Reporting live from Kuala Lumpur – 3

How I slept! I have no clue when I slept off last night.  I woke up to the melodious alarm at 7:00 A.M. After such a lovely breakfast yesterday, I waned to make sure that I do not miss breakfast and wake up in time for it. I think, if someone were to make me breakfast everyday, I’d happily wake up early to eat. On the other hand, if I were to wake up and make breakfast, I’d rather spend the 30 minutes in bed, snoozing away gloriously.

As usual, K was sleeping soundly. In that regard, he is super consistent. I don’t think a sumptuous breakfast can entice him even a wee bit. Not when he is sleeping like this. Anyway, I assumed my role of the pest and tickled and pushed him off the bed. I feel sorry for him. Like, majorly sorry. Most of the time. I try my best to be the gentle bride. But my wickedness often wins the round. Poor him!

And then, K said something that made me feel that the sky was falling! He said that we must skip breakfast and sleep off nicely. Now, even if he was making a joke, how cruel could he get! I couldn’t respond out of shock. I don’t miss breakfasts. And definitely not when Hilton makes them for me. Breakfasts with waffles that have vanilla sauce on them are mandatory in my life. Sigh. K tried to persuade me into it and promised huge rewards. I was at my defiant best. When I threatened to cry, he laughed and said it was all a prank. How easy it is to play such cruel, wicked, evil, malicious pranks on a poor soul that asks for breakfast in the morning.

We spent an hour over this. And then, we hurriedly got dressed and I galloped to the dining area. The first thing I checked was waffles ofcourse. In that lovely spot beside beside the huge batik poster and potted plants, I could see the most endearing sight of the morning – golden waffles beckoning to me to taste them all. Every one of them. I flashed a victorious smile, K gave up any last bit of hope he had and we chose our seats. This time we sat right opposite the waffle counter, for obvious reasons.

I ordered my normal coffee and K ordered a latte. I looked around and could see the hockey team there. I was hoping I could see them today as well and yes! They were all very much there. But, their outfit was different today – a bright and lovely orange! And they seemed so happy. I wonder if they won yesterday’s match…. They are such a talkative bunch, I tell ya! They go on and on, all at once and suddenly I can hear words and jargon and the crunch of honeystars and the clinking of spoons in their yoghurt glasses and the om-nom-nom-noms. They must feel so one ! I love love love love watching teams in uniforms.

Breakfast was spledid! The menu was pretty much the same as yesterday’s with some additions: they had super soft banana walnut cake , my comfort food of dal tadka and fluffy medhu vaDas. The waffles were amazing smelling of awesomeness. The iDiyappams were warmer today and I was lucky to get a fresh batch ! It was all just like yesterday and yet, I was so enamoured by the spread. I spent a long time trying to choose what I wanted. Between the porridge, pooris, baked beans, noodles, potato masala, dal taDka, rice, fried rice, bee hoon, the never-ending varieties of bread, cakes, yoghurt, fresh fruit juice, salads, cereals – I was lost. But let me proudly announce that I did come out victorious.  Hilton, I can’t tell you how much I love you for that awesome spread you have everyday on the dining table and that lovely curvy spread on your face as well 🙂

After a lovely breakfast, K and I watched some news on TV. One of the cab drivers had cheerfully told us that KLCC is the place to go to for shopping if we are interested in brands. Oh well, we decided we would give it a try. I mean, we don’t usually turn down such suggestions.

I am so glad we went there. I am not sure why K wouldn’t agree – he got such amazing trousers there! I shopped at Zara and other factory outlets and walked out proudly holding all those bags. Let me admit it honestly. I love shopping. I don’t even wish to be otherwise. I do have my moods and sometimes I want to shop only footwear, sometimes I want to shop for grocery, but the underlying commonality is that I usually like to shop. I am proud of my consistency.

There was some small scale fashion show happening inside the mall. Our camera’s battery was running really low, but K being K  wanted to capture the pretty girl he had sighted. Sigh. So, he rubbed the battery, made it come alive and clicked just one.

He managed to click 2 snaps of this model. By the time he could “capture” the other “cutie” (as he called the next model), the battery conked off again!  I felt sorry for K, really.

We had a light lunch of mini burger and lime soda and decided to return to the hotel for a nice nap.

We had seen that the Petronas Towers that KL is famous for, is right next to KLCC. So while K rubbed the battery and tried to charge it a bit (Yeah, his undergrad is in electrical and electronics engineering), I squinted in the sun.

When K managed to “charge” it a bit, all the way tsssking that it was not good for the battery’s life, I was just too happy that we will have atleast one non-food picture from our trip 😛

What ensued was this:

and lots of different angles and poses. I am so amazed that the battery lasted so long. What with K not being satisfied with any snap I clicked of his, and commenting on the lack of “crispiness”, the battery did very well, I must say.

We came back to the hotel and and slept blissfully. But on our way back, we chatted endlessly,  talked out head off with the friendly cab driver and I got over-awed by this huge metallic ball right at the end of our corridor –

We slept for 2 full hours and then headed out to the pool. I loved this day – it had sleep, travel, food, shopping, togetherness, laughter, water and photography, and ofcourse, the awesome breakfast (that must have signalled the start of such an awesome day). We did not do anything adventurous or explore any sport or have a packed tour. But, I loved the way this trip turned out. We spent most of the time lazing around and that is something we hadn’t done on such a mega scale in the recent getaways. I am glad we did what we did.

