Merry Christmas!

This one is coming a bit late but with all the love intact πŸ™‚ K and I hope all of you have had a merry Christmas and a good holiday!

Have you all noticed how everyone seems happy and kind and cheerful during December? And, why not? There is every reason to celebrate when Santa is on his way and also ushers in the new year. Not strangely,Β I have noticed that Christmas makes me super merry and chirpier.

This is K’s and my first Christmas in Singapore. Obviously, we were super excited! Last year, we celebrated Christmas with friends in Port Dickson in Malaysia. While that was fun, I was always curious to see what Christmas in Singapore is like. And we are super thankful to God for giving us another Christmas!

K and I roamed around Orchard soaking in all the lovely lights and feeling miniscule yet beautiful everytime we spotted the huuuuuuuge X’mas trees shining away to glory, almost as if signifying a brighter better world. I have this habit of seeing certain events and things around me as metaphors and naturally, the gift wrappers, candles, smiles, festivity only provided more impetus to my fetish.

I kept thinking of how I automatically smile an inch wider and chirp everytime I try to say something. And then, I realized it is all because it is Christmas and new year soon ! There are Β hundreds of reasons why I love this time of the year but I thought I would share a few here. Also, let me share some snaps we clicked away on the busy Orchard street that is famous for its bustling cheery crowd during Christmas month.

1. I loooooooove how Christmas sounds. Christmas. See. Christmas. I just kept wishing people t work again and again because I like how it sounds. Especially when I say it.

2. I love how people never tire of shopping. Including those who dislike it (the ones I know, I mean). You can see everyone carrying a big bag (atleast) and that inturn contains many gift wrapped boxes in myriad colours. I cannot get enough of looking at them and trying to guess what might be inside and who would be the lucky one. That’s why I am a kid. Give me a diamond necklace and I will just put it away (I swear) but give me a scented eraser inside a gift wrap and I will treasure it forever. That holds good for the diamond necklace as well. Kidding! Gift wraps hold my attention and awe me so much. I even stand long and stare at those Β boxes that are gift wrapped and placed under the tree in malls. I never want to believe that they are empty. I am so curious to open them.

DSC_0824

3. I love how the streets look. There is not an inch to keep your foot and sometimes all you can see are faces, faces and more faces. Busy ones, prepping up last minute.

4. Every little place along the street gets decked up and becomes all Christmas-y! That almost makes me feel like a wreath is all it needed.

DSC_0815

DSC_0873

DSC_0817

5. Β There is just so much kindness in the air, More than usual. Like people give way to others, people smile more generously, people listen more and there is a lot of goodwill in general. Atleast I feel so.

DSC_0831

DSC_0840

I love these ornaments that adorned the street. I love it when there is a lot of light around. It uplifts my mood by tonnes.

6. I love watching little kids wearing those little Santa caps and walking around cutely, anticipating Santa’s visit and getting excited at the prospect of possible goodies for them in the bag that their parents are carrying.

DSC_0837

DSC_0838

7. I love the figures that are set up around corners that share the stories. It reminds me of how I would await for Christmas and celebrate it by watching Cartoon Network for an entire day. The channel would run shows on several stories that shared the spirit of Christmas, on kindness, giving and joy. Chintu and I would have a whale of a time watching them. Christmas reminds me of all those times and I find it hard to describe how much I crave for all those times again. Just to be able to sit in one place and watch show after show, never getting up for minute so that not a single part is missed – The last I saw, CN was not telecasting any such shows. I really hope they have started the tradition again.

DSC_0842

DSC_0845

DSC_0849

8. I love carols and the sound of it everywhere we go. When K and I were walking along the streets, we spotted one group singing carols and drawing people in large numbers. We could not reach them owing to the traffic and so could only click them from a distance. But we made up for the loss by singing Rudolf the red nosed reindeer for 4 days at a stretch. K and I loooooove this song to bits πŸ™‚

DSC_0862

9. I love the X’mas tree, its shape and how there are ornaments all around it. But look at how much more delectable it can get!

DSC_0854

Still wondering? Look closer.

DSC_0855

10. I loooooooooooooooooove Santa (though mine gifts more than Coke)! No more words needed.

DSC_0830

11. I love how colourful the streets get with various performances.

DSC_0860

DSC_0861

12. I love the messages that are displayed. It makes Christmas all the more magical. One of them we clicked –

DSC_0868

Look at how enormous and gorgeous this X’mas tree is!

me and xmas tree

We wrapped it all up with the gorgeous looking Christmas hazelnut log-cake. Honestly, I wouldn’t say that we loved it (except for the lovely white chocolate flakes) but it does look beautiful! Β We also had a walnut cake that was moist and yummy (unfortunately, the snap isn’t getting uploaded).

log

Why do you love Christmas? And how did you celebrate yours? πŸ™‚

20 comments

  1. Visha · December 27, 2012

    Papa’s birthday is on Christmas. So its always been carrot/beetroot halwa and an elaborate and extensive lunch and dinner before I got married. Add to that I studied in a convent, so we always had the Christmas party on 24th in school.

