Never in form!

Right now, I am at this stage in life where I am surrounded by forms – this form, that form, those forms, these forms and again, this form. I can’t begin to tell you how much I despise them.

If I were to look into slam books from school and college, the section that asks for what I hate the most, I’d find that I have written hypocrisy, swallowing tablets and filling forms in no particular order.

I wish there was a system where I needed to enter all the details of my life (relevant ofcourse) and then I just choose who can access it! Hmmm, that may not be a bad business idea. So I enter my name, address etc and then just tick the sections that the party should receive – much more convenient, isn’t it?

When applying to universities and then jobs, I used to fill up so many forms. And then coming overseas demanded more forms, licenses, forms for licenses, forms to submit license, forms to request renewal of license – Phew!

The only joy of being single in my dictionary is that you don’t need to fill up the section for spouse. I used to feel an inexplicable sense of relief as Ihappily skipped the particulars of spouse section. Until November last year. Now, I just feel happy that I don’t have to fill the children’s section.

I always wanted to marry a guy who would be an expert in filling forms. Like papa. Papa takes some pride in filling forms that I fail to understand even a wee bit. Boss, who can plan filling up forms right after breakfast, before lunch and after dinner? And with that thick black rimmed reading glasses that threatens to slide down the nose if another form in unveiled – I only felt relieved that I don’t need to fill forms ever! My plan of action was to find a husband who could and would.

I forgot to add that amongst other criteria as “should”.

Imagine my rotten luck when I find myself a husband who does not just detest forms but has all along been hoping to get a wife to do it for him (for the rest of our lives, I must hurriedly add). So basically all that K does is, stylishly leave forms on my study table with a bar of chocolate (Mental note: I better outgrow this soon) and asks me to fill up the forms. He then chooses to surprise me by asking me if the forms are done within the week. Now, that’s hilarious. As a rule of thumb, I finish forms only when there are 4 seconds left. And I am not changing it. Certainly not when I have two forms including the spouse particulars to fill. Typing this itself makes me feel weak.

Nowadays, forms seem to have evolved. But not the favourable evolution. Forms these days need more photocopies as attachments, more passport photos (that’s another story by itself!), more signatures, more id proof, more scope for errors (that’s for people like me) and more waiting time as well. Total mess!

With all that experience, I was hoping that I’d become some sort of a form-filling expert. I thought I have some genes thrown in as well and that’d probably work in my favour. I started thinking of a lucrative form filling business part-time. Now this where I must say – Alas!

Earlier, I would read, re-read, check, re-check the form before submission. Now, I detest them so much that I just fill them up, run a cursory glance and done! I was not surprised when lady to whom I submitted an important form recently called me and asked me to refill. I had made a blunder in writing the duration of work experience. And umm, interchanged my organization’s and my name. Hmm, that actually sounded interesting.

So, the bottomline is that I seem to have never had much and lost whatever little form I had for filling forms.

I long for the days when all I had to do was sign. Perhaps, if papa could have done that, I wouldn’t have had to sign either. But he is a righteous man. So, he would call me to sign. I would mumble and grumble at how I am so tired of signing and then sign off like the President (I felt like that atleast). So, all I did for my driving license was to drive the car or ride the 2-wheeler. That’s it. All I did for getting the PAN/ Adhar was sign and pose funnily for the photo (that never ever turns out good, so why bother to smile and pose?) Now, my family openly laughs at my plight. I lazed around then. So, I am getting my fair share of forms with some additional punishment now.

I better stop here. I have a few minutes to submit a form now. I can’t miss the 4 second rule.

P.S. K, if you are reading this, please please pleasantly surprise me by filling up atleast 4 of those 9 forms on the table. I will treat you to a box of chocolates.

43 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · November 7, 2012

    Most recently, before about 6 months, I was thinking whether to fill the voter ID form or not. After thinking for 5 minutes, I decided never to vote in my life 😛

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · November 7, 2012

      Sigh. So you don’t vote? That’s really essential, right? 🙂

  2. Jas · November 7, 2012

    ha ha 😀 you are my kind of girl…. forms are something I have despised all my life and will keep on doing that… whosoever invented forms must be dying with hiccups right now 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · November 7, 2012

      hehe Jas ! The joy of finding sisterhood and brotherhood amidst all this!

  3. Visha · November 7, 2012

    I love filling forms 😀

    My brother has a horrible handwriting and I used to be requested by him to fill his form. When will you grow up I used to ask. Your handwriting is much more legible than mine, I would get the reply 😆

    Now the same lines I get to hear from Zack 😛

    So true about that photo part…never comes right eh 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · November 7, 2012

      I tell you, I had this big big feeling that you will like filling forms. No diea why. Sigh! Please fill mine Visha! I can sign though.
      Yea, that photo can never ever look good. Makes me want to look at my name to be sure of the person is me!

