Bali-cation 1 – Getting to Seminyak

You know how you see some postcards and wish you were a part of it? That was what Bali was all about. Only that, we never had time to fit in ourselves in all the post-cards. Good, if you ask me. Who doesn’t like an excuse to re-visit a lovely place again?

When we were scouting around for some good places that my in-laws would enjoy as a couple and relive their younger days, we thought of Bintan and Bali in Indonesia, Malacca and Kotakinabalu in Malaysia, Nuwara Eliya in Sri Lanka or Krabi in Thailand. After a lot of discussion and looking at what would have everything – architecture and temples for the in-laws, water for the mum-in-law, foodie quotient for the pop-in-law and a good pool for K and I, we chose Bali. Ofcourse, it helped that we have always wanted to go there and click those postcards ourselves.

We booked a hotel + flight thingy online. It was my first experience flying on Qatar Airways and I loved it. The hostess offered us chocolates and warm towels! Go ahead and judge me but I have always wanted to go on a plane because every movie seemed to show air hostesses handing out chocolates. But after all these air travels, I hadn’t ever come across an airline that gave chocolates to its passengers. Ofcourse I travel in economy class but hey, who doesn’t need chocolates?

Anyways, I pretended to be good and took just 2 toffees on my way to Bali. But on our return, I couldn’t hold onto the act and grabbed a handful. Yeah, I am the one you would look at and feel gah. And I will do it again next time.

Alright, coming back to the point. So we flew to the Depansar airport.  We had booked a 2 bedroom private pool villa at Widyas villas  in the cozy interiors of Seminyak. Nothing grand, nothing too city-like. Just that it was located in the lap of the rice terraces in Bali, amidst the countryside.

While K and I slept blissfully, my mum-in-law came running upstairs in the morning squealing in delight that the view is beautiful and we must be up and about clicking photos. It is hard to get out  of your bed especially when it is something like this.

DSC_0338

We weren’t at a great vantage point for clicking good snaps but as soon as I stepped out I was met with pleasantly warm and yet cool green air. I love green when I am out and green was what it all was. Imagine being in the lap of greenery, amidst the native people who go on about their business as usual, never forgetting to wish you a good morning, always asking if you have eaten and your agenda for the day.

DSC_0263

We had a chef who cooked whatever we felt like eating right in front of us as we sat and talked incessantly about India, Singapore, weather, local customs, our trips and so on. It is an amazing feeling to see what goes into your food even when you are eating out. I had few options but he was kind enough to make a lot of modifications and make them taste good!

After a hearty breakfast, we all got into the pool and you know what happened next. K was lifting his mum and me up and splashing us into the water while we held onto dear life. The pop-in-law showed off the swimming lessons he learnt in primary school while we made fun of how his strokes are. I can’t swim but hey! my strokes are super cute. So I can make fun alright! 😛 This was a great bonding moment, one which we will carry with us for a long time.

Before leaving for Bali, I had spoken to Mr. Ketut of Bali Sunrise tours who had guided one of our family friends on their Bali trip. He was very willing to take us around and as promised, he was there at the villa right on time after lunch.

The ideal thing to do would to rent bicycles or bikes and explore Bali. We had elders with us and hence opted for a personal guide and car. You can always do the biking/cycling if you are feeling adventurous. K and I plan to.

DSC_0265

I wouldn’t be lying if I said that Bali is full of temples. Every nook and cranny has a small praying place with offerings. People are very pious and you can often see them in their traditional attire, Payas Madya. The colour of the outfit depends on the ceremony. We noticed and were told that temple visits usually require white attires while cremation ceremonies are in black. Weddings and other ceremonies are the most colourful because people dress in different hues and it is a wonderful sight to watch a procession. We were lucky to catch glimpses of them.

DSC_0266

The streets are pretty with local handicrafts on display. Everything is so colourful in Bali!

DSC_0267

On our way we passed through a small artists’ street that had several little shops with paintings on sale. The little details on the paintings was something to watch for – right from the brand of the vehicle to the print on the bikini to the details on the crown of Lord Ganesh to the life and vocation of people in Bali, everything was amazingly portrayed.

DSC_0268

DSC_0269

We were on our way to Tanah Lot, the temple amidst the sea. After a 2 hour journey, we finally reached there only to be speechless again.

