Catching up on some reading

Heylo folks,

Hope you have all been doing very well πŸ™‚

I just finished reading a couple of books and thought it fair to keep you all updated and do my fair share of campaigning for the books πŸ˜›

The first one is by P.G. Wodehouse – Big Money. Before I tell you a bit about the book, I must warn you of my bias here. I am a big big worshipper of Wodehouse. I think it is partially, well, majorly attributable to the fact that myΒ papaΒ is also a big fan and has the Jeeves collection from army days. I have not read all of his books as yet but the few I have read make me a fan of his wit and untouchable sarcasm. And he writes such happily happy novels; absolutely light reads and nothing can go wrong (not so far) and I love that about him. He can pick up mundane conversations and then make the language so humorous and dripping with a touch of that sarcastic humour that I can’t seem to get enough of.

Before I say the same things again and again, let me get on with the book.

Big Money is all about Berry Conway and Lord Biskerton also known as Biscuit (how cute, sigh!). So, these guys are basically from the same school, once Β inseparables who meet by chance and they share their dreams of making big money. One would think that Lord Biskerton with all that prefix is already rolling in money. But predictably, that’s not the case. Berry on the other hand has been left with stocks and shares from imaginary companies by an once-rich aunt. Berry and Biscuit have different dreams and define ideal lives very differently with the common objective being, making some decent money to make their dreams real.

An opportunity presents itself when Berry’s employer Frisby, a really short tempered man is pestered by his sister to find a chaperon for her daughter, Ann Moon. Berry jumps at it and recommends Biscuit’s aunt, Vera for the job. But Ann’s entry and Frisby’s interest in Berry’s non-existent copper mine spark off a delectable tale.

You know what I like about Wodehouse? He always ensures that his tales are never never boring at any part. I loved the way the characters converse in true British or American styles. I love the way I could imagine Biscuit or Berry and actually sip coffee with them.

It also took me back to the days when I would rummage Papa‘s entire wardrobe of books and look at the brown coloured, dog-eared Wodehouse books. Getting a bit emotional, I mentally thanked for the kind of family I have that always encouraged me to read and the husband who never ever complains about buying me a whole set of books even when there are dozens unread.

Makes life a lot beautiful, doesn’t it? These li’l treasure troves of happiness. Or rather, big money.

Okay. No, that’s not the end. I have another very different book to share. This one was also absolutely entertaining and is also made into a movie with Anne Hathaway and Meryl Streep. Any guesses?

Yay! you got it right – The Devil Wears PradaΒ by Lauren Weisberger.

 

The story revolves around Andrea Sachs (Andy) who has graduated from Brown and wishes to get into the publishing world. She dreams of making it to The New Yorker.Β As she goes about sending out resumes left, right and centre, she gets a surprise interview call from Elias-Clark group for the post of Junior Assistant to Miranda Priestly, the editor-in-chief for a fashion magazine called Runway. She bags the job. Initially, though she is skeptical of the job, her inner voice gets drowned in what everyone around her seems to echo – “A million girls would die for your (Andy’s) job”. Moreover, Miranda is her ticket to The New Yorker.

Very soon, she finds herself a part of a gruelling work regime with the capricious and never helpful Miranda subjecting her to unimaginable tasks. It does not help that nobody is willing to speak against Miranda either. Miranda isΒ reveredΒ and everyone, almost everyone seems to find it an honour to be able to be of some service to her. It does not help that Andy has access to the company’s credit card and can literally polish off all brands with ease. Unable to accustom herself to the servile nature of the job, with aggravating personal relationships that are suffering more with each passing day, Andy bears it all just to be able to make it to The New Yorker.

But how long will she bear it before it snaps? Certain parts are predictable but that does not make it any less entertaining. Go read this if you enjoy this story line.

What have you all been reading lately? Looking at all the books does make one thankful to life, right? There is so much to catch upon. Phew! πŸ™‚

33 comments

  1. Jas · July 27, 2012

    I saw Devil Wears Prada, the movie and I can watch it again. I bet the book is better because mostly movies don’t do full justice to the content.

    • kismitoffeebar · July 27, 2012

      Jas, I think like you too – wrt to books always being better than movies. Infact, I kept wondering how they would have editted the sub-stories in the movie. I want to watch it – have heard good things about it ! πŸ™‚

  2. KP · July 27, 2012

    PGW was my favourite decades back when I was young.I am no more into fiction.
    But the reviews are compelling and would make one go in search of the books

    • kismitoffeebar · July 27, 2012

      Ah, such joy to meet a PGW fan πŸ™‚
      Thanks KP πŸ™‚

  3. The Girl Next Door · July 27, 2012

    Sadly, I haven’t read any PGW. I own a couple of books by him, but have never been able to finish even one. Call it my fear of classics!

    I read The Devil Wears Prada a long time ago, and enjoyed it thoroughly. It is predictable in parts, yes, but very well written and an enjoyable read. I am yet to see the movie, though,

    • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

      Woopie ! I just saved your comment from spam lady πŸ™‚ Oh, do try it sometime TGND. You may like it πŸ™‚
      Ya, true. That book is like an encyclopedia of the brands ! πŸ™‚

  4. Bikramjit Singh Mann · July 27, 2012

    I have seen the movie devil wears prada.. thats about it , not read any of the books ..

  5. Srinivas Sundaram · July 27, 2012

    Wow Kismi… am a big fan of Wodehouse too and the subtle sarcasm tipped british humour that marks his writing. I have just finished reading 3 PGW books in the last one month – Love among the Chickens, Damsel in Distress and The Little Warrior (also titled as Jill the Reckless). Reading your (really good) review above motivates me to start writing reviews of PGW books too πŸ™‚

    Haven’t read the prada book, but have watched the movie. There are a few book/movie combinations that I have gone through in the past…and just like you have concluded above, I too found the book usually better than the movie. Have a feeling that it might be the case here too.