      • Visha · November 7, 2012

        why oh why :O

        Sure sweets, courier them right away 😉

      • kismitoffeebar · November 8, 2012

        I am so tempted to! 🙂

  4. greenboochi · November 7, 2012

    Kismi…. I can for sure say.. we are living our parallel lives.. 🙂 Not only S is lazy to fill the forms, I hate filling forms but end up filling them as S wont do them.. but my dad loves filling forms too. Until I got married, all I had to do was to put on my signature as well while the rest of the filling was done by dad 😀 He actually fills around 100 applications per day during the income tax returns period.. claiming he is helping his friends. He also fills medical reimbursements forms, license renewal forms, PAN application, ration application and what-not. All it takes is a friendly face and just a word from the person to make my dad fill his form.He would help them in his spare time during office, brings a few forms home and gets stared by all the women of the house. Sitting for hours filling forms would seem so ridiculous for us until we understand how important it is for the other person, when that person cant even write his name in English. Most of the people who dad helps, get him a nice pen (mostly) or sweets or anything that they can afford to show how helpful he was to them. when he brings back that small gift and shows us, I would brim with happiness and pride. I admire him for what all he is 🙂 I have never seen anyone liking form filling as much as he does, until I read this post of yours. Our dad are the bestttttt 😀

    It brought back many awesome memories Kismi, as most of your posts do. And I laughed my bit too, reading abt the no. of forms and the 4-sec rule 🙂 🙂 🙂 Dont let your Papa know abt this.. 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · November 8, 2012

      Gb, loved what you said! I areally udnerstand how you must be feeling about it !:) Every little thing has so many memories attached to it. Thank you for sharing such lovely memories gb 🙂
      Your dad is one awesome person 🙂 My papa reads my blog 😛 Let him gloat in the happiness 🙂
      and parallel lives! True! 😛

  5. privytrifles · November 7, 2012

    Toffee….this is my job! As an investment banker I fill dozens of forms daily, check for right attachments and ensure it is all in order 😀

    I am now the official form filler for everyone in my house and I have gotten so used to it that I detest when someone else fills it!!! I wish I was there right now to help you with yours..I could do it for a nice cup of coffee 😉

    And those photos…dont ask…I can never relate myself to that..wonder how they manage to be so horrible everytime!

    • kismitoffeebar · November 8, 2012

      My God!!!!!!!!! I bow to you. Official form filler – whoa! And you detest it if someone else fills it, pls come stay with me. I will make sure you are always happy. 🙂
      Those photos always turn ut so bad no? I have no idea why? Using one decent cam and developing it is such an easy task. Sigh!

  6. Amit · November 7, 2012

    Thankfully I am fine with filling forms and so is Geet but yes, abundance of anything is bad.
    And I hate forms which go on and on. 2-3 pages are fine but beyond that is annoying.

    • kismitoffeebar · November 8, 2012

      Wow! You and Geet are okay? – that’s fabulous, Amit!
      Oh, right now I have forms that are 12 pages long. Not that I like 2-3 pages either. I just like a half- page form – name, id and sign 😛

  7. ashreyamom · November 7, 2012

    hmmm.. i remember taking xerox of the form or filling the form with pencil, then getting it checked by someone else and refilling it.. i had to fill some 15+10 forms. that 2 forms, copy the same details for others. none of my family members co-operated to copy. i had to do it all by myself. i was newly married then, my dad was just behind me to fill.. to escape i would lock the door, as w were newly married we were not disturbed. so dad decided to take me to his friends place, so i can fill forms without being distracted by hubby.. :).. lol.. it is really funny to think back now..
    the other prob i had is attesting somebody’s certificates.. that means stamping and just signing some 4 sets of 10 pages.. 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · November 8, 2012

      I used to do the filling in an extra copy when I started off. Now, all that is long gone! 😛
      Those were some sweet memories you shared AM ! 15+10 forms – I am yet to recover after reading that 😛
      you attest certificates? :O

  8. My Era · November 7, 2012

    I am quite fine with filling forms and I like to fill them very neatly. In the event of a mistake you can see me panic, trying to erase or treat with white ink (if allowed in the form) to neatly rectify the mistake and if need be fill another form without a frown 😀 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · November 8, 2012

      ME, you don’t know what an admirable trait you have! Please pass some of it to me 😦
      You are this meticulous person filling up forms neatly – I can imagine it!
      🙂

  9. anisnest · November 7, 2012

    Now that’s something I never thought of before but thinking about it now “filling forms” looks like I also hate it.. 🙂 its so boring na.. and yes I am the dedicated one to fill all sorts of forms at home.. M is least bothered about it.. He doesn’t even bother to ask if its submitted or not..

    • kismitoffeebar · November 8, 2012

      Yay Ani! I need this kind of majority on my side — the form haters! 😛 (sounds so strong 😛 )
      Boring and argh-like feeling! K is very botheres about whether it is submitted or not. That’s pretty much it 😛 🙂

  10. tandooripanipurilife · November 8, 2012

    hahaha.. Ditto Kismi.. I too hate to fill the forms..
    Will you believe if I will say that even my visa application forms were filled by PK to me in India and I just signed it and sent it back to him.. I was so lazy to fill the form.. poor PK send it all the way to me 😉
    Even now all the paper work for our land, construction, license, PR.. you name it.. every thing is done by PK ofcourse I sign them 🙂

  11. The Girl Next Door · November 8, 2012

    LOL. Poor you!
    Luckily, the OH and I are fine with filling up forms. We don’t love it, but we are OK with it. But then, I don’t think we would like it if there were to be an overdose of forms. 🙂
    Happy form-filling!!

