Of happiness that reinforcement brings :)

I am here to do what I do best. Show off ! What else?

Before I started blogging, I never knew how people pass on awards. Do they design it? Or how do they know whom to give it to? How lucky are those who get them !

As a child, I used to hanker after the pencil boxes and books that were given away at the prize distribution. I loved collecting certificates and putting them in the certificate folder with papa, ma and Chintu sitting alongside. It symbolised a wonderful family ritual for me. I loved the way papa pursed his lips, ma had a constant smile as papa tucked Chintu’s and my certificates in our respective, bound folders. We would see how many more empty slots were left and then dream of winning competitions next year. Sometimes, we would even think of participating in Ikebana – something we never got to do though!

It gives a strange happiness, doesn’t it? I am not saying that prizes mean everything. Participation is very very important. Enjoying the process is THE thing to do.

But somehow, I wanted those prizes. I did not cry if I did not get them or anything of that sort. But I liked the feel of going on the stage, I liked attending the rehearsals for the “bow”, I wanted our school house (mine was “Shasthri House”) to win the cup, I detested the act of “giving up” and I always dreamt that as Chintu and I walked up stage, somewhere my parents would wipe a tear like it happened in the movies. I can be so cheesy, no?

Even now, you can see me participating in the quizzes they conduct in malls on Environment Day  or during Breast Cancer Awareness month. They give hand washes, pink hairbands, tissues, vitamin tablets etc as prizes. But I always plead and grovel with K to participate even if we are super tired. It makes me feel so alive! Now, if there is any competition, like the ones for Children’s day, K urges me to go and participate. They turn me down laughing and looking at me like as though I am forlorn puppy.

So, when I visited one of the bloggers whose writings I love and respect, a blogger who writes on a wide array of interesting topics with a perspective that I can relate to, I was in for a happily happy surprise! The lady none other than Jas who maintains a lovely and inspiring blog felt the same about mine too ! 🙂

Yes yes, she was being super nice, I know 🙂 But who doesn’t want that? So I grabbed them with my two outstretched arms and brought them safely to my space here.

And now for the M-moment!

and wait, there is more!

See my precious? Aaaaah !

Now you know why I am all happliy crazy. Or, crazily happy.

But well, nothing comes without a price, does it? 

As per the rules, let me share 7 things about myself.

1. It is K’s birthday tomorrow and that’s all I can pretty much think of now.

2.  I can’t decide what is cuter. A doggy’s shiny round ball marble-like eyes that look at you with love and devotion or its amazingly cute nose that looks like a detachable button.

3. I am going home to India in August – that’s like next month !!! wheeeeeeeeee! Tickets booked. The dates and time discussed over 10 hours on phone with ma, pa and Chintu. Every ping on gmail with my family is all about that one week I will be home in India.

4. I want to bake. I want to bake. If not for yummy bread, I want to have that smell of baked stuff in my kitchen. And no, I won’t burn it. Stop laughing!

5. I want to meet Ruskin Bond. Please please please please. I missed meeting Roald Dahl and ofcourse Rudyard Kipling. Please atleast Bond. Please.

6. I am finally going to go ga-ga over Flipkart. Ma thinks I must devote a significant part of my luggae to molaga pudi et al. and Pa thinks I must carry movies and Chintu thinks I must take books and some Hero pens he will buy for me as part of a long-time bet. So I paid extra and booked an entire 37 kgs for my trip that I will anyay exceed by another 10 kgs (ya, I loot my family like that!) and the lady in B’lore airport will ask me to either give up my dosa maav or pay 1000 Rupees for the maav that cost 150 rupees. I will cry and slowly tranfer it from the trolley to my handbag and walk in proudly. Ya, I am the notorious one who bypasses rules.  How cool !

7. It’s K’s birthday TOMORROW ! His first b’day after our wedding. Did I tell you that already? Really, that’s all that’s on my mind right now! 🙂

And now, I’d like to pass these to the following wonderful bloggers for they are all  lovely and inspiring in their own way:

http://editionsofgreenboochi.wordpress.com/

http://www.destinationinfinity.org/ 

http://theerailivedin.wordpress.com/

http://thegalnxtdoor.wordpress.com/

http://zackandme.wordpress.com/

http://thisandthatmomentsoflife.wordpress.com/

http://readingthroughrsmind.wordpress.com/

http://archieunplugged.blogspot.sg/

http://www.thedailymoo.com/

http://imsri.blogspot.sg/

http://mydearu.wordpress.com/

http://mytakeoneverything9.wordpress.com/

http://techie2mom.wordpress.com/

http://lifeissongoflove.wordpress.com/

I know my list is like never ending ! But happiness only increases when multiplied, right?

