My turn!

There is atleast one person in this blogworld whom I will think of as a tag-mom. Ofcourse. I am talking of Visha. (Now Visha, don’t corner me for the mom okay? ) She tagged me first and made me get goosebumps all over because I was a newbie at this blog then.  I think she really likes me because she tagged me again. Now, who wouldn’t want pick up a tag that is fun and offers a high dose of introspection ?

Ok, kidding. I may not introspect but I will definitely not miss the fun in doing this tag. Here goes (bear in mind, you must read this as if it were a rapid-fire round at BQC):

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

Won a war for remote without any scratches on myself or the other. This goes down as the most memorable event undoubtedly. K will vouch for it.

2. Did you keep your new years resolutions, and will you make more for next?

New Year is one of the inspirations that make me go the resolution-way. There are many many others. So, a typical year will see me making resolutions all year round. I follow some and unfollow some. I sing the hymn “I’m only human” and pardon myself.

3. What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? 

I just have a lot of images,events, people, words, music, experiences and feelings etched. They create me, re-create me and make me very thankful for all the goodness and inspiration- almost like biting into a pastry. And then there are gory images and unpardonable offences that sadly remain etched as well – I remember them because I can never forget that strong urge to throw up coupled with a deep feeling of disgust and wretched helplessness.

4. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

There was this time late last year when my dentist had a ball with my wisdom tooth. She tested all her fancy equipments and left the ball inside the gum. So yeah, I managed to convince little kids around that I did not have a sweet in my mouth that I greedily ate without sharing. So yeah, that one.

 I am happy with little steps and the teeny surprises I spring on myself and others. I can be obnoxiously ambitious during other times.

5. What was your biggest failure?

I learn lessons all year long. I wouldn’t like to call them failures. Cheesy? Not really. It keeps me happier.

6. Did you suffer illness?

Yes. I did not suffer a lot though with a beautiful family, a pile of amazing books and re-runs of Big Bang Theory around.

7. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed? 

The spineless creatures and the  mindless supporters.

8. Where did most of your money go?

Trust me, that’s one thing I want to ask myself everyday but least bother to. It’s all the plastic’s fault I tell you.

9. What did you get really, really, really excited about? 

Coming to India. Planning something for K. Travelling. Calling home. Buying new books.Trying new food. Writing progress reports and meeting caregivers. Volunteering for an elder-care. Nature walks. Painting my first calvin and Hobbes (still a WIP). Hoarding on stationery. (Looks like that answers a lot of 8)   The rumour that our canteen has something vegetarian. And working towards a big dream. And ofcourse, seeing that I am likely to get a seat in the train.

10. What song will always remind you of 2012?

Dhak-dhuk from English Vinglish. Oh, and Gangnam, how can I forget you?

11. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

Happier.

12. What do you wish you’d done more of?

The mind always wants more, more and more, eh? But nope. I’ll say am happy with all the blessings.

13. What do you wish you’d done less of? 

Sleeping.

14. Did you fall in love in 2012?

Every single day 🙂

15. What/Who was your greatest musical discovery?

One of the girls I see for rehab. She mesmerized me by playing one my favourites by Beethoven. And all this, after listening to it once. Such a  prodigy!

16. What did you want and get?

A lot 🙂

17. What did you want and not get?

A knock-your-socks-off muffin on my first baking attempt. All I got were two UFO’s charred but charming nevertheless. With blueberries inside.

18. What was your favourite film of this year?

Sooooooooo many choices. I watched and caught up with old ones as well. Sowwie, but I just cannot discriminate. I have shared a few in the cinema corner.

19. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Spent a blissful day with family back in India over phone. Had a beautiful dinner with K outside and walked by the beach until midnight, talking away little nothings to glory. And yes, I listened to an awesome birthday song and surprise by Visha and CD first thing at work ! 🙂 I turned 24.

20. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Our parents visiting us. 2013, are you even listening?

21. What kept you sane?

Sane and me? That’s a tall order.

22. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

Always give the benefit of doubt to others. (courtesy: K)

23. Which new places did you visit in 2012? 

Indonesia( Tanjung Pinang, Bintan), Malaysia (Kuantan, Penang, Kuala Lumpur and Malacca), Sri Lanka ( Colombo, Negombo and Kandy) and Orissa, India ( Raghunathpur, Kedrapada, Konark, Chandrabagha, Puri and a few more). We also explored around this little island ( national parks and reserves, beach, museum, food joints etc.).

24. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year

One of them could be the Happy Wanderer:

I love to go a wandering along the mountain track and as I go I love to sing, my kanpsack on my back;

Val-deri, Val-dera……

25. Tag some bloggers you would love to read these answers from.

You! Yes you, the one reading this now 🙂

 Thanks Visha! I loved doing this 🙂

34 comments

  1. greenboochi · February 6, 2013

    What a lovely summation of 2012!! 🙂 And gal.. you have traveled to so many new places!! 😯

    Now again, this post reminds I too am tagged by Visha and she is waiting to punch me for I have forgotten all about it.. But Visha.. trust me.. I remember this tag and will do it soon (before its dec 2013 again) 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · February 6, 2013

      Thankoo GB! 🙂 hehehehe, I hope to keep the travelling up this year as well 😛

      I would looooooooove to read you responses.
      Wait a minute! You are at home no? Wedding preps all in full swing? and you read my post? Wah, thank you! 🙂

      • greenboochi · February 6, 2013

        I will surely do a post, but not sure when 🙂

        This week I am still at work.. working hard to enjoy harder for the next two weeks at home 😀 😀

    • Visha · February 6, 2013

      Oh GB, no issues…I will wait for the 2012 and 2013 round up tag from you :mrgreen:

  2. Destination Infinity · February 6, 2013

    I too sleep a lot. 10 hours a day. I should reduce it. 9.95? Let me see 😛 You should have given the names of some movies you saw in 2012 that you liked. I want to listen to that Dhuk-dhuk song right now………. Offffffff there……….

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · February 6, 2013

      😦 I sleep 6 hours DI. But I sleep like 10 hrs during weekends. My complaint is my afternoon nap. I have curbed a lot but I want to be more productive sometimes!
      I have shared the movies in the cinema corner tab on top 🙂 It is a lovely song, hope you enjoy it!

  3. tandooripanipurilife · February 6, 2013

    Gangnam style…for sure was The song of 2012 eh?? 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · February 6, 2013

      Hehehehe, looks like it TPL – what will all the December hype 😛 I must admit, it does make me dance:P

  4. Jas · February 6, 2013

    wah wah! what a round up of the year gone by… 🙂 and now I am officially knocking my head against the wall for still not having done this tag 😛

    • Visha · February 6, 2013

      Jas, I think the wall will crumble and still you will not do the tag 😥 😥 😥

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      Jas, I really look forward to reading a post from you 🙂 It’s fun, do take it up when you can 🙂

  5. Visha · February 6, 2013

    Mom 🙄 Naani suits me, coz I act like one 😛 So you can call be taani hence forth, tag+naani = taani :mrgreen:
    Sheldon a.l.w.a.y.s kicks the blues away, bless him 😀
    The palm sized plastic is the black hole definitely 😥
    You started baking?? 😯 And I wasn’t even invited?? 😯 😯
    Ah..so glad that you remember my birthday song 😀
    Do more travels and take us there too, okie 😉

    See, this is why you are tagged, you make so much fun 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      🙂 That’s so sweet of you taaani 😛

      I LOVE Sheldon. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE. Yest I saw him in the French dress that Howard got for Bernadette 😛 So cute he looks!Swooooooon 😛
      Ya ya I started in a small oven thingy (not a proper oven though) – My muffins are better now and i even bring them for my colleagues. Invite you? Ofcourse. I will bring a batch for you when I see you, okay?

      I can never forget your b’day song 🙂 More travels – alrighty! I had fun. Thanks Visha! 🙂

  6. Filter Kaapi · February 6, 2013

    You seem to have traveled sooo much! I’m jealous! I hoard on stationary but I just don’t use them completely. Writing on the first page is exciting but it stops there 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      hehehehe travel inspires me like crazy! I hope you get to strike places off your list this year as well 🙂 Hi-five! Fellow stationary hoarder. I use some and “preserve” some 😛

  7. Swaram · February 6, 2013

    Am J of u for all those new places u visited. Hmmpf!:P
    Waiting waiting to see the C&H painting 🙂
    And so true that about giving the benefit of doubt 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      hehe you have travelled nothing less yourself. Now with a great knee you will do more 🙂
      Yeah it is a small painting and will definitely share here once I paint the colours 😛 Right now it is just an outline of Calvin adn Hobbes!
      Giving the benefit of doubt (esp. for little things) makesl ife so much easier 🙂

  8. KP · February 6, 2013

    I think you deserve a widely travelled blogger award amongst the circle I follow.You shared your experiences too with others in your blog along with wonderful pictures.That I rate as the high water mark of your 2012 achievements.May 2013 be better and more adventurous in all areas.

