Weekend Foodie Chronicles – 4

A few days back, when I was whatsapp-ing with her, she said she missed my Foodie Chronicles. I myself missed writing this and I told her that I will soon post one. Thank you for reminding me, GB! 🙂

I have been churning out some new dishes in my kitchen. I say new because, I haven’t made them before though the same cannot be said of eating. I feel more inspired to cook something new these days. Much as I have always enjoyed cooking and experimenting, I have to admit that the repertoire of the ingredients is wider and encompasses a representative from different parts of the world. Yes, from something as simple as pasta to something as exotic as saffron, I am stocking up a lot in my kitchen. My kitchen. I have begun to feel proud and carry that pride everytime I am grocery shopping. I choose my items carefully, reading their date of manufacture, their expiry, googling on my tab to see what I can make out of them, sometimes adding them to my shopping cart on a whim, sometimes getting carried away by bloggers who have made scrumptious dishes out of them and mostly because they look tempting.

That’s how ragi mudde happened. One of the staple diet of people of Karnataka (and apparently Andhra Pradesh as well), we used to get to eat this once a while on Sundays for lunch. Sundays were chosen because we could eat our meals hot and I guess somehow there are certain things you must eat on a Sunday. I line up some recipes for a Sunday(or saturday) because somehow I feel Sunday deserves it the most. Well, sadly, this did not happen on a Sunday. I made this on a wednesday ( on labour day). I so wanted K to taste this and couldn’t wait until it was Sunday. Ragi mudde with drumstick and sambhar onion (that’s what we call shallots) was made. And what a meal that was! I must have scooped half a ball off the pan when making it.

ragi mudde

Valentine’s Day was spent at home this year. We went out for dinner on Feb 13th because that is our proposal anniversay. So, V-day at home couldn’t have been mushier what with chocolates, home-made pasta, mango madness and a surprise cake at night!

V day_01

Somewhere amidst all this, I made raw banana puLi and cabbage dal (This one was purely out of laziness 😛 )

banana huLicabbage dal

And as I write this, I have just had a lunch of rice, jeera moong dal and spicy baby potato that I picked fresh from the little Indian store near home. And boy, what a fantastic lunch that was!

babypotatooota

There has been a lot more cooking happening. Sometimes I get so obsessed that I spend hours in the supermart and end up reaching home late and order a take-away! But that time I spend choosing my ingredients at my own pace – I cannot tell you how happy and alive it makes me feel!

While I go figure out tonight’s dinner, tell me what’s happening in your kitchen 🙂

28 comments

  1. ashreyamom · May 6, 2013

    nice.. but u didnt put the recipe to make it.. :).

    • kismitoffeebar · May 6, 2013

      he he this one is only chronicling the final product 😛

  2. greenboochi · May 6, 2013

    I would have clicked like on this post a hundred times, thanks so much for this post Kismi!! So sweet of you to remember my nagging on whatsapp and put up a post 😀

    I so want the recipe for Raagi mudde.. heard a lot abt it but never had tasted or made it. I would make it right away 🙂

    Happy proposal anniversary to you, though belated! 🙂 We do share some important dates, isnt it? 😛

    The cake, the pasta and mango juice looks super good! So is the dal, spiced baby potatoes, cabbage dal (I too make it on lazy days) 🙂 BTW what is Banana Puli? Never heard it too.. a recipe would be great 🙂

    You know Kismi.. I was wondering if I am the weird one to go out on grocery shopping for hours.. choosing each ingredient carefully and what not, there by reaching home late to get a take away meal. I have felt so guilty on some days.. but now, your post makes me feel so better 😀 😀

    keep these posts coming, I need this kind of an inspiration sometimes 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · May 6, 2013

      Thank you so much for such a lovely and wonderful feedback Gb! 🙂 🙂

      Ragi mudde is pretty easy – so please go ahead and make it – It is super healthy and tasty! You may need some time to digest the ragi though, so make it in small quantity if this is your first time 🙂

      Oh, I sop for groceries for hours, so same pinch there! Yeah, we do seem to share a few dates:) I will post this more often!

  3. Visha · May 6, 2013

    You are cooking up a storm!! I wont call any of them a routine stuff baring the daal 😛 😛
    you need to put up recipes or at least link them Toffee, otherwise what will we do just seeing the pics 😀 😀 you do not want hiccups while you have your food do you :mrgreen: 😈
    hmm, run of the mill stuff in my kitchen, the only thing different and worth a mention which I made was mini-samosas 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · May 6, 2013

      he he, thanks Visha! 🙂

      The reason Idon’t add links is because honestly, I end up calling ma for recipe or ust make something as an experiment. Not being cocky, but am yet to become a little diligent on that front. Also, I have plans of starting a food blog with ma 🙂 Hopefully, I will do that by this year! Given the lighting in my kitchen or the lack of it (natural light), I am a little concerned and hence the delay!

      Woooooooooow! Mini-samosas! Teach me please 🙂

  4. Smita · May 6, 2013

    You have been cooking up a storm haan??

