:1 event where one volunteer takes care of one elderly person. So, I was with a very bubbly Mr. W. I have often seen a lot of pictures on the facebook page of him singing those peppy numbers in Mandarin. I was super excited to be spending time with him. We had a delightful time at foodcourt where he requested for kopi-o with extra sugar (he made sure that it was as per his liking) and pork mee with extra chilli. His hands are weak and he needs to be fed. His diet also needs to be soft and noodles cut into bits. I don’t even want to mention this but I have to because if you had seen him enjoy his meal and coffee today, you would have cried at how easy it is to attain happiness.I just placed the cup infront of him and asked him to enjoy. I did not want to assume he needed help. He had me in splits when he said “I would enjoy it if a young lady fed me” – so cheeky and charming that I couldn’t refuse him. After a good time, we went shopping where he requested for “Tiger beer” – talk of enjoyment! Well, I coaxed him to buy coke and enticed him with some pringles and chilli sauce (to make his everyday porridge spicier). We took lots of photos and shared many a smile that will stay with me for the rest of my life. I felt absolutely no sadness when I said bye to him. I loved his company and respected him for his ability to be happy and make everyone happy. I don’t know when I will get a similar chance but I always want to think of him with a smile. I love how these little moments give us much more than the other way round. Selfish though it sounds, I think it has become addictive, in a good  way.

Just like these cheese crackers. I came back home in such high spirits that I had to channel them somewhere. Call to parents and Chintu + a smile on K’s face was the obvious choice. So, I made these cheddar cheese crackers from her blog. Please excuse me while I go stuff my face with some more. They are awesome! I loved the simplicity of the recipe, the smell that I could sense just by reading the recipe that I HAD to make them. Please go make these coz’ they are done before you even begin!

cc1 cca

I have always been fascinated by cookie cutters. Apart from using them on playdoh, this was the first time, I used them to make crackers – I kind of went wild with frenzy as you can see above and below.

cc3 cc4

cc5

2 batches have been devoured already. With another batch on the cooling rack, life is good.

20 comments

  1. B. M. · May 3, 2014

    WHAT just goood .. It is VERYYYYYYYYYYYYYY GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDDDDDDDDDDdd

    yummmy

    • kismitoffeebar · May 4, 2014

      Hehe thanks Bikram. I have missed your cheerfulness on my blog and a truly happy to see you back 🙂

      • B. M. · May 4, 2014

        Thank you so much.. hope you save some of those for me nowwwwwwwwwww 🙂

  2. The Girl Next Door · May 4, 2014

    Those crackers look absolutely gorgeous! would love to try them out at home some time. 🙂

    Mr. W sounds like so much fun, in spite of his disabilities. This reminds me of the line ‘The only real disabilities that exist are the ones in the mind.’ God bless you for doing the work that you do!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 4, 2014

      Thanks a lot TGND! Pls do try these – they are super simple and super duper yummy 🙂

  3. greenboochi · May 4, 2014

    I made my heart so warm and light to read aboutyour time with Mr. W!! I am so glad you had a chance to go out with him 🙂 Sometimes, we forget that it doesnt take much to be happy – your post made me realize that yet again.

    And those crackers are awesome!! 🙂 My oven has been sleeping for a long long time – I dont even know when I will put it to use 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · May 8, 2014

      🙂 Thanks GB. How can your oven ever sleep GB!? I am sure you are hatching a big plan 🙂

      • greenboochi · May 8, 2014

        Hahaha.. yeah the big plan is to get to my healthy weight 😀

      • kismitoffeebar · May 20, 2014

        🙂 Knowing you, am sure you will do it!

  4. pixie · May 5, 2014

    ooh! Those cookies look yumm! Should try making them!

  5. Arch · May 6, 2014

    Awesome awesome post Kismi! What a lovely soul you are. 🙂 I was so happy to read about the time you spent with Mr. W. I am pretty sure, he would savor those memories a lot too. 🙂

    Those cheese crackers look so tempting!! I wish I could reach across and devour them too.. 🙂

  6. aarthy1823 · May 12, 2014

    We are all guilty of making mountains out of molehills. Being happy and thankful for all that we have is something every one of us needs to inculcate consciously. Lovely post!

  7. sanityvows · May 17, 2014

    Hey! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! Waiting for your new posts! 🙂
    Check this out….
    http://sanityvows.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/the-liebster-award-d/

  8. hAAthi · May 22, 2014

    You had me at haathi-shaped cookie cutter! I want!!!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 7, 2014

      Thanks so much Haathi :)) I knew you’d not miss that 🙂 I’d love to ship some to you 🙂 Thanks for the lovely and super easy recipe!

  9. Destination Infinity · May 26, 2014

    I wonder why we don’t have volunteering as a culture in India. I know there are opportunities and people do it but it’s rare to find friends/colleagues volunteer. I am glad that you are volunteering. Recently, I volunteered for one hour (that too without intending to), but I learned a lot! I should do more in future.

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · May 27, 2014

      I think there is volunteering in India.. I feel sometimes that the more developed a nation, there is a need to have these initiatives to encourage compassion. I was volunteering in India as well for an anti plastic campaign – we used to do street plays, stage protests and write brochures on alternative sources. Blood donation, teaching, helping at societies for persons with spastic cerebral palsy etc are some I can think of..
      I hope you get more chances to volunteer. Would love to read your experiences 🙂

Leave a Reply