Make a great week and have fun, you all!

47 comments

  1. Arch · July 9, 2012

    Thanks 🙂 For someone who has not blogged for a month and more, this award makes me want to push all work away and write. Means much 🙂

    Yes toffee, you can get dosa maav, ready made idlis also. I do all this all the time. Reading your post brings back all the joy of going to India! Yaay for you!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Yay ! Yes, come back ,ya?
      My pleasure Arch! Yay to me! 🙂

  2. The Girl Next Door · July 9, 2012

    He he. I have to say again that you are JUST LIKE ME, in a lot of ways. This post, yet again, highlights that. 🙂

    Thank you so much for the award. 🙂

  3. Visha · July 9, 2012

    This is like a triple bonanza for me, yaay

    Lovely I understand..but how come you find me inspiring Toffee?? 😛 😛

    Dosa maav in your handbag 😆

    Shoot up an email now, with your itinerary 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Your loveliness is inspiring 🙂 not to forget the easy but tasty recipes !
      Will email itinerary once I make one. 😛

      • Visha · July 10, 2012

        Make it now 😛

      • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

        hehe okay okay not today okay 😛
        Also, i have some University work and as soon as they confirm, I will too 🙂

  4. Scribby · July 9, 2012

    congratulations KT 🙂 and thank you thank you 😀

    Wishing K a very happy b’day from me,in advance 🙂 I’m sure you gonna rock his special day 🙂 enzoi!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      My pleasure Scribby! 🙂
      I will wish him and ya ya , we will rock our socks 😛

      • Scribby · July 15, 2012

        so how was the buddday ? 😀

  5. lifesong · July 9, 2012

    Congrats! Congrats! Well deserved. Have started reading you recently and I do find your blog lovely and inspiring 🙂
    I guess your current mood is lots of excitement for K’s B’day and India trip 🙂 Enjoy 🙂
    And thank you so much for passing it on to me 🙂 Truly honored 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Thankee lifesong 🙂
      My pleasure!
      Ya, you guessed my mood absolutely right! 🙂

  6. Bikramjit Singh Mann · July 9, 2012

    you are going to india OH MY GODDDDDDDDddd.. take me take me take me take me .. do i need to say that a few more time .. and PLEASE toooo

    I so SOOOOOOOOOO wnat ot go but I might go too in august 🙂
    congrats on the awardsssssssssssss…

    and congrats to everyone you forwarded toooo

    and Wishing “K” a very happy birthday for tomorrow ..

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Thankee Bikram. Come off 🙂
      I do wish you get home in August too !

      I iwll wish K 🙂 Thanks so much again!

  7. techie2mom · July 9, 2012

    Hey Congratulations 🙂
    So what’s the plan for K’s b’day?!? Bake a cake perhaps?!
    And are you coming up north for the Ruskin bond pilgrimage?! Then you have to come home and as promised, i’ll make dhokla for you 🙂
    “They give hand washes, pink hairbands, tissues, vitamin tablets etc as prizes. But I always plead and grovel with K to participate even if we are super tired.” this is super cute 🙂

  8. techie2mom · July 9, 2012

    And thanks a lot for the award 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Hehe, thanks dearie 🙂 Thanks a lot! If I embark on that pilgrimage, I am definitely coming over and will shamelessly remind you of dhoklas 😛
      Can’t bake 😦 We did cut a cake. I have planned somethings – I will share them later 🙂 He reads the blog sometimes 😛

  9. My Era · July 9, 2012

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! on the India trip being finalised and congratulations on being awarded 🙂

    Pssst…one secret, since I was very young I too always felt fascinated by #2

    Begin baking Kismi, it’s way easier than Indian curries and if time tested recipes are followed to the T, you can seldom go wrong in baking as compared to other ways of cooking.

    A very Happy Birthday to K in advance, hope you guys have a blast 😀

    Thank you sweets for passing on the award to me 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Same pinch on *2 then! 🙂
      Ya, I have like this basic thingy that I won in some lucky draw. can’t risk K’s cake with that. We cut a cake already though 🙂 And I have some plans. 🙂
      My pleasure! 🙂
      Thank YOU !

  10. Deeps · July 9, 2012

    Congrats coongrats congrats Kismi, for the awards!

    Its K’s bday tomrrw? Wish him a very happy b’day from my end, will you? Hope you two have planned something fun for the day! 😀 Enjoy!

    And you’re going to India and treat yourself to molaga podi..yumm! Just have my share of podi and other goodies to,ok? Else you are going to be barred from entering the blogosphere 😛 😈

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Deps! Yay yay ! I will definitely have molagapudi on your behalf 🙂
      And all other goodies !
      Ya, we plan to have super fun 🙂
      Thanks and I will wish him on your behalf pakka. i will show him all these messages!
      you are so sweet 🙂

  11. Jas · July 9, 2012

    Congrats congrats 🙂 aur itni taarif….