23 comments

  1. greenboochi · July 17, 2013

    Awesome travelogue. I have heard very nice reviews about Bali from my Malay friends. I wish to be there some time 🙂

    Loved the way you took me through Seminyak 🙂 Waiting to read the next part 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 17, 2013

      Thanks so much GB ! 🙂 Yeah, you must visit Bali GB. Just make sure you plan for atleast a week coz’ there is a lot! Your trip here is pending bigtime 🙂

      Next part coming up Ma’m 🙂

  2. Destination Infinity · July 17, 2013

    I’ve heard of the name ‘Bali’, but I had no clue that it was in Indonesia. The large painting (inside the frame) on the last picture looks quite nice. I got chocolates on my very first airplane trip 😛 Let’s see how this Temple amidst the sea looks…

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · July 17, 2013

      Yeah it is in Indonesia 🙂 You lucky guy! This was the first time I got chocolates!

  3. Pingback: Bali Accommodation Seminyak – What To Do When Holidaying In Seminyak | Travel , Booking & Leisure Guide
  4. Smita · July 17, 2013

    Loved your narration and the pictures here are amazing!! Waiting for part 2

  5. Visha · July 17, 2013

    aha, my free ka Bali darshan starts 😛
    Looks a bit laid-back country side..just the way I like 🙂
    and wow, beautiful 4-poster 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · July 17, 2013

      LOL ! Yes, it is laid back in general and we chose the countryside…. 🙂

      Amazing craftsmanship 🙂

  6. Monkey Mind · July 18, 2013

    I feel like I just took my short trip through Bali now :).

    The first thing that got my attention was the bed- it looks too inviting. How did you manage to get off it? 🙂

    And, those paintings. What splash of colours! Love them! Did you buy any? 🙂

    I think I ll add Bali also to my bucket list and sit smug 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · July 19, 2013

      Thanks MM! 🙂

      We didn’t buy paintings this time round but we got a lot of other handicrafts and all 🙂 The bed was tooooo inviting but then the outer world won over 😛

      LOL – Bali is an easy vacation. I hope it happens for you! 🙂

  7. Dew · July 18, 2013

    Gorgeous :)) How hv you been?

    • kismitoffeebar · July 19, 2013

      Thanks Dew! I just saw your pictures – beautiful!

      I am good, thanks. Had my nose in too many things all at once for a while!

  8. The Girl Next Door · July 19, 2013

    What a wonderful post, Kismi! 🙂

    Bali has always been on my travel list. I have a feeling I would love it there – thanks to the temples, the water, the seafood, the local dances and all that gorgeous colour!

    Your post reminded me of our travel to Thailand. Most of your descriptions about Bali sound similar to what we saw in Thailand. Everything in Thailand is colourful, too – even the clips that people wear in their teeth!! The temples, the handicrafts, everything sounds similar. We flew Thai Airlines, and I loved the air hostesses handing out hot, wet towels and cookies! 🙂

  9. The Girl Next Door · July 19, 2013

    Oh, and I simply love that bed! Looks like something out of a dream! 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 22, 2013

      I am trying ot type you a reply for few times now. Hope this gets posted!

      I hope you do get to Bali soon someday 🙂 I am so looking forward to going to Thailand. 🙂
      Cookies and towel? – Wow!

      The bed was super addictive 😛

  10. Little Fingers · July 19, 2013

    I have heard about good reviews Bali and now reading your travelogue wants to go there right now, that bed is like my dream bed, I have a secret wish to have one such bed in a beach location (white sand) and be with my love, don’t want to elaborate further as it might sound erotic ha ha 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 22, 2013

      heheheheehhehehehee! It sounds romantic, not so much erotic to me 😛
      Must go then LiFi! Don’t delay. Next vacation, try to coem to this side of the world. Or on your way to India also maybe! And if you come near Singapore, pls be sure to let me know! 🙂

  11. Swaram · July 19, 2013

    Woo lovely Bali 🙂 waiting for more!

  12. Amit · July 20, 2013

    Lovely pictures. Bali has been on my wishlist for quite a while. Next year maybe. 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 22, 2013

      Oh that’ll be awesome if you can strike it off next year then! 🙂 It is a very nice place 🙂 Thank you!

  13. Sliding Gates · July 20, 2013

    Amazing post thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

