A date at Villa Shanti : Giving time a break in Pondicherry 3

If you aren’t already head over heels in love with Pondicherry after having read my experiences here and here, here’s more.  After we reached Anantha Heritage, the manager Mr. Gomez was our planner for transport and he became our go-to guy for the best eateries. One of my friends N had previously suggested that we must have a dinner at Villa Shanti and when Mr. Gomez said the same, we knew we had to go.

It was a wonderful rainy evening as we went chappety-chap along the long streets smelling of fresh flowers and fruits as the market was in full swing for Ganesh Chaturthi. Villa Shanti’s ambience is beautiful – minimalistic, full of clanking of glasses, toasts being raised and plenty of laughter and gaeity abound, it has a charm of its own.  And the food? Delicious.

DSC_0490

DSC_0491

We had a 3 course meal starting off with some yummy soup. I had green peas and mint soup with almond while K had dhania shorba. I highly highly recommend the green peas and mint soup. After watching many people ordering this, I knew this was a popular choice that I had chosen by chance.

We then moved onto the main course. After scanning the menu and pondering over what sounded exotic ( 😉 ), I settled for pan-fried vegetable patties. Again, success. K had pan-fried chicken and wasn’t too impressed.  Let’s not worry too much about his choice but celebrate mine. Look at these beauties! Firstly, my pan-fried vegetable patties,

DSC_0493

And ofcourse, K’s plate.

DSC_0494

But the creme de la creme was of course this!

DSC_0495

DSC_0496

Caramel creme brulee – oh what AWESOMENESS that was – smooth and creamy, it just slipped right off my tongue into my tummy leaving a lovely trail behind and all of this, before I knew it!  Highly delectable and hence highly recommended.

Everytime K and I go on a date like this, we realize how much we enjoy food and the company. Little moments like this give us tremendous happiness and something to look forward to. Such a start to our stay in Pondicherry was therefore bound to happen, no?

More coming up 🙂

20 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · October 8, 2013

    Oh no. Even if I don’t go to Pondy for the tourist attractions, I might be tempted to go just for the food. But it helps that I am trying to eat only healthy food these days. Trying to – read carefully. No temptations for me 😛

    But these days, I am much more controlled when it comes to eating tasty food. At one time, I was so crazy that I traveled 14 KM just to have lunch in Mylapore!

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · October 9, 2013

      “I was so crazy that I traveled 14 KM just to have lunch in Mylapore” – I can really understand that 🙂 he he, give in to temptations DI, sometimes 🙂
      Moderation is good but only in moderation 🙂

  2. paatiamma · October 8, 2013

    You make Pondy look so tempting..Am planning for a beach vacation with the partner with good food and ambiance for lot of conversation..Am oscillating between Pondy and Goa..What do you suggest?

    • kismitoffeebar · October 9, 2013

      Pondy IS very very beautiful Paatiamma 🙂
      I have never been to Goa. I wouldn’t say a lot about Pndy’s beaches – we just went to the Promenade.. but a beach plus French quarter lounging and some shopping for handmade beauties and Auroville – Pondy is wonderful!
      Maybe you can ask someone about Goa at this time fo the year as well and see how!
      When we went Pondy had good weather – drizzles, sun peeping through – just nice to cuddle up 🙂

      • paatiamma · October 10, 2013

        Wow..That sounds great enough… I would check out about Goa as well.. cuddle up?? 😀

  3. Yash the PolymathGeek · October 8, 2013

    How come you get to enjoy your veggie patties but K gets a not too impressive dish? I suspect.. ahem.. Fowl Play 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · October 9, 2013

      Ha ha Yash! Trust you to come up with word play 🙂 trust me, no fowl play and nothing fishy either 😀

  4. Ramya · October 9, 2013

    Now, now..Who’s the sweetest : Kismi or Caramel creme brulee , Very tough competition ,uh? My bfast is done by drooling at the patties and the shorba!!

    • kismitoffeebar · October 9, 2013

      Ha ha ,you are sweet Ramya! LOL. I wish I could be as easily satisfied as you 😛

  5. KP · October 9, 2013

    Will remember Villa Shanti when I go to Pondy next.Thanks

  6. Arch · October 9, 2013

    Awesome!! 🙂 Though I have been to Pondy, your posts are tempting me to take a trip again!

    • kismitoffeebar · October 9, 2013

      In that case, I hope you get to do it again Arch 🙂

  7. Jas · October 9, 2013

    Awesome. The food is just delicious for the eyes 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · October 9, 2013

      Thanks Jas! 🙂 Sigh, I could do with some of that soup now myself 😛

  8. The Girl Next Door · October 11, 2013

    What a delicious post! We missed VIlla Shanti when we were in Pondy – I’ll make sure we definitely go there the next time around. I hope it is soon. 🙂 That creme brulee looks, and sounds, delicious. BTW, what’s with the expression on your face? 😀

    I was talking about Madame Shanthe’s in my comment on your last post, not Villa Shanti. That is a simple place, with a simpler menu, decorated with big conch shells and fishing nets. We liked the ambience and the food there.

    • kismitoffeebar · October 16, 2013

      Thanks TGND! 🙂 The expression was more on the lines of “ooooooo….. heaven!” 😛 I was caught unawares ofcourse. K , as usual 😛
      Oh. Madame Shanthe sounds nice – conch shells and fishing nets – something ot watch out for when I go there next!:)

  9. Lakshmi Loves To Shop · October 29, 2013

    I was just in Pondicherry too. We loved the Villa Shanti restaurant. I wish I had had the creme caramel like you though…it looks divine ~ Lakshmi

    • kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2013

      Hi Lakshmi! Welcome here 🙂

      I love your blog and am so happy to see you here!
      Oh, there is always a next time and a reason to go back, right? 😛

  10. Pingback: Auroville: Giving time a break in Pondicherry 4 | Kismitoffeebar

Leave a Reply

