Devouring at Pita Pan

Scrunchilicious!

That pretty much sums up all the sound you will hear as you bite into this heavenly goodness. Other than the mutually understanding om-nom-nom-nom and mmmmms ofcourse.

Almost more than a month back, before we went for a vacation, I got really hungry. Now, that is not saying much since I am usually in that state. Like after wiping off the last strand of my spaghetti now, I have my hands buried inside a box of grapes.

The point is, it was one of those days. K and I sometimes meet up for lunch whenever we can afford the entire hour for it between work. So, I went to this place where he works and we decided to go to Pita Pan very near to the place where he works. I had never seen the restaurant before and somehow I thought K meant “Peter Pan”. I was super excited to meet Peter Pan and rehearsed my hellos even.

Turned out it was not Peter Pan but Pita Pan. The sadness I felt was washed by seeing the word pita because I looooooove pita. I love how you can pocket those guys and fill ’em up like crazy kangaroos, only more delicious. I think. Hmmmmm.

Located at The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands, this restaurant serves 100% vegetarian (well, okay, they serve eggs but well, they’re eggs!) and exotic Meditarranean cuisine. That’s what they say. And trust me when I say it – They can’t be more right!

With their own salad bar, pita pockets stuffed with delectable delights, mouth-watering shakshukas and some really zesty refreshing beverages, what more can you ask for? A longer lunch break perhaps!

Pitapan 1

They have a modest seating space but the view outside compensates for it. So do the friendly staff who will tell which sauce is spicy or what goes better with what and other such technicalities if you are interested. If the weather is good, you are in for a bigger treat! We loved sitting by the side overlooking the museum and water. The weather was gorgeous. As gorgeous as the pita pockets we had.

Since K and I were both ravenous, we decided to go for pita pockets greedily stuffed with everyone of those goodies. you can choose from falafels to hummus to pickled gourds to in-house olives to coleslaw to juicy whole cherry tomatoes to rich- in- fibre but crunchily good greens to anything! The whole selection is so colourful and so nutritious. Don’t forget to add some generous dollops of their extremely flavoursome tahini or amba sauce for some pizzaz!

We chose to make it a meal which is why we got french fries and ice-lemon alongside.

Pita french

What makes these so good is that there is a variety in the texture and colour brought about by the stuffing that explodes in your mouth. And the best take-away? A whole lot of nutrition. Get a close-up view:

Pita 2_01

It even has corn! I feel overjoyed when I can spot a range of colours in my food – I have come to believe that it signals a lot of nutrition and taste. Even better if I can have a lot of it raw.
I love salads for that reason. But I can’t have salads alone and feel good or full. So stuffing them inside a pita pocket or like a Calcutta roll works great for me.

Pita 3

This fella looked so colourful and crunchy on the outside that I wanted to have the pita and keep it too! It was definitely a thing of beauty and it kind of hurt inside to bite into it. But once the flavours infused inside my mouth, there was no stopping. Sorry, Pita. You were just too tasty.

Oh, the French fries were neglected totally that day. Can’t blame the poor guys.

P.S. I must add that this makes for a very filling meal for me. I think the 3-4 falafels they add inside is one reason. So, making it a meal is not really necessary.

30 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · January 7, 2013

    Good to know that there are vegetarian restaurants that are not Indian. I always knew that raw/cooked vegetables can get tasty. One just needs to get the combination right. If I ever come to Singapore, this is one restaurant I will visit.

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · January 7, 2013

      Hi DI!

      You are absolutely right. They need the right combination and sometimes some amount of seasoning. That does the trick!
      You will love this place, I feel.

      • kismitoffeebar · January 7, 2013

        Which reminds me, there are multiple cuisines that make all the traditional food with vegetarian soya chunks designed to act liek meat – so vegetarians can try a lot 🙂 I don’t like mock-meat (soya basically or toufu) much but I still give it a go sometimes if subtle 🙂

  2. Arch · January 7, 2013

    A very very happy new year, Toffee.I am back from my vacation – and just read this post today. Got loads to catch up. I love Pita too! Will definitely make it here 😀 the last pic makes me drool!

    • kismitoffeebar · January 7, 2013

      Heeeeeeeey ! hugs and a very warm welcome 🙂 Yay! A very very happie new year. Looks like Ma’m has had one super vacation 🙂 We need to so meet up. And share pita 😛

  3. Zephyr · January 7, 2013

    I am not too fond of pita pockets but will settle for one in a crunch. But your description (I had to wipe off the drool from the keyboard) makes it all so irresistible. Now i am hungry and have to eat my lunch, which sounds positively drab by comparison 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · January 7, 2013

      Zephyr!