    • kismitoffeebar · July 27, 2012

      Heylo !

      Another PGW fan – yay yay ! I know what you mean – pls go ahead and write those reviews _ I’d love ot read them. I haven’t read any of these 3 books. I have a new one pending to be read. It looks like one enticing piece of gulab jamoon now (because I don’t like brownies).
      Yeah, I hear you about book/movie combos πŸ™‚

  6. pixie · July 27, 2012

    I’m a huge huge fan of P.G Wodehouse!! I love the character of Jeeves!! its nice to find another fan!! πŸ™‚

    And I didn’t like Devil Wears Prada and the movie is worse… it kind of comes off by giving the message that successful, ambitious women cant have a decent family life!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 27, 2012

      Yay to the PGW fanclub πŸ™‚
      Ashoooo, I never thought of it that way. I was just hoping Andy slaps Miranda sooon sooooon, that’s all.

  7. Ritika · July 27, 2012

    Devil wears Prada is my ultimate favourite !

    You should read Chasing Harry Winston by Lauren only,you will love it

    • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

      Hey Ritika ! That’s great to hear πŸ™‚ I must catch up on that title now. Thankee πŸ™‚

  8. Titaxy · July 27, 2012

    I love love love Wodehouse! I can read his books over and over, laugh out loud at his sarcasm and humor. Nobody can beat him when it comes to that πŸ™‚ I haven’t read this particular book though, it goes on my wishlist and I’m sure getting to it soon.

    • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

      Isn’t it? That’s exactly how I love him too ! To be able to read him over and over and laugh over and over !:) I do hope you enjoy it as much as I did πŸ™‚

      • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

        And a big big welcome here Titaxy :))

  9. Privy Trifles · July 27, 2012

    Devil Wears Prada is truly fun to read and watch, as always πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

      Ah, you’ve watched it too Me ? Super nice to hear that ! πŸ™‚

  10. Destination Infinity · July 27, 2012

    Aha, all these reviews tempt me to go back to fiction. But I will not. I will stick to non-fiction because that’s what I like to read these days. I too agree that books are better than movies… I read a few books after I finished watching the movies and guess what – the books were much more interesting even though I knew the plot and the ending! But yeah, it was many years ago. I like non-fiction books (like autobiographies) that are written in a gripping style, like fiction. But there are very few books like that!

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

      hehehehehe – I hope you do read some fiction again too DI πŸ˜›
      Oh yes yes, it is so much ingrained inside my head now that I feel that no matter how good the movie, the book is always better πŸ˜› Ya, I love autobiographies written in a gripping style too πŸ™‚ But I don’t think I can stop reading fiction ever !

  11. aame · July 28, 2012

    Have seen the Prada movie and really enjoy it ..love Meryl Streep u know πŸ˜‰ As per the books lots of orders comng flipkart’s way next yr πŸ˜‰ Keep up with this ! Love to learn about great books and movies !

    • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

      Ah, I really kind of knew you would have watched the movie πŸ˜› I like Meryl Streep too πŸ™‚ But I haven’t watched this one yet ! I am like that about flipkart too and totally know how you feel ! I will share everytime I can πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement dearie!

  12. Smita · July 28, 2012

    I have so many woodehouse fans around me that I need to read him ASAP, yes don’t be shocked I am yet to read any of his books πŸ™‚ will do so soon πŸ™‚

    Read All Lauren Weisberger books but this one is the best πŸ™‚ even the movies based on it good πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · July 28, 2012

      Yay yay ! Pls do Smita and I will so look forward to hearing you write about him πŸ™‚ I must catch up with all of the other books by Lauren πŸ™‚

  13. sm · July 28, 2012

    nice read
    like the pic

  14. Visha · July 30, 2012

    I have never read a book by Wodehouse, but I remember I short fiction of his which I read in some journal..I was impressed by Jeeves ofcourse πŸ˜€

    Devil wears Prada – I neither read the book, nor saw the movie 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · July 30, 2012

      Visha, then , if Jeeves impressed you, I would recommend a full fledged Wodehouse devouring session for you when you can πŸ™‚
      Devil wears Prada is entertainment – go on catch hold of it sometime πŸ™‚

  15. greenboochi · July 30, 2012

    I have never read Wodehouse… may be its time for me to start now? I know I can take your word.. I have actually bought all the books you recommend here, this one would also be brought home soon πŸ™‚

    Devil Wears Prada – neither watched it nor read it. think I should get the book first.. never was satisfied with the movies made from books. somehow they dont do the full justice.. the details that I would imagine, dwell and enjoy through the book would somehow be missing in the movie!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 30, 2012

      Gb Gb Gb Gb, you bought the books? Thankieeee πŸ™‚ huuuuuuuuuuugs πŸ™‚ I am so happy that you are reading them. For Wodehouse, maybe you must try getting hold of some short fiction first and then move to this if you like his style. I will email you if I can find some short short online by him πŸ™‚
      Ya, I love reading books first as well for pretty much the same reason πŸ™‚

  16. techie2mom · July 30, 2012

    I love PGW books, especially the Jeeves and wooster ones πŸ™‚ i have many of them in my collection and recently started the Mulliner series as well πŸ™‚
    I read Devil wears Prada and found it entertaining, though i didn’t like the end of the story, though it was positive it was not perfect 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · July 30, 2012

      Yay! It is always so nice to meet a PGW fan πŸ™‚ Wow, your collection sounds enviable πŸ™‚ I am yet to read any of the Mulliner series as well.
      Ya, The Devil Wears Prada is sheer entertainment. And I kind of agree about the ending. It was not perfect.

Leave a Reply

