A thing of beauty and a joy forever :) – 1

When John Keats talked of a thing of beauty being a joy forever, he was probably referring to those beautiful, charming, cherishable and thousands-of-wonderful-memories-come-flooding-back nostalgic moments.

I wish to share such bootiful sights with you all. Food, dresses, shoes, coins, places, handshakes, waterfallss, old trains, chocolate wrappers – anything and everything!

These are sights that I treasure and will always hold close to my heart for they come with strong ties and are reminiscent of love and hence, beauty.

Like my first batch of jamoons, a couple of weeks back –

that were not anywhere near what ma makes but looked and smelled of real jamoons, had a small part of uncooked core just the way we love it and we could hardly contain our excitement.

Or, the amazing Turkish tea, that we keep going back for in one of the most authentic Turkish Cuisine restaurants along –

 Beach Road.

Or, that game of jenga that we always are eager to open and wait expectantly for some company and keep record how big a tower we built, and also secretly keep track of who was responsible for our downfall (literal!)-

Or, the pride that a fruit bowl on our dining table exudes, making me love it when I pass by every single time –

 Or, the green of the palak paneer signalling that even though you goofed up and made modifications (to what Tarla Dalal had to say), it IS going to be alright –

And just when you gush  and call the both your mothers and tell them what a cook you are discovering yourself to be,  K decides to cook one weekend and does not let me come anywhere near the kitchen and puts me to shame in one afternoon with –

heavenly paneer masala that he says is his secret invention.

All I know is that he managed to use both of my shiny looking yellow and red capsicum that was making my fridge look beautiful.

I licked off the pan because neighbours were not looking anyways. He decides to rub in the fact that he is endowed with better culinary skills and has an instinct for choosing and inventing dishes and all that (he said all that) with –

 yummy yummy yummy yummy aloo chaat

and

I tried uploading the collage Scribby made for me. It just fails to upload. So please check here. It was so absolutely wonderful of her to make that for me! 🙂 

I feel so overwhelmed for what she has done for me, because it is just SO me! Thank you Scribby!

And, will I keep looking at all these pictures forever and ever and smile and  experience bliss ? Heavens YES!

Because, a thing of beauty is a joy forever.

42 comments

  1. Visha · July 12, 2012

    Yummy

    Slurrp

    Bang

    Where’s the knife

    Yummy

    Whoa…double yummy

    Zing and tang

    Gobble, gobble

    *****************

    Got it 😉

    P.S You did not receive my mail 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      Thanks Visha 🙂 All yours !
      I did and replied as well 🙂

  2. greenboochi · July 12, 2012

    me likes! me likes! me likes! where do I start…tell me? How can you put up so many pictures of heavenly food and that too when I am knee deep in work? My focus has now shifted to the evening dinner that I must cook, at least to make up for all the pictures I am seeing here 😀

    Awesome Awesome stuff I must say.. I love the jamuns this way. Amma never could get jamuns right, the way they show it on ads. I have grown up looking those jamuns that look like yours.. appearance doesnt matter for me… all I want is that taste 😀

    Palak paneer looks yumm! And did K say all of it? You wont believe but 2 weeks back S said the same words.. He said he would prepare dinner and wouldnt let me come anywhere near the kitchen.. all i knew was he was trying to make pasta.. that too with the pack that I had preserved for something else. my worry increased with every passing minute. When I took a look at the pasta.. it was no way near the regular one. There was something secret about its taste.. I gobbled down everything he had put on my plate and I should admit it was very tasty. Only after going into kitchen, I knew he used peanut paste!!!! yes yes 🙄 when questioned, he says he invented the dish, unlike me who would go about the traditional recipes.. gah!

