Impending projects….

I have always wanted to learn knitting. I remember knitting a telephone cover when in 4th grade. One of my paternal aunts knits so beautifully and she always gave us sweaters and little pretty things for our birthdays. While I did learn it back then, I had quite lost the procedural memory for knitting. Until last year. I bought a knit-a-stole kit with the aim of setting things right, right away. While I did get down to task immediately, I left it midway only to pick it up today.

Knitting is like meditation. While there is a lot of creativity involved, I am at a stage where the canonical nature of it soothes me . To endlessly loop and see the pattern emerge before your eyes ever so slowly ( what did you expect from an amateur) is something to look forward to after long days of problem solving.

knit proj

There are some amazing knitters out there creating beautiful stuff. What I am knitting is nowhere close to all of that and yet, simply ‘coz it makes me happy, I wanted it to be a part of my little world here.

17 comments

  1. peggyandpierre · May 2, 2014

    What you’re knitting is absolutely beautiful! What I love about knitting is that you can create something with your own hands. That’s what makes it beautiful! Plus, as you said, it just makes me happy.

    And my mom once knit me a blanket in those same colors so I totally love what you’ve done so far!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2014

      Hello! A warm welcome here πŸ™‚ you are too kind. I just visited your blog and loved your posts – so inspiring and knowledgeable πŸ™‚ really happy to know they evoke fond memories for you.

  2. Jas · May 2, 2014

    I don’t know how to knit but I have seen my mom do that. She also finds it peaceful.

  3. onehonestwriter · May 2, 2014

    I love the colors of your work in progress stole!!! My dadi and all maternal aunts are experts of this art, but I could never pick it up… as a kid I did not have patience to learn it. And now when i feel like learning, I have no one to teach me 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2014

      Thanks OHW πŸ™‚ The web is full of online tutorials – I hope you pick it up since you want to! If you need some reference, let me know. I can share some sites as well πŸ™‚

  4. dreamzandclouds · May 3, 2014

    Lovely colours πŸ™‚ even I wanted to learn knitting too, but never got aaround it. :-/

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2014

      Thanks πŸ™‚ Hope you get to do this someday! The internet has lots of resources incase you don’t know someone who knits and can teach you.

      • dreamzandclouds · May 4, 2014

        my mom & my sister knows it but i never learned 😦 and now i stay away from home & hardly have the time

  5. B. M. · May 3, 2014

    now I dont know knitting πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ .. he he he
    but my mom is a master , I remember in college I use to wear such lovely sweaters hand made that mom would knit for me .. so much so that my friends would ask mom to make it for them tooo

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2014

      These mothers are so amazing! They always know everything πŸ™‚ Maybe you should try it sometime – you will have your mother’s genes and genius for it πŸ™‚

  6. greenboochi · May 3, 2014

    Lovely blue Kismi!! I really really want to knit myself, hopefully it will happen someday. Show us the completed one soon okie?

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2014

      GB, lots of resources online. I hope you get some inspiration soonest πŸ™‚ Thankee dear!

  7. The Girl Next Door · May 4, 2014

    Love the colours of the stole you are knitting! It looks so beautiful!

    I don’t know how to knit, but would like to try. Somehow, I have the impression that it is a very, very tough thing to do. Is it?

    • kismitoffeebar · May 4, 2014

      Thanks TGND πŸ™‚ Nope, it isn’t a hard thing at all. If you just push beyond the first 2 duds and goof ups, you will find it super easy. There are lots of tutorials online and it is very easy to learn. Maybe you can buy some basic supplies ( knitting sticks and a ball of yarn and try making a patch for phone cover maybe?) for starters. All the best and let me know if you need any help (Am no expert but I can try!) πŸ™‚

  8. aame · May 31, 2014

    Hey lovely colors !!! knitting indeed gives a big creative satisfaction too once the thing is complete and u see ur loved ones wearing/using it…i knitted a multicolored muffler/stole for hubby and surprisingly it became very popular πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I wd wait to see when it is done…go at it girl !! weave ur colors of love πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · June 1, 2014

      Thanks Varsha! I so know what you mean. I think the love shows in the work – be it anything, a dish, a cleaned table, a handmade anything an I think that was why your muffler became so popular πŸ™‚ I am a bit slow and no consistent with knitting but I do it when am totally in the mood πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

