My favourite lines – 7

K and I sometimes read out poetry aloud at night and try to do some dramatic recitals in the process. Our favourite is this absolutely wonderful-never-fails-to-inspire piece by William Ernest Henley titled Invictus. It is a joy to watch K recite this in all perfection. Works like magic on Sunday nights especially.

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

So inspiring, isn’t it? Do you have a favourite inspiring piece of poetry? If so, what is it? Please share! πŸ™‚

20 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · August 1, 2013

    There is one piece of poetry that I found very inspiring. It’s titled ‘If’ and the author is Rudyard Kipling. Have a look at it here – http://www.destinationinfinity.org/2009/05/03/an-inspiring-song-and-an-inspiring-poem/

    There is one poet I absolutely hate. His name is John Milton and he is the author of Paradise lost, regained, buried, etc. For the amount of torture I had to suffer in high-school because of his so called ‘poetry’, he should feel very lucky that he was not born in our times…

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · August 1, 2013

      Hi DI !

      I love that poem you have shared. I have read that one and it is beautiful! Thanks for sharing again.

      Oh, erm. I like John Milton. Maybe I had great teachers and a poetry-lover as my father who played a big role there. πŸ™‚

      • Destination Infinity · August 1, 2013

        By any chance, are you aware of a poem called ‘The Night Journey’? It was one of our text-book lessons about a man going on a night journey in a Train across the Thames river (if I remember correctly). It’s a wonderful poem that moved me – when I read it later-on during the annual holidays. I have been trying to get a glimpse of it again – but no luck.

        If you like poetry, you should read the book called, ‘Wild Wind: My Stormy Youth, An Autobiography’ by Taslima Nasreen. It’s a wonderful book and it contains many translated poems from Bengali (to English). That is what I call POWERFUL POETRY. Must Read.

        Destination Infinity

      • kismitoffeebar · August 1, 2013

        Is it this one?
        Now as the train bears west,
        Its rhythm rocks the earth,
        And from my Pullman berth
        I stare into the night
        While others take their rest.
        Bridges of iron lace,
        A suddenness of trees,
        A lap of mountain mist
        All cross my line of sight,
        Then a bleak wasted place,
        And a lake below my knees.
        Full on my neck I feel
        The straining at a curve;
        My muscles move with steel,
        I wake in every nerve.
        I watch a beacon swing
        From dark to blazing bright;
        We thunder through ravines
        And gullies washed with light.
        Beyond the mountain pass
        Mist deepens on the pane;
        We rush into a rain
        That rattles double glass.
        Wheels shake the roadbed stone,
        The pistons jerk and shove,
        I stay up half the night
        To see the land I love.

        I will definitely get hold of the book you mentioned. Thanks a lot DI πŸ™‚

      • Destination Infinity · August 3, 2013

        I think so… Thanks πŸ™‚

        Destination Infinity

  2. greenboochi · August 1, 2013

    Wow those are such inspiring lines!! Thanks for sharing Kismi πŸ™‚

    K and you are so very cute! I would love to see those recitals πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · August 1, 2013

      Thanks GB ! he he, sure, anytime! Laughs are guaranteed πŸ˜›

  3. onehonestwriter · August 1, 2013

    This was actually one of the very rare poems I understood and inspiring at that:). I don’t have a collection of favorite poems, or follow any poets or read any poetry, its not something I like or dislike but something beyond my understanding. I never understand poetry.

  4. Tharani · August 1, 2013

    I read few posts from your blog and you seems to be very lovely person Kismi. Glad you commented otherwise I would have missed such a wonderful blog.

    • kismitoffeebar · August 1, 2013

      Hi Tharani! Welcome welcome πŸ™‚ Vaango vaango vukkarango. So happy to see you here! Oh, you are too kind. I hope to see you around whenever you can ! πŸ™‚ I love reading you, so it’s my pleasure!

  5. Filter Kaapi · August 1, 2013

    Whoa you guys do recitals!

    • kismitoffeebar · August 1, 2013

      LOL. Yeah, we both love poetry especially the inspiring ones. I love the ones on nature too but K is fond of these more.

  6. pixie · August 1, 2013

    wow! That’s lovely!!
    I’m terrible when it comes to poetry and so, though I enjoy reading poems – I dont seem to have a favorite!

    • kismitoffeebar · August 1, 2013

      Thanks πŸ™‚ Oh, I don’t know many but I do have favourites πŸ™‚

  7. The Girl Next Door · August 2, 2013

    Very inspiring lines, those!

  8. Yash the PolymathGeek · August 2, 2013

    The first poem that I willingly memorized. Most days my desktop features this poem. Other than this “If” by Kipling, Rashmirathi (huge Hindi poem) by Dinakar, Rains of Castamere (more of a song than a poem) by GRR Martin. The history behind how “Invictus” was composed is even more inspiring.

    • kismitoffeebar · August 5, 2013

      πŸ™‚ I love “If” by Rudyard Kipling as well! I have to see the others NOW ! I am not aware of the history either. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  9. Amit · August 5, 2013

    I am not much into poetry but I loved this piece.

Leave a Reply