    K’s paneer masala looks yumm too 🙂 I am so craving for aloo chat right now.. I tell you Kismi.. this is not fair at all.. to tempt me like this!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      hehehehe That should motivate you enough to bring you here 🙂
      I will make those jamoons for you, come off 🙂
      S said that too? hehe. so cool of him ot use peanut paste – for all the guesses, I’d never have thought of it ! Maybe they cook once in a bluemoon and we hardly get a chance to sit and eat what is already cooked, that we find everything yummy 😛 That’s mean of me to say that. Some DO cook really well 🙂

      Aloo chaat was awesome ! 😛 come off!

  3. Jas · July 12, 2012

    yummmy really. and btw, didn’t understand the codeword at the end.. what scribby did for you.. 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      Thanks Jas 🙂 Oh, no code word. I think Scribby’s collage for me did not get posted owing to file size. I just posted and ran off to attend something. Scribby made a collage of my “About me’ section. It is there in the Oh Me- Under the chocolate wrap. Sorry for the confusion 🙂

      • Jas · July 13, 2012

        This is sooooooo cute… 🙂 lovely collage.

  4. Atrocious Scribblings · July 12, 2012

    You seemed to have missed plurals – things – beauties – delicacies :D.

    Those pics look so enticing – I can hear them begging and pleading with me to take a bite. Completely echo your sentiments on the Turkish Tea – we get unlimited supply of Chai (that´s what its called in Turkey as well btw) for free at the Turkish eateries here in Germany – you must try the Dürum´s and the Falafels if you get an opportunity sometime.

    Lovely compilation this one, reminds me that I should go home sometime soon.

    Cheers 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      hehe
      Ah, you get unlimited Turkish chai ! Whoa! You lucky lucky man ! I have had the falafels (I like them ) and also the humus 🙂 Haven’t tried Durums – I will soon!

      Yes yes, home calling! 🙂 Thanks so much AS 🙂

  5. Destination Infinity · July 12, 2012

    The paneer masala looks best of all… I don’t know what tastes best of all, perhaps the same? 😛

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      Paneer masala looks best of all? Lucky K. My jamoon ? Well, ya, paneer masala, aloo chaat tasted awesome! 🙂

  6. Me · July 12, 2012

    Lovely pictures…..really tempting and mouthwatering… 🙂

  7. Bikramjit Singh Mann · July 12, 2012

    not coming to this blog again.. I am left drooling and hungry and famished
    NOT FAIRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      really? That’s harsh 😦 hehe
      Drooling and hungry and famished – we can do something about it if you drop by 🙂

      • Bikramjit Singh Mann · July 13, 2012

        🙂 fir theek hai.. then i will come ot this blog everytime

  8. KP · July 12, 2012

    You should have put a big caption
    Beware Foodies,
    You come to this post at your risk
    We are not responsible for your drooling

    It was bit unfair to put all the items in one go when even the gulab Jamuns left me salivating and what to say of others
    Beautful pictures.K’s work looks best!!!!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      hehe – ya, I will remember the caption next time KP 🙂

      I know I know everyone seems to like K’s work. I showed him all your comments and he was like ” I like your blog. I love the comments more” 😛 Men! 😛

  9. My Era · July 12, 2012

    Superb post…loved every click of it 😉
    Eagerly waiting for recipe tips on all yummy home-cooked delights 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      Thanks ME 🙂 Ya, I do plan to share them. Just a bit tied for the month. I plan to share them in some form maybe from august sometime 🙂 Thanks a lot ! that DOES encourage me bigtime to put up my recipes 🙂

  10. The Girl Next Door · July 12, 2012

    Drool drool drool drool
    That paneer butter masala and those jamuns look super yummy!! 🙂

    I want the recipe for the paneer butter masala and palak paneer pls… 🙂 You got to send me some recipes from your last post too!