    That cake was home made??

    And yes there is nothing like daal aloo subji and rice!! Bestest!!!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 6, 2013

      Thanks so much Smita! Not a storm really 😛

      No no, cake was got from one of the local bakeries (Yummmmmmmmmmmm). Just the pasta and the juice are home-made!
      Dal, aloo and rice – anyday! 🙂

  5. Destination Infinity · May 6, 2013

    What ever happens in my kitchen doesn’t involve me!! That cake looks good, you could have put up another photo focusing on it? The banana puli is intriguing. Is it like puli-kozhambu (hot-sambar) with banana? That’s one exotic combination there 🙂 One thing I remember with ragi which my mother does is ragi-pindi-dosa with onions. Because we don’t eat anything else made of ragi 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · May 6, 2013

      he he. Cake looks good?The local baker does a great job 😛 I didn’t bake it. I just made the pasta and the juice 😛

      YeahpuLi kozhambu – raw banana in puLi (tamarindwater seasoned and boiled like as we make sambhar) – Absolutely heavenly with hot rice (and ghee!)

      Ragi -pindi-dosa – am trying that next. My mummakes it too. Iust started using ragi in my kitchen 🙂 May I recommend ragi malt and porimaav? If you don’t like it, I will be super amazed! 🙂

  6. anisnest · May 6, 2013

    Wow you are on cooking spree haan? the dishes look fantastic esp. the baby potatoes.. I love them..
    After a long time (as amma had taken over kitchen) recently I made palak aloo and tindora gravy in my style to impress amma.. I guess she is impressed as she asked me for the recipe 😉
    happy cooking..

    • kismitoffeebar · May 7, 2013

      Thanks Ani ! 🙂 Yeah, I love baby potatoes 🙂

      Palak aloo and tindora – sounds very exotic! I love tindora (we call it tinda 😛 ) If mom asks for recipe, then you need a big big pat on your back!

  7. pixie · May 6, 2013

    yumm!!
    I am gonna make the same thing today – raagi muddhe and drumsticks sambhar!
    share your recipe for spicy aloo na?! pls? 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · May 7, 2013

      Ooooooooo ! Let me know how it turned out Pixie! 🙂

  8. girlinjammies · May 7, 2013

    Yummm. Everything looks so tasty 🙂

  9. Yash the PolymathGeek · May 8, 2013

    That does it! It is Tomato Gojju this weekend! Now if only I can make round chapattis like Pallavi, I will post it on my blog :). The Potato dish looks amazing 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · May 8, 2013

      Oh lovely! Don’t worry about the shape. Make sure you have all the ghee there 😛

  10. Deeps · May 8, 2013

    YUM! They look delicious, Kismi! I’m particularly eyeing that Ragi mudde you’ve made! Can you share the recipe?

    My dad-in-law, who is from Karnataka, is here on a visit and I’d like to make it for him. So please mail me or share the recipe right here on your blog, if you can 🙂

    Thanks!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 8, 2013

      Thanks Deeps! 🙂 Sure. will shoot an email 🙂

  11. The Girl Next Door · May 10, 2013

    Wow, you sure have been cooking up a storm in your kitchen. 🙂 I can relate with the pride over ‘your’ kitchen and spending hours in grocery shopping. I do exactly the same thing. It makes me feel alive and happy. 🙂

    I am not a big fan of ragi mudde, but the OH simply loves it. My co-sister makes them for him.

    Love the sound of cabbage dal and raw banana puli. Could you please share the recipes for these two dishes?

    • kismitoffeebar · May 15, 2013

      Thanks so much TGND! 🙂 Yay, OH loves ragi mudde? Lovely!

      I will TGND. I will sghare the recipes. Trying to start a food blog with amma. I will send it to you pakka this time 🙂

  12. Filter Kaapi · May 13, 2013

    Have seen Ragi Mudde so many times in B’lore but never tried it. Next time when I spot it, I am going to taste it.. Your pic looks that tempting 🙂 All these are supposed to be regular stuff? wow! A food blog soon? super! I am adding that cabbage dal to my to-do list.

    I have just started deep frying, so you can very well understand the level of ‘exotic’ food in my kitchen 😉

    • kismitoffeebar · May 15, 2013

      Please try it ! Please, pretty please! 🙂 Just make suret he sambhar is good, that’s all 😛 as if, sambhar can ever be bad 😛

      Oh, I don’t deep fry much at all. All the oil comes from outside as it is 🙂

  13. Little Fingers · May 14, 2013

    What is with all you girls cooking like this and making people like me super jealous. They look delicious..

    • kismitoffeebar · May 15, 2013

      he he. Your food experiences on the blog also make me drool…. the fun you have with friends and your hubby taking the extra love to get you something you enjoy. weekend is made use of in the kitchen 😛 Thanks Lifi! 🙂

  14. Roshni · May 22, 2013

    yum! You should post some recipes too!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 23, 2013

      🙂 Yes Rosh. I intend to start a food blog sometime in the near future.

Leave a Reply