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      Thank you so much KP. You are always very kind and encouraging with your beautiful words. I am yet to share lots more from recent travels and plan to do so in the coming days. Thank you so much for your wishes and I wish you a very happy, content and blessed year full of the awesome stories you spin and sometimes share from inspiration! 🙂

  9. suthewriter · February 6, 2013

    So cute! You have a lovely sense of humor. 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      Hi !! 🙂

      Welcome to toffeeland! Thank you so much 🙂 You are too kind. Would love to check your space out 🙂

  10. Roshni · February 6, 2013

    24! You baby!!! 🙂 Love the new look of the blog!

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      Rosh! hehehehe thank you! Age is just a number, right?
      Thank you. I am kind of liking the big fonts here as well 🙂

  11. Lifesong · February 7, 2013

    Enjoyed reading this Kismi 🙂 And you traveled so much… Wow! Looking forward to reading your Orissa Travelogue… Meanwhile, I still have to catch up with your Sri Lankan travels 🙂 … will do it soon 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      Hi LS! 🙂

      Thank you! I am yet to document the entire Sri Lanka travels. I look forward to writing it everyday but I get home so late and get lazy -soon, soon ! Feel free to catch up on the published posts as you feel like 🙂

  12. The Girl Next Door · February 7, 2013

    Wah! Loved reading this.. what lovely replies!

    Looking forward to reading your Orissa chronicles. It is one place I have been meaning to go for ages!

    So sweet of Visha to gift you a CD and a birthday surprise! 🙂 Loved the part about the romantic beach walk with K on your birthday, too. 🙂

    I am touched to read about someone in your care playing Beethoven. Instances like this reaffirm our faith in humanity and God, no?

    I have never heard that Happy Wanderer song. Sounds very intersting. I will look it up. 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · February 7, 2013

      Thank you TGND ! 🙂

      I look forward to writing about Orissa too as soon as am done with the Sri Lanka stories 🙂 I totally recommend you going there as well.

      Umm, Visha and CD (Confused D is called CD and is another blogger friend) sang some beautiful songs for me 🙂
      Oh, it moved me no end to see her play Beethoven one note after the other, slow but transcending all barriers 🙂

      Happy wanderer is this song that we sang during western music class in school and always made me imagine big hills and green knolls and sunshine and pretty flowers in all shades. And I would walk amidst them with a brown rucksack that contained my favourite book, a diary, a particular fountain pen and a bar of chocolate. Hope you like it!

  13. chattywren · February 7, 2013

    A very interesting read! 24 struck me, since I was that ages ago:) And the travel – all places I would love to go someday! Do write about your travel to Orissa, a state I find fascinating. Also like the way you have side-stepped from a lot of questions 😉

    • kismitoffeebar · February 8, 2013

      Thank you Chattywren! 🙂
      I will definitely write everything I can recollect from Orissa travels. I need to complete Sri anka first – some obsessive compulsive disorder I have 😛

      hehehehe, ya what to do Chattywren? Some really don’t have clearcut answers – like life 🙂

  14. girlinjammies · February 8, 2013

    Travel, Big Bang Theory and Books – sounds like a pretty good year to me. Have a fun 2013 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · February 8, 2013

      Hi Girl-in-jammies! 🙂

      Welcome here !! Thank you! Wishing you a super duper fun year too 🙂
      I can’t seem to read your blog though. Help please?

      • girlinjammies · February 8, 2013

        Oops. Guess wordpress caused some trouble with my settings. Can you try clicking now? Or else, do directly to girlinjammies.com

  15. Little Fingers · February 8, 2013

    That was a fun year Kismi 🙂 You do enjoy traveling don’t you 🙂 It was a fun read and knowing more about u..

    • kismitoffeebar · February 9, 2013

      Thanks LF ! 🙂 I love travelling and so does K 🙂

Leave a Reply