    BTW I think there has been some goof-up towards the end of the post. What did Scribby do for you? :0

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      TGND , thanks so much! 🙂 He he, yes yes, I know i have impending recipes to share. i will, I may come up with a means of sharing them. Just need some time 😛 I know I should have emailed you. Sorry! 😦 Thought of an idea and then looks like I can do it only from August or so.
      Oh, yes, sorry for the confusion. I uploaded th post and had to run to attend something. And well, by the time I checked, there Scribby’s incomplete section. Scribby made a collage for me for the “about me” section. It corrected now with a link. I cannot upload it here. Ooooops! Some goof -up 🙂

  11. pixie · July 13, 2012

    ok.. Now, I feel like eating jamoons! and the other dishes look heavenly!
    I’m gonna go and have dinner now! 😛 you made me extra hungry with all those yummylicious food pics! 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      hehe, go on and enjoy your dinner 🙂 Thanks so much Pixie I hope you are feeling better now 🙂

  12. Arch · July 13, 2012

    Lovely! More than anything, I heart the idea! Brilliant. ( ok, i am kidding – i love jamuns)

    We are in Singapore, too tiny an island not to meet up, eh? Shall we, toffee?

    • kismitoffeebar · July 13, 2012

      Hellloooo ! 🙂
      Danku ! We must meet up ! Yay! Lemme shoot you an email this weekend. Wokay?
      Oh, I absolutely love jamoons. Since we are on the island, I would love making them for you sometime 🙂

  13. Srinivas Sundaram · July 13, 2012

    I get the feeling that you two are really made for each other.. in more ways than one :-)…the latest indication being this foodie and master chef roles that both of you seem to have within…

    Congratulations :-)…and keep posting these (literally) drool-able posts.

    • kismitoffeebar · July 14, 2012

      Thanks so much Sri ! 🙂 Ya, we both are bigtime foodies 🙂
      I will definitely share these drools ! 😛
      Thanks for coming by 🙂

  14. Ritika · July 13, 2012

    Why did I read your post in the middle of the time ,I am hungry now 😦

    PS : Where did you get Jenga from ? The guys in ‘Big Bang theory’ always play this and I have been curious about it 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 14, 2012

      Jenga is available in Mustafa. Maybe ToyRUs may have it too ! You are in S’pore ?
      Yeah, the Big Bang Theory made us too curious and want to play it. Now, we want the rock band for our Xbox 😛
      I hope you got hold of something to eat 🙂

      • Ritika · July 14, 2012

        I am not in Singapore 😦

        Will try to search for it online,atleast now I know the name. That rock band was so cool,and remember 3D chess ? 😀

      • kismitoffeebar · July 14, 2012

        Ya you will find it online mostly 🙂 ya of course 3D chess. And rock paper scissors lizard Spock :p

  15. Scribby · July 15, 2012

    Loved the glass in which that tea is served…

    and my my..you are making me feel shy now…don’t make it sound big re…just a little effort to bring on a smile on your face 🙂 KT you are cute,hugs!

    • Scribby · July 15, 2012

      and now that I’ve seen so much food and the last pic is of my fav dish-Bhelpuri…I’m right away making it and what else..eating it 😛

  16. mac duggal prom dresses · July 16, 2012

    I ¡®m really inspired with your writing talents as well as with the layout for a weblog. Is this a paid topic or did a person modify it on your own? Anyway stay up the excellent good quality writing, it will be rare to look a wonderful blog this way one these days..

  17. aame · July 18, 2012

    what do i comment 😦 no words !!! only sigh !!! Gulab jamuns !!! Kab banaoongi kab khaaongi khilaungi…photo uthaungi…dikhaungi….aaah so much work !!! 🙂 🙂

  18. lifesong · July 18, 2012

    I am Droooooling big time looking at all that food 🙂
    I can imagine the house filled with the aroma of hot gulab jamuns. Heavenly!! 🙂 … and the paneer dishes look sooo.. yummy 🙂
    I have never had Turkish tea… it looks so good in those curvy glasses 🙂 I am sure it tastes really good. 🙂
    And Scribby is such a sweetheart 🙂 Loved that collage 🙂 It goes so well with what you have written 🙂

  19. Pingback: Scrumptious Sofra! « Kismitoffeebar

Leave a Reply

