Of dog-eared pages and hidden worlds

2012 is a very very special year for me. In many many ways. One of the highlights of this year would be that I started living here for a fair part of my life – here, as Kismitoffeebar.

My life here has come with a lot of perks and reading tops it. Be it reading fellow bloggers’ stories or getting inspired by their book reviews and waiting with bated breath to catch hold of it or getting involved in fun reading challenges (that concept is so new to me!) – I’d say that life’s good πŸ™‚ by God’s Grace!!!!!!!!!!

If you know me, you’d know what I would always place a bet for. Ya, that’s right – a book! Books take you to a world of their own, make it yours and then make it so hard for you to come out of them. I love such escapes for it almost makes it a great travel and a wonderful vacation. It is probably the best way to go vacationing when you cannot physically travel.

There is somehing about books, their smell, their fine print, their dog eared pages, their characters, their stories, their fights, their revolutions, their ability to suck you in…. That one cover that haunts you forever? That one protagonist who made you feel as if you were him? That one poem that made you long for a loved one? That one illustration that made you laugh till your stomach hurt? That preface that touched you like no other? That mesmerising photo of the author’s home on the back cover? That tempting review? That awe-inducing ability of the author to write pages and pages filled with beautiful words by his ability to look outside the window or report events from his locality? That one story that made you feel like it was your life?

Books can touch you in ways more than many.

There have been innumerable times when I have rummaged through papa’s cupboard and those huge solid iron trunks because they are filled with such treasures that I can get lost in them for days and weeks together – medals, swiss army knives, badges, more badges, medals, tea cups, a catapult, small hand notebooks and lots and lots of handwritten notes and many many books! Right from Robin Cook to Charles Dickens to John Grisham to Wodehouse to Robert Ludlum to Mario Puzo and what not! I love love digging into them, unearthing some unseen book or piece of paper and then get right down to business. I guess I started loving reading from that day – the first day I put my little podgy fingers in the trunk and pulled out a book, enchanted and totally in awe.

Right from Tinkle to Enid Blyton to now, I have had my nose buried in books though I never can get enough of it.Β  Having all the 7 days of the week designated for onlyΒ reading would probably still not suffice. Ah well! But all that does make life exciting. Everytime you look at a book shelf in a thrift store or visit that book colony in the most heavenly smelling street (coz’ it only smells of old paper) or are skimming through the neatly stacked book shelves in an air-conditioned book store – the feeling is the same! Euphoria!

I’d love to keep a track of the books I have read, here. So for 2012, I shall be keeping track of the booksΒ I have read so far (and can name with the help of my hippocampus) and continue to keep track of them and include them for the challenges completed.

Welcome to my reading room πŸ™‚

P.S. Just created a small header there. Books should be up in a while and I will try linking it to the reviews, if any. Please suggest and share your reading lists – would love to learn and share the miniscule word of books that I’ve managed to touch, read and feel, as yet.

Reference: Feature image

20 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · September 27, 2012

    Created a small header where? I don’t see any link?

  2. privy trifles · September 27, 2012

    Hey Toffee… thats a brilliant idea πŸ™‚

    I love your reviews as more often than not we happen to share the same tastes in reading.. Looking forward to your reading room for newer to-be-read lists!

    • kismitoffeebar · September 27, 2012

      Thanks so much privy πŸ™‚ it is always nice to know how similar our tastes can get !! πŸ™‚ I look forward to sharing too dearie !

  3. Titaxy · September 27, 2012

    sweet. i would love to read more reviews/recommendations from you.

    • kismitoffeebar · September 27, 2012

      Thankee titaxy πŸ™‚ look forward to the exchange πŸ™‚

  4. My Era · September 27, 2012

    Superb. Am loving it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. anisnest · September 27, 2012

    wishing you to add more book reviews in your reading room that will help people like me πŸ™‚ keep going..

    • kismitoffeebar · September 28, 2012

      Thanks so much Ani πŸ™‚ I’d lvoe ot know more about your reading lists too!

  6. Jas · September 28, 2012

    Will look forward to reading room πŸ™‚ the best..

    • kismitoffeebar · September 28, 2012

      Thanks Jas πŸ™‚ I’m so curious about your recos πŸ™‚

  7. Roshni · September 28, 2012

    Books were my first best friend. Looking forward to your reading list!

  8. The Girl Next Door · September 28, 2012

    That’s a great idea. Looking forward to your book reviews and recommendations. πŸ™‚

    Reading is one of the best things that happened to us. Period. I can’t have enough of it in my life!

    I never knew you took part in any reading challenges!

    • kismitoffeebar · September 30, 2012

      So true TGND ! Books are easily one of the best things that happened to us! Oh yes, I am in a couple of reading challenges. I had two small mini-posts on it πŸ˜› Well, I am still lagging behind but it is so much fun! πŸ™‚

  9. Swaram · September 29, 2012

    Awww nice πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Am looking forward too πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · September 30, 2012

      Thankee Swaram πŸ™‚ It feels awesome to share book experiences!

  10. Ritika · October 3, 2012

    Thats a really good step ! I am definitely looking forward to it. I have been thinking about the same thing since a long time, but well I only read ebooks these days πŸ˜›

    Carrying heavy bulky books is really difficult 😦

Leave a Reply

