Jalebiiiiiiii and samosaaaaah!

Confession time: I titled this post initially as “another comeback” and later changed it to something yummier (yeah yeah, so that you’d pop by to read, happy?). I miss being here as often as I used to be and as often as I want to be. I read your posts on  my reader but life sweeps me off my feet before I can do anything else. Yes, I have been busy and caught in the several labyrinths of life. While it has all been exciting, there is always this nagging feeling of not being able to say everything here and write as often as I want to. When I do get some time of nothingness, I am so excited that I am clueless what all I can catch up on. Summarizing it all, I am sorry. I may do it again but not without being bothered and unhappy about it.

Moving on to more important life-changing things: The details can really wait. But what cannot wait is this awesomeness I found in Little India, just beside Mustafa infront of Tandoori restaurant. Tandoori makes these from 6:30 PM until 10 PM or so (when I checked last).

jalebi 1

jalebi 2

Don’t search for a photo of the finished product – I’d be a fool to click pictures of heavenly jalebis instead of eating them right away.  If you are in Singapore and are reading this between 6:30 PM – 9:30 P.M., go right now! The man makes amazing jalebis that are crispy, sweet and sour just the perfect way and piping hot and soaked in just the right amount of syrup – Please excuse me while I wipe my own drool. No matter how best a friend you are, this is one thing I wouldn’t share.

If that’s a lot of sweetness for you, then I have the right snack for you. On a lovely evening, I made these beauties –

samosa 1

If  making samosas ever seemed daunting to you, say bye to that feeling this instant because they are that easy to make. The internet is full of recipes but with some brainstorming with ma over phone, we kind of came up with our own version.

Weekend cooking has been giving me a high I can’t describe. On weekdays, I spent a good time thinking of what is in the refrigerator and what is the easiest possible combination that can be called a meal. Hunger,  laziness, impending reading etc factor in during this decision-making process. But on weekends, I look forward to making everything from tea and lemonade to something exotic like nicely browned samosas. I have been thinking of a food blog for a while now. I think this year will see me put that plan in action. I know zilch about food photography and the maximum decoration I can do is  place some corriander in the centre and on top of the dish. But  I’d love to have a working kitchen kinda food blog of sorts. Hmm, you get the drift? What do you think?

25 comments

  1. B. M. · April 28, 2014

    yessssssssssssss I want I want I WANTTTTTTTTTTTttttttttt

    U r not going to beleive this, I came to india and all my friends and relatives here were like dont eat fried , or from street.. I landed around afternoon and what did we do .. the moment we came out of the airport stopped at a road side and ATE Samose 🙂 he he he he

    • kismitoffeebar · April 29, 2014

      Ha ha ha ha ! That is exactly what I wouldh ave done too! :)What would we do without street food ! 🙂

  2. Pixie · April 28, 2014

    oh man! I miss miss eating jalebis and samosas from the road side vendor! Sigh!
    they look delicious Kismi!

    • kismitoffeebar · April 29, 2014

      he he Pixie, try making samosas then – they are really simple and therapeutic to make 🙂

  3. Destination Infinity · April 28, 2014

    I have discovered a rare combination that works (for me) – Musambi juice & samosa! Hmmm… 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · April 29, 2014

      Hmm, very interesting DI! I like both of them by their own, yet to try a combo! 🙂

  4. Ramya · April 28, 2014

    First, glad to see you via your writing 🙂 and happened to read this just as the visuals of jilebis that I didn’t relish in y’day so meal is going on in my mind(: I favored aam-ras instead of jilebis y’day, but got a virtual treat now 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · April 29, 2014

      Ramya! 🙂 Thanks.

      You know, now that you say it, sometimes I skip a dish and it haunts me for days and years. There is one particular incident, a party when i did not have malai sandwich and it bothers me to this day. This was 12 years ago. Yeah, that’s right!

  5. Yash the PolymathGeek · April 29, 2014

    Jalebees and Samosas. 🙂 And I am buying a stairway to heaven! And I am looking forward to the food blog that you plan to start. Go for it!

  6. onehonestwriter · April 29, 2014

    I share the same feelings for Jalebi and like them exactly the way you like them ….thin, crisp, not overly sweet. But Delhi doesn’t serve the way I like them and I havent still tried making them at home, thought mom claims its super easy too.. And samosas…..I only like ghar ke samose, mom made or self cooked :). And if I can come over my aversion for frying (not just because of calories, I don’t like frying stuff in general), I find them easy to make too. One of the perfect snacks to serve hot when guests come over :). So how have you been, food blog or this blog just be more regular, we miss you 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · April 29, 2014

      Same pinch! 🙂 Wow, I must ask you about how you make samosas then!
      Ya OHW, guilty as charged. Will work on rectifying it 🙂

  7. The Girl Next Door · April 29, 2014

    Those straight-off-the-stove jalebis look awesome! I want!

    I want those samosas too. I have always been too daunted to try making them at home. You make it all sound so easy. 🙂

    Regular kitchen working blog – yes, I want, too. Who says you have to be a cooking expert to run a food blog?!

    • kismitoffeebar · April 29, 2014

      Just come off na TGND – we will stuff our faces with jalebis and samosas!
      Hmm.. ya well, I am never good with measurements and usually go by trial and error, so I will need to work on that if I start sharing my recipes. Well, I will be starting a blog then after all! 🙂

  8. greenboochi · April 29, 2014

    I think thats one lovely idea!!!! And that also reminds me our little talk over mail – which I have almost forgot (Sorry abt that, will catch up soon).

    You have tempted me enough to make samosas asap and its been a really long time I have made jalebis too! *drooling at the thought of jalebis* 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · April 29, 2014

      GB! Yes yes, let us talk about it soon, yah? and pls ya, don’t be sorry and all. We both know we want to 🙂

      Ha ha.. go make it. and then make us drool by posting about it 🙂

  9. Arch · April 30, 2014

    Awesome! Those jalebis and samosas look droolicious. 🙂
    Missed you around here! Do write more often.

    • kismitoffeebar · May 2, 2014

      Arch 🙂 thanks. I have been reading almost all your A to Z posts and enjoying them. Just posted again. Will try to be regular 🙂

      • Arch · May 5, 2014

        Thanks so much Kismi! 🙂 Will look forward to read your posts.

  10. rubberpal · April 30, 2014

    The jalebis attracted to me to your post as you mentioned and now my mouth is watering 😦 Above all, your post has given me a positive sweet energy to come back after though small gap that I have taken from this space 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · May 2, 2014

      Thanks RP 🙂 blogging does make you feel good from within no?

      • rubberpal · May 8, 2014

        Ofcourse….. Blogging is a wonderful way of expressing self with no hesitation and regret 🙂 best fren too

  11. sjscribbles · April 30, 2014

    Here comes just another reason to get back to Singapore – Sigh !

    🙂

  12. dreamzandclouds · May 3, 2014

    M drooling over the jalebis and samosas…,slurrpp! And yes, I think you should go ahead with the food blog soon…..best wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