    Post marriage, Christmas means vacation for the kids. So the baccha party along with their mom’s descend at our place, which equals to short vacations, loads of food and family masti time.

    This Christmas, we went to Muthati..how we enjoyed playing in the waters..bliss…it is said to have herbal properties, so very reluctantly we came out of the water. Most of us were like hippopotamus’s – submerged in the cold water and enjoying the hot sunshine.

    • kismitoffeebar · December 27, 2012

      Oh WOW! What a date that is πŸ™‚ Belated b’day wishes to your father πŸ™‚ Loved reading that ritual of carrot/beetroot halwa!

      Your Christmas sounds grand and fun! Loved knowing how it went for you. I miss Xmas parties at school as well. And all hte secret santa we played! Ah!

  2. Destination Infinity · December 27, 2012

    If you get a diamond necklace without gift wrapping and want to throw it away, you can send it to me instead. I can even pay for the courier πŸ™‚

    I have never celebrated christmas, as such. But these days I celebrate them on blogs like these, online πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · December 27, 2012

      hehe, sure I can. But once i gift wrap it, it may look appealing to me πŸ˜› So, I’ll just send it right away.

      Yea, celebrating on blogs is fun! πŸ™‚

  3. Bikramjit Singh Mann · December 27, 2012

    wowow now i would have loved to be there in singapore.. this year in uk its been very very sombre affair , but me and my friends got together so we have had some fun ..

    that ferrore rocher tree WOWOWOWOW yummy I want that toooo

    • kismitoffeebar · December 27, 2012

      Bikram, come off next time πŸ™‚ Just come and don’t plan!
      Am sure you made up for all the sobeirty by partying with friends πŸ™‚

  4. The Girl Next Door · December 27, 2012

    What a lovely post, with beautiful pictures! It was great to get a feel of how Christmas is like in Singapore. I always love seeing how festivals are celebrated in different parts of the world, and this post sated that curiosity of mine. πŸ™‚

    I am with you on the feeling all excited on being handed gift-wrapped parcels. I am such a child when it comes to that. πŸ˜€ I wonder what is inside those boxes placed under Christmas trees in malls, too. πŸ™‚ LIke you, I don’t want to believe that they are empty. πŸ™‚

    I love all of what you have mentioned about Christmas, too – the festivity in the air, Christmas trees, the spirit of joy and giving, gifts, cakes, performances, lights and decorations, and carols. I don’t know many carols, but I love the sound of them.

    That Ferrero Rocher tree is so delectable! I would have loved to see it in person, and if possible, get my hands on a few of those delicious chocolates. πŸ™‚

    That log cake also looks lovely! It is positively gorgeous, in fact. Pity you didn’t like it so much. 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · December 27, 2012

      Thank you for such a lovely comment πŸ™‚

      I love seeing festivals all over the world as well. Same pinch! hehehehe – See, the packaging excites us so much!

      Christmas is so much fun! πŸ™‚ Ashoo, you get me the Karachi bakery biscuits and I will stuff your bags with ferrero rocher, okay?

      Ya it looks gorgeous but we did not enjoy the taste a lot, though it was fresh cream. Sad.

      Thanks again TGND! πŸ™‚

  5. Jas · December 27, 2012

    Awesome. Such beautiful pictures to tell the christmas story. This Christmas was wonderful for us too as Kiddo was completely mesmerized with Santa Clause.

    • kismitoffeebar · December 27, 2012

      Thankee Jas! πŸ™‚ Ah, that’s awesome to know! So who played Santa this time? πŸ™‚

  6. Lifesong · December 27, 2012

    Lovely pics Kismi πŸ™‚ My favorite was the Chocolate X’mas tree πŸ™‚
    That was a good virtual tour of Christmas in Singapore πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · December 27, 2012

      Thanks so much Lifesong πŸ™‚ hehehehe looks like that tree is one big hit!
      Glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  7. anisnest · December 27, 2012

    wowww… now I know how S’pore looks during Christmas.. drooling on the ferero rocher x-mas tree πŸ™‚
    Wishing you and your family a very happy new year.. tc

    • KP · December 28, 2012

      Season’s greetings and best wishes for a happy new year

      • kismitoffeebar · December 28, 2012

        Thanks a lot KP πŸ™‚ Wish you and a loved ones a very blessed new year! πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · December 28, 2012

      hehe looks like there is a lot of drool around here!
      Thanks Ani πŸ™‚ Wishing you and yours a lovely new year πŸ™‚

  8. privytrifles · December 28, 2012

    Hey…Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you tooo ❀

    • kismitoffeebar · December 28, 2012

      Thankee Privy! πŸ™‚ Wish you a merry X’mas and Happy new year too! πŸ™‚

  9. Smita · December 28, 2012

    Merry Christmas I guess it is Diwali there πŸ™‚

    Amazing set of pictures!!!

    The day is very special for me because I celebrate my b’day on 25th Dec πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · December 28, 2012

      Yes it is πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot Smitha! πŸ™‚
      Wow! You celebrate your b’day on 25 Dec? Belated happy birthday to you ! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