As usual we came back hungry from the pool. But we were smart. We ordered room service from the intercom service near the pool, about half an hour before we left. So, when we returned, we were greeted by this:

Some awesome multi-grain buns,

Rice and mushroom fry,

Yummilicious onion rings that I couldn’t get enough of !

and K’s egg noodles with prawn.

I write this after a sumptuous meal. I feel full and happy. We will be going back to Singapore tomorrow morning. By this time tomorrow, I will be on my bed at home. I love vacations. And I love the feeling of having to go back home to my bed and my favourite window.

I have had a lovely time with K. This is one vacation that we will never forget. It has been a true vacation – no sight seeing and absolutely not moved a muscle. Great food, amazing people, heavenly pool and bath and cherishable togetherness. Thank you God!!!!!

 

KL, you have been good. Promise me that you will stay this way. Okay? 🙂

P.S. That brings us to the end of KL tales, for now! Thanks for joining me on this ride 🙂

28 comments

  1. Jas · October 29, 2012

    And what a ride it has been… loved the waffle prank.. he sure knows how to press your buttons 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2012

      hehe thanks Jas ! 🙂 He does. The “perks” of having “understanding” partners 😛

  2. Lifesong · October 29, 2012

    Good food, lots of shopping and spending time together – perfect 🙂
    Loved reading about this vacation of yours Kismi 🙂

  3. Amit · October 29, 2012

    That was one smashing holiday. Glad that you had a good time.

  4. The Girl Next Door · October 29, 2012

    Wow, that sounds like a lovely day indeed. Just the kind of vacation day I have been craving for, lately. 🙂

    Loved the idea of massaging the camera battery to make it last a little longer. I might need to use it sometime. My camera batteries always conk out when I need to click something wonderful – sometimes the highlight of the entire trip. Sigh!

    • kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2012

      Thanks TGND ! 🙂 I hope you get to go on a super lazy vacation soon !
      Hehe, yeah, agree with the battery thingy ! Our woe too, inspite of carrying 2 batteries (both uncharged at times 😦 )
      🙂

  5. ashreyamom · October 29, 2012

    enjoyed reading the post, as much as u enjoyed the trip.. yummy food.. its been really long since i had idiyappam.. :P.. he he he poor guys couldnt get picks of the models??

  6. kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2012

    Hey AM ! Thanks so much 🙂 Ya, he couldn’t get any pics except this 😛 hehehehe

  7. Nithvin · October 29, 2012

    Thankfully I read your post just after my lunch. Otherwise all the yummy things you have described here would have made me crave really bad for them..Such a lovely and relaxing vacation you have had Kismi..Loved reading this without moving anywhere from here 🙂 Even this is pretty much relaxing ,no? 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2012

      Hehe !
      Yea Nithvin, it was indeed super relaxing! 🙂 And definitely, reading it from the comfort of your chair is definitely relaxing 🙂

  8. Bikramjit Singh Mann · October 29, 2012

    After picking up that huge boulder I am sure you will need all the food in the pictures for sure .. at least I would have needed to 🙂

    or did you eat first and then pick it up 🙂 he he he he

    Glad you had a great time … anymore gossip you are not telling us he he he he

    • kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2012

      hehe Bikram, you have such a funny bone! I did not pick it up inspite of the food 😦 It was so heavy ! There was a tiny one next to it as well 😛
      No more gossip 😛

      • Bikramjit Singh Mann · October 29, 2012

        he hehe but you tried na .. its not winning its the participating that matters .. he he he he 🙂

  9. Smita · October 29, 2012

    Your breakfast menu confused me that u were in India or KL 😀

    But look u had a great time & trust me sometimes breaks like these where you just rest are the bestest!

    • kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2012

      Smita ! So good to see you here again! 🙂
      hehe, there were so many Indian dishes, seriously!
      I can’t name some of the others as I don’t know them.
      Really, it was an awesome rest !

  10. Visha · October 29, 2012

    Gastronomic delights you encountered eh Toffee…every food you mentioned is so drool worthy..hope you get a similar haven the next time you jet-set-go 🙂

    There are certain weekends where we do nothing apart from eat-sleep-eat-sleep-eat-sleep. Ah..the bliss 😉

    • kismitoffeebar · October 30, 2012

      So true Visha! You know where I am jet-set-going next 😛
      Yea, it is bliss to not do anything!

  11. Swaram · October 29, 2012

    Wow! Let me go read the other parts now 🙂
    And u have left me craving for some onion rings now 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · October 30, 2012

      🙂 Did you did you?
      I know man ! I am always game for onion rings 😛

  12. Privy Trifles · October 29, 2012

    Whoa what an ending to such a wonderful trip…loved them all 🙂

    It seems you have had a great time as the pictures are beautiful!!

  13. Roshni · October 30, 2012

    hahah!! Love the pic of you with that metallic ball!! Never knew batteries could be charged in that way….should try it some time!! 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · October 31, 2012

      hehe, thanks Roshni! 🙂
      Yeah, I guess it is worth a try 😛

  14. Destination Infinity · October 31, 2012

    I wish I had a 5-star hotel in KL. I could have invited you to it, next time 🙂

    Destination Infinity

Leave a Reply