  12. Jas · July 9, 2012

    oh and A very happy birthday to K. so wt is the surprise?

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Thank YOU Jas 🙂 itni tarif? aji humne toh bas khulke dil ki baat kehdi 🙂
      Thanks, will convey wishes to K 🙂 Will share how it went! 🙂

  13. Me · July 9, 2012

    Congratulations!!!

    This post is really cute…. Wow… the excitement about both the India trip and K’s birth is sooooo much evident in your words that it rubs in. Even I am feeling excited reading it right now for no reason whatsoever 🙂

    Wishing K a very happy birthday in advance….and do have a safe trip. Have fun and enjoy…

    BTW Moolgapodi is my favourites too…

    And lastly congrats to all the winners too!!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Thanks so much Privy ! 🙂 I really am excited and you guessed my mood so right! 😀
      Thanks so much dear. all that means a lot to me 🙂 and yes, molagapudi is unbeatable! 😛

  14. Destination Infinity · July 9, 2012

    I got two awards after a long time… yayy… 🙂 You got it too… good All the best for the birthday splash tomorrow……

    Destination Infinity

  15. Pingback: My proud moment « Life is a Song of Love
  16. greenboochi · July 10, 2012

    Kismi Kismi… wish K a very very happy brithday on my behalf, will you? I am sure you guys are having loads and loads of fun!! keep a smile and enjoy you both of you. 😀

    yayyyy!! Yayyy!! Yayy!!! This is such a happy happy post… I can understand the excitement.. K’s bday and India trip…super! 🙂 Kismi is going to be in India… *doing a little dance (read shaking hands and legs :P)* Wish time flies soon now and I am as eager as you are for it to be August soon 😀

    LOL.. you would take dosa maavu in your handbag.. hahaha 😀 Dont leave it at any cost… you will love crispy dosas with molaga podi 😀

    Hey.. start experimenting on baking.. its very easy as ME mentioned.. you wont go wrong.. start with a basic sponge to gain that confidence.. I am sure you will rock!

    Before I forget.. it used to be a family ritual at my place too, to put the certificates into folders.. Its still fresh in memory.. of how I used to sit with my hand on dad’s lap.. seeing him put the certificate carefully into the folder.. aahhh.. sweet memories.. and I am glad we both have this in common too 🙂 🙂

    Finally Kismi, thankuuu so much for passing on the award to me! You are such a sweetie 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 10, 2012

      Huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuugs 🙂 arey arey !
      1. I will have a good b’day with K. I mean, K will have a good b’day with me.
      2. I will bring molagapudi. but you better email me. Till then KATTI.
      3. I will wish K and show your reply 🙂
      4. Rock is what I will get when I bake supposed bread. but I will try pakka 😛
      5. You too had similar moments? I knew it! How can there be a post where we don’t find something similar? 🙂
      Thanks Gb 🙂

  17. Phatichar · July 10, 2012

    Thanks a lot…touched. 🙂

    Please wish K a belated happy b’day on my behalf. Take care..

  18. sm · July 10, 2012

    more we spread happiness more we get return

  19. pixie · July 11, 2012

    ooh ooh! I get an award! yay!! Thank you!! 🙂

  20. KP · July 11, 2012

    Interesting post that brought a smile .Many happy returns of the day for K
    Seems a very short trip to India

    • kismitoffeebar · July 12, 2012

      Thanks a lot KP 🙂 I will pass on your wishes 🙂
      Ya, it is hsort but something 🙂

  21. Pingback: I am Grinning Away to Glory | R's Mom
  22. Pingback: My 100th Post and Award Time!! :) « From the Editions of Green Boochi
  23. aame · July 18, 2012

    Many many Happiness to the birthday boy !!! God bless u both !!!! I know am late…but wishes are never late right 🙂

    Thank u thank u thank u soooo much for the award aka love !!! Really makes me jump up with joy each time 🙂 Hopefully the lazy but excited me would do the post soon 🙂

    Waiting for the special birthday post !!!
    Cheers to celebrations and happy (India) times !!!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 18, 2012

      🙂 You deserve the award so much! 🙂
      Take your time and I will look forward to your post 🙂
      Thanks dearie 🙂
      Late never matters dearie! It is just teh thought, always 🙂

  24. Pingback: Three cheers | Zack and Visha
    • kismitoffeebar · September 19, 2012

      Yay! Congies 🙂
      You are super generous with your niceties mah lady! 🙂

Leave a Reply