      I hadn’t noticed your thumbnail pic there and i must say – it is one of the coolest pics I have seen 🙂 You are anything but that, am sure but it seems so charming and unforgettable nevertheless 🙂

      Ah, pita pockets are so convenient that K and I sometimes fill it with veggies, cheese adn throw it in the microwave to get some lovely looking thing a couple of minutes later 😛 Thanks Zephyr! 🙂 if you are eating at home, let me tell you that it can never be drab 🙂

  4. Jas · January 7, 2013

    The pita pockets look yummmy…. and the view is definitely worth it 🙂

  5. Lifesong · January 7, 2013

    Wow! Looks totally yum 🙂 … crunchy and scrumpy… Perfect!
    Makes me want some NOW 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · January 8, 2013

      hehe thanks LS – oshoooo, just get some pita bread and make it dearie. And trust me, it is the easiest thing for packing lunch boxes (hint 😛 )

  6. greenboochi · January 7, 2013

    You had my mouth watering Kismi.. bad.. too bad I say!!! As if your words were not enough, you had to put up awesome pictures too.. hmpppf!!! *just kidding* 😀 I had been looking for recipes of Pita Bread.. planning to bake them some day and until then, I will keep looking for restaurants serving those here! 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · January 8, 2013

      hehehehehe thanks Gb! Oh, it’ll be splendid to see your own homemade pita 🙂 else, just buy some pita and stuff in anything – I promise you it will still taste good. If not, just add cheese 😛

  7. Bikramjit Singh Mann · January 7, 2013

    yummmmyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Now I have to come 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · January 8, 2013

      Bikraaaaaaaaaaam! Ofcourse 🙂 I am telling you – don’t plan, just coome off by on an impulse. Like, “Oh that pita looks good. let me book my tickets” 😛

  8. privytrifles · January 7, 2013

    I am reading it today when its 5 pm here and I am yet to have my lunch 😦

    Good reminder to rush and grab something to eat though I am sure nothing can match those things in the pics!

    • kismitoffeebar · January 8, 2013

      5 P.M. and no lunch? Yanking! Please eat on time. Sigh. This girl! 😦 hmmmf.

      Hope you had something immediately! 🙂

  9. anisnest · January 7, 2013

    oh the pita’s with stuffing is a wholesome meal by itself.. I used to buy it from street vendors rarely. they call it as gyro too. chicken gyro from NY street vendor is M’s favorite and mine too 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · January 8, 2013

      Ya truly Ani! Yes, have heard of gyro 🙂 This pita fella seems to be popular 🙂

  10. roshniaamom · January 8, 2013

    wow!! Looks amazing! And, you’re right; it does remind one of Calcutta rolls!!

    • kismitoffeebar · January 8, 2013

      Hai na? We get them here in one Bengali fast food chain of modest stalls – and the taste – My o my! 🙂
      Thankee Rosh!

  11. tandooripanipurilife · January 8, 2013

    I read this post yesterday in train while returning back to home from office.. and really kismi, you made me so hungry!!!! I love pita breads.. you said it right just stuff it with anything & you are good to go..
    I have tried even with dry chole sabji & salad as well 😉

    • kismitoffeebar · January 8, 2013

      hehehehe thanks! I know how hungry one can get when on the way back home from office. so, am sorry! 🙂
      Oh, I was exactly thinking of chole and some onion and tomatoes as a modification someday for lunch 😛

  12. The Girl Next Door · January 8, 2013

    That looks, and sounds, yummylicious! 🙂

    I have never tried out stuffed pita bread.. looks like I should get hold of some at the earliest now! 🙂

  13. Smita · January 8, 2013

    Now I am feeling hungry!

    • kismitoffeebar · January 9, 2013

      hehe treat yourself to some pits with lots of fibre inside Smita. I am sure you will love it 🙂

  14. Visha · January 8, 2013

    My initiation into the pita-bread-lovers-family occurred a little less than a year ago and I have simply craved for it time and again. This description of yours makes me wanna have one right now, like RIGHT NOW 😀 😀 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · January 9, 2013

      Ooooooooo welcome! welcome! 🙂
      hehehehe looks like i set off one crave alarm there! Go and splurge 🙂

  15. techie2mom · January 17, 2013

    This looks tastyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. I think i am going to m(b)ake Pita pretty soon….

Leave a Reply

