Flight. And something not-funny.

That feeling when you are actually moving great distances but just can’t feel the motion? Like, during a flight? You wonder if you are moving at all. Turbulence is an occassional reminder but not something you wished for as a reminder in the first place.

My head is amidst so many things. I am loving the innumerable pies that I have snuck my nose and mouth into but I crave for instant gratification. So contradictory! I love the ride but I want to see the finish line. I want to see how it all ends. I want to start more races.

Sorry for abstraction. I will tell you all more. Once I find a wee pause.

Now for what happened yesterday.

A colleague of mine is going to New Delhi for a conference much against her will. That’s okay. But she asked me if a particular hot-shot hotel has safe water and safe food etc. Still okay.

What got me was this:

How about brushing teeth?  And taking a bath? Can I use tap water for that?

The hotel is a 5-star one. Most of us know of it. I understand her apprehension. But only until drinking. Bath? Really?

Funny? NOT.

After more mulling, I realize it was probably harmless. But I get so defensive and so fiercely possessive of India at times that I seem to lose it pretty bad.

20 comments

  1. paatiamma · September 25, 2013

    Any one would be anxious if they go to a place of lower comfort!! its OK..Sometimes we have to accept that India is a third world country!!!So what is that you are racing towards??Curious!

    • kismitoffeebar · September 25, 2013

      I need to deep-breathe! 🙂
      Too many things paatiamma – life and dreams in general. I will write about it in detail coz’ I fear I may never be able to summarize it.

      • paatiamma · September 25, 2013

        It happens 🙂 Just go with the flow and do not lose sight of the bucket list and goals 🙂

      • paatiamma · September 25, 2013

        It happens 🙂 Just go with the flow and do not lose sight of the bucket list and goals 🙂

  2. Jas · September 25, 2013

    You can’t change notions of people -good or bad. And we have to accept that many people have misconceptions about India. And what is happening in your life???

    • kismitoffeebar · September 25, 2013

      Hmm. I guess they form their own opinions.

      I will tell you in detail 🙂

      • Jas · September 25, 2013

        waiting for the mail 🙂

  3. greenboochi · September 25, 2013

    Hmmm.. pretty sad she asked you those questions. But then, she wouldnt know about this place or how safe it would be. May be that made her question you so. I can really understand you getting all defensive about it, I would have done the same too!

    • kismitoffeebar · September 25, 2013

      Ya GB….. in hindsight, I guess that’s probably what happened but still, that minute and even a day later, I was kind of pissed off. Writing about it makes me less judgemental 🙂
      Thank you for understanding 🙂

  4. sjscribbles · September 25, 2013

    How can people be so ignorant ? Kismi !

    Once when in Singapore – I was shocked when a lady asked me if they have proper toilet facilities in India !!!

    I was fuming on the inside and smiling at her ignorance on the outside !

    • kismitoffeebar · September 25, 2013

      Sigh, I know what you mean SJ! Happens to me at times. I guess I need to be a little more tolerant but that doesn’t come easy 😛
      How have you been? 🙂

      • sjscribbles · September 26, 2013

        I’m doing good Kismi ! On the verge of getting into a job…lets see how it goes. M’s hit school and daily routine is catching up !

      • kismitoffeebar · September 26, 2013

        🙂 I need to catch up with you, looks like!

  5. Arch · September 26, 2013

    You should have told her that “Didn’t you know there’s water scarcity there, you’ll have to make do with no bath for a couple of days :P”.
    Seriously! What’s wrong with people! Such things piss me off bad too…

    • kismitoffeebar · September 26, 2013

      ha ha Arch! I was too bewildered to think of witticisms 😛

  6. ashreyamom · September 26, 2013

    i also feel really angry when ppl ask such things.. especially the once’s who went abroad for few years and come back to show such attitude.. :(..

    • kismitoffeebar · September 26, 2013

      More a matter of perceptions in this case as well AM!

  7. Visha · September 26, 2013

    Whats going on in your mind, hellapa 🙂

  8. The Girl Next Door · September 27, 2013

    Looking forward to hear about all that’s going on in your life and keeping you super-busy. Mail?

    I also get irritated when people say such things about India. But then, we have to remember that many people (from outside India) do have a bad impression about the country. Maybe we would have the same kind of apprehensions if we were to go to an unknown foreign country?

  9. Destination Infinity · September 30, 2013

    We are also somewhat guilty of such impressions. It is ignorance, not insult. When we were in school, one guy was constantly making fun of another guy who had just returned from some African country (after studying there for sometime). After a few days, this guy brings a photo (taken there) and we were all shocked to see what a neat and prosperous place it was.

    Destination Infinity

Leave a Reply