    • kismitoffeebar · November 9, 2012

      Hmmmm, there is an overdose TGND 😛 And the forms are like 8 pages long. Mummy!
      Lucky you! I just need K to be OK with it, that’s all 😛

  12. The British Asian Blog · November 8, 2012

    Filling in forms is acceptable to a point, here in the UK, allot of filling in is done usually towards the end of the fiscal year. I find it easier at times to photocopy and retain a copy of a form that you have filled – only because within 12 months you will be repeating it again – so with a copy of existing means majority of information remains the same – you just need to spent a few minutes copying it over.

    • kismitoffeebar · November 9, 2012

      Welcome here British Asian ! 🙂

      Sigh! I do have copies but the forms at times get different especially when are so many thing to apply to. I guess it is a classic example of absolute dislike that makes small issues big 😛

  13. Bikramjit Singh Mann · November 8, 2012

    he he he he 🙂 ooops dare i laugh.. I burst out laghing hearing that hubby was looking for someone to fill forms he he he he 🙂

    I also detest filling of forms especially when each year the insurances have ot be renewed and all that pallava …

    • kismitoffeebar · November 9, 2012

      hehehehe I hear you Bikram! It is good to have a fraternity of form haters here. If nothing, it is comforting ot know that there are more who are praying for the forms to be doen with 😛

  14. Atrocious Scribblings · November 8, 2012

    Adding to the already existing woes of form filling which you have mentioned in the post – I also have to contend with filling forms in a new language and also translate them for my friends.

    • kismitoffeebar · November 9, 2012

      Oh God!!!!!!!!
      Suddenly, my situation looks better 🙂
      All the best to you !

  15. Roshni · November 9, 2012

    I’ve started loving online forms for that reason and personal servers that remember all my information!! Not a good idea security-wise but perfect for people like us!!
    *Sigh* I’m also relegated to the form filler in my family! Every time I protest, the hubby looks meaningfully at me and murmurs, “dyslexia”!! Just blatant emotional blackmail!!!!

    • kismitoffeebar · November 10, 2012

      True but some online forms here don’t have that memory and there are too many hard copies 😉 ( psst. I may sound at my exaggerating best) how smart of your hubby to do that. 🙂

  16. pixie · November 10, 2012

    I hear you!! I hate filling forms too!! ugh!
    hugs! I hope you are done with them…

    • kismitoffeebar · November 10, 2012

      Hey Pixie! Good to see you here after a while! 🙂
      Hugs right back ! Sigh.

  17. Deeps · November 12, 2012

    Hahahaha! Much as that was funny to read, I could feel your plight of filling up forms! Here in my household too the task of filling up forms rests on me 😦 😦

    Wish I lived somewhere closeby, would surely have come over and helped you with the form-filling 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · November 14, 2012

      You are way too sweet! You have that huge onus resting on you and you offer help – Thankee! You made my day. I am done with some form filling for now. Until someone spots some silly mistake 😛

  18. Little Fingers · November 13, 2012

    I can so relate to you here, I hate filling forms too 😦

  19. Dew · November 14, 2012

    Tell me about it… I HATE to fill forms.. and hate to torment my brains for those endless sections…in the forms…

    • kismitoffeebar · November 14, 2012

      You just spoke my mind! Am so so happy to know there is an entire population of form detesting, form hating, form abhoring, form despising individuals out there!
      Hugs Dew 🙂

  20. chattywren · November 15, 2012

    Lol, i found it hilarious. I can sympathize with your plight. My Mom is lucky too, she just signs and Dad does the rest. After we got married, I was in for a shock. My husband detests paperwork of any kind and if left to him will surely mess things up. So, in a suffering manner I’ve taken all form-filling on me, and do it well too. Of course, now that we have to deal with filling them up in a foreign language, we keep throwing the ball at each other at times:) Nice post.

    • kismitoffeebar · November 15, 2012

      You rock ! You are doing it well, yay !!!!! I am not sure if K will mess up, the man refuses to try. I have a feeling he is better than me though.
      Foreign language :O I better stop complaining now. Mine is in good ol’ English.

  21. Arch · November 19, 2012

    Toffee 🙂 I never thought about it until now but I realize I enjoy filling forms. In this island country, every thing comes with a form, need for ID etc so I have grown to it, probably. I actually like paper work, keeping stuff in order, indexing them. I should add I shop a lot of used less stationery items like black gel pens, cycle shaped punch clips, not-so-bright but florescent index notes and stash them away until a form filling comes up. Your post has sure rattled off some crazy parts in me 🙂 Hilarious, you are!

Leave a Reply

