My favourite lines – 3 (Dead Poets Society)

This weekend, on Saturday, K asked me to watch this amazing movie – ” Dead Poets Society”. So we watched it together while having dinner.

I strongly urge you all to watch it. I will update it on my cinema corner as well. I don’t know if you will like it, but try it all the same.

This is a story of an English teacher inspiring his students to seize the day and make the most out of it. He ignites in them a love for poetry. But how does he manage to do that when the school is the alma mater to prospective Harvard and Yale students who come with a different set of ideals and dreams and priority? Will they love poetry? This is not too predictable. I thought he will end up doing just that – inspire them to love poetry and I would have loved it even it was just that.  But no. It goes beyond that. And for that, you must watch it yourself !

I loved the role of the English teacher, John Keating, essayed by Robin Williams. He says some of the most beautiful lines in the movie. I was so awed by his lines and the context and everything that I just had to share atleast 2 of them under My Favourite Lines series.

John Keating while sharing with the class about poetry and its significance. He asks the class to tear off the first chapter that says how poetry is to be evaluated. He describes poetry as passion and this is what he says in the most poignant manner. Oh, you must watch him while he says it! –

We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play *goes on* and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be? 

I loved it absolutely!

On the first day of his class, he takes the bewildered students out of the classroom, shows them the photo of the alumni and points to them and inspires them —

They’re not that different from you, are they? Same haircuts. Full of hormones, just like you. Invincible, just like you feel. The world is their oyster. They believe they’re destined for great things, just like many of you, their eyes are full of hope, just like you. Did they wait until it was too late to make from their lives even one iota of what they were capable? Because, you see gentlemen, these boys are now fertilizing daffodils. But if you listen real close, you can hear them whisper their legacy to you. Go on, lean in. Listen, you hear it? – – Carpe – – hear it? – – Carpe, carpe diem, seize the day boys, make your lives extraordinary. 

Have you watched this amazing movie? Did you like it? Did it move you in any special way? Did it remind you of something?

I leave you with this image –

Happy week folks! 🙂 🙂

25 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · July 2, 2012

    I wanted to see this movie, but haven’t got to doing it till now. Poetry is so beautiful, but the way it is taught in our schools makes us hate it. I guess our teachers are experts in making a drudgery out of beautiful things like poetry, history, etc. Any teacher who does not inspire their students is not a teacher at all. Fortunately, I have come across such teachers, but they are a very few. I must watch this movie. I still have hope in the concept that teachers can be inspiring.

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · July 2, 2012

      You are so right DI ! 🙂 Fortunately, I found my best English and in general language teacher in my parents 🙂 I learnt to love words and their dynamics and every little thing from them 🙂
      However, defining poetry to get the max. marks per question is ridiculous. Perspectives are not challenged or changed.
      Yes, such teachers though rare are very much there. Please do watch it. I have a feeling you will really like it!

  2. Privy Trifles · July 2, 2012

    I guess this was the same one which was remade into Hindi as Mohabattien starring SRK.

    Though I have not got a chance to see the original version from all that I read in this post I am really tempted to watch it soon! The lines you have shared are truly inspiring and mind blowing!!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      hey Privy,

      Thanks 🙂 Oh no no, this is not Mohabattein. I have watched Mohabbatein too. But this one if different. yes, SRK does inspire them to love “love” please watch this one – it is definitely different and very very poignant! 🙂

  3. The Girl Next Door · July 2, 2012

    Love the lines you have shared here! Simply beautiful!

    I have been wanting to watch this movie for, like, forever. Have heard loads of good things about it. Sadly, this is one of those things I never got around to doing. 😦

    Your movie posts are really inspiring me to catch up with all those films I always wanted to watch but never did. 🙂 Thank you!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      Awesome to hear that, TGND ! 🙂 Yes, I would recommend this to you bigtime too. Please watch it and soon, you will be raving about it ! 🙂

  4. Archana · July 3, 2012

    I love the movie! And especially how they’re taught the concept of Carpe Diem!
    🙂

  5. Jas · July 3, 2012

    I have watched this movie and I was really impressed by Robin Williams. I anyways like him but this movie took it one step further.

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      Ya Jas. I like him too but this one made me LOOOOOVE him 🙂

  6. greenboochi · July 3, 2012

    Kismi…… 🙂 I will surely try to catch up with this movie sometime… havent got a chance to watch it until now.. those lines are great!

    Your posts bring a lot of positive energy… and I am inspired to catch up with all those beautiful books and movies that I never got to read or watch… This is what I need right now and thanks for that dearie.. :):)

    I picked up the Wimpy Kid series last weekend and I must say I am not at all disappointed.. Loving every word, every line and every page of that book 🙂 🙂 I know I can always count on your reviews 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      Gbieeeeeeeeeee 🙂

      You made me so happy! realy? You liked wimpy Kid too? Super super super super 🙂
      I am glad we share similar likes 🙂
      This is a very touching movie. I am sure you will love it ! Catch it whenever you can or I can send you a torrent link if you don’t find it on TV or DVDs.
      Thanks dearie 🙂

  7. Visha · July 3, 2012

    Hmm…should catch up with this movie. Do you rent the DVDs or watch it online?

    I love poetry, and funny poems are the ones which I like the most. It takes a lot more creativity to pen down a poem than a prose, and to know its essence in Keating’s words – was lovely 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      We usually buy the DVDs from India or Malaysia. We also go to the theatres a lot. and we have subscribed to HBO on Demand and they have some movies out there that you can watch whenever you want! 🙂
      I think poem or prose, both require creativity and is probably like a niche, and am not sure if I know much there, yet. But yes, Keating’s essence and the way he delivers it, is beautiful!
      I am sure you will love this movie Visha 🙂 Do watch it whenever you can 🙂

  8. Phatichar · July 3, 2012

    Watched it long back… 🙂

    Catch ‘The world according to Garp’ 🙂

  9. Deeps · July 3, 2012

    No I havent watched the movie yet. Want to. I do remember seeing a clipping of the second scene you’ve mentioned here though. I love Robin Williams..an amazingly talented actor!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      That scene is amazing, no? If you get the context, even more spellbinding! 🙂 Glad you like him Deeps. I ahve begun to love him more 🙂

  10. lifesong · July 3, 2012

    Such beautiful description 🙂
    Just reading about it makes me want to watch it 🙂
    Will certainly try to watch this one 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      Thanks dearie 🙂 pls do watch it 🙂 🙂 I am sure you will fall in love with it 🙂

  11. Scribby · July 3, 2012

    haven’t watched but shall now 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 3, 2012

      Eeeeeks (in a good way)! I just read your review and return to see your comment 🙂
      Yay yay ! Pls do 🙂 Lovely movie 🙂

  12. aame · July 4, 2012

    Oh love that last scene where they stand up one by one on the bench in respect for their teacher and those boys night outs with torches and magazines !!! Robin Williams is such an evergreen actor !!

    • kismitoffeebar · July 4, 2012

      I looooooooooooooooooove that scene ! 🙂 So happy to know you like Robin Williams and have watched this!

  13. Leonard Marks · July 18, 2012

    great post

Leave a Reply

