Chinese New Year (2012) – Trip to Penang via Kuala Lumpur: Part 2

The journey so far: Part 1

The next morning we woke up to an amazing weather. I think it was nature’s way of telling us to go out there and enjoy. The weather and an upbeat mood in general saw L and I get ready in minutes. I mean, you’ll know the significance of minutes if you are a husband/boyfriend and have waited for your girlfriend/wife to get ready for a party. You’ll also know how champion-like it is to achieve this task in minutes, if you are a lady yourself.

Well, there wasn’t much getting ready anyways – just pull up something comfy and heading out. We had one helluva amazing breakfast. No, no pics sorry. I don’t click buffet breakfasts. I am busy soaking in on the sights. I mean, who does? With all that food infront you and with you secretly wondering whether the watermelon will last by the time you are done wtih your 4 course spread and whether the service will replace fresh watermelon, is enough to make you leave your camera in the room and just hurry down. We poured and literally gaffed down a great many glasses with juices in amazing hues – healthy greenish guava, enticing orange, refreshing lime and the ever-soothing watermelon and oh yes! the kingly mango. Wholemeal bread, tarts, muffins, raisin rolls, baked beans, stuffed potato peels, hashbrowms and the uncountable jams and cereals– Aren’t you just glad to be alive?

We then left for our day but not before washing all of that down with some amazing coffee. I don’t understand where I get all that apetite from. I sometimes wonder whether one day all of this will show (not that it isn’t already) and I will end up like one big balloon – the kinds you get in exhibitions. Not that it scares me or deters me from piling up on my plate, though. Ek hi toh zindagi hai yaar.

We hired an SUV and embarked on our journey to —–

This place was on our to-see list because it housed so many delights that really appealed to our senses. I did not imagine that I would get to see such heavenly spots here. The entrance looks like the entrance to any park or a trek path but in actuality, this turned out to be way more than that.

We first entered the mangrove. There were a series of steps escalating and leading us to different shelters with notice boards that spoke of the trees. We could hear the monkeys chatter in the woods and we sometimes had to clap our hands to keep them away from indulging themselves at our expense, when we walked amidst dense bushes.

K and I love catching tit-bits like these. There is a lot of emphasis there on growing trees with strong roots and how much can be done to alleviate the extent of damage caused by natural disasters, especially tsunami.

As we walked further, the tress got less dense and we could see a bridge.

This bridge leads upto small vessels and you can see a fleet of small ships there.

As we walked along further, they had made little wooden benches, under the trees and overlooking the pristine beach. I just cried. Tears welled up before I knew it. So much beauty and such a perfect spot to just spend days writing poems, mulling over looped thoughts and being carefree – that’s all I could think of.

And that very moment I decided that I will come back. I will come back someday and that I will save money to travel. I realized that’s what makes people quote “I want to travel the world” and that’s why it is such a coveted dream of every second individual I meet.

And then K clicked this when I was totally unaware and so it is a precious snap. I have no idea how long I will let it stay here. I am not comfy posting photos yet. For now, I will let it be.

It is an absolutely carefree, non-populated and pollution-free beach. I expected it to be brimming with tourists – but no! I could see the transparent gravel and could just sleep off on the sand and let the gentle waves nudge at me lovingly. I became all ooooh and aaaah and so poetic. I even gazed at K with such wanderlust in my eyes that he smiled knowingly and didn’t forget to dash back a “I knew you’d love it” look.

I never knew I would like beaches so much. I am a very mountain person. Maybe because the few beaches that I had been to were crowded and brimming with tourists? I don’t know.

Don’t these photos remind you of those heavenly sights you saw in movies? It even reminded me of Kaho Na Pyar Hai where Hrithik and Amisha get stranded on the island. When I said this to K, he laughed and patted on my head making me feel like a bunny. God!!!!!!!!!

I also spent a while on this exotic swing. It looked like this was just what the place needed – a swing!

Tell me – No matter what super fluffy cushion you have on your swing at home, no matter how precious a beanbag, a log of wood amidst the woods and with Lord Pennyson’s water water everywhere – isn’t that the definition for a perfect spot in all times?

As I sit back and reminisce about the swing and as my heart leaps in joy and gratitude to be born, I leave you all here only to return with more tales from Penang !

P.S. These photos are really close to my heart because of several reasons and the most important being K may have clicked a lot of them. I really will be very happy if any reader just so much as informs me before using them. Thanks much 🙂

45 comments

  1. techie2mom · June 28, 2012

    I still have to say that you take the cake 🙂
    But yes, the swing nook looks so heavenly, now only if it was the one where you can sit and enjoy a book with one those exotic drinks you mentioned, that would be like perfect 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Thankee so much ZM 🙂

      Ya, truly, I missed having a book. I did sit on it and drink water though 😛

  2. My Era · June 28, 2012

    Gorgeous ….that’s you and the beauty of nature falls distant second 😀
    I have to agree with you about the wooden swing in the woods 🙂
    As far getting ready in record time, I am usually the first one to be ready, everywhere, so I very well know what it feels like to wait 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Thanks ME 🙂 I am the distant second. I would recommend it to you anyway ME 🙂
      I imagined Pari playing with sand buckets. He he.
      You are the first to get ready ? Sigh. Sometimes I get delayed because I run here and there and end up getting yanked for being late. Else, I am a good girl.

  3. Destination Infinity · June 28, 2012

    The swing could have been slightly larger. Wood is fine for swings. How is the mud so white over there? I heard that it’s like that in the Caribbean/Hawaii as well. The photo of the white beach + blue waters + green small mountains is the best photo 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      He he DI. Yes it could have been larger maybe. But it did not matter that moment. It looked so beautiful and I saton it till people started shuffling their feet indicating we must go :p
      Yes sand was like that – white and not many shells even. White colour coz of limestone. Here is more http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sand
      Thanks DI 🙂

  4. sramya19 · June 28, 2012

    Kisme…Awesome lovely place..I’m almost tearing loking at the pristine beaches, the cozy wodden bench..and your lovely description..The moment I saw you picture, I went again to the beginning of the part-1 post and re-read and the images of you and K enjoying the vacation was going on in my vision..Lucky you and Touch wood..may you get to explore and enjoy the world!!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Thanks a big ton ramya for the lovely lovely wishes 🙂 it was a beautiful experience, one that I would recommend to everyone 🙂
      I will try my best to explore as much as I can and bug you all with my tales 🙂

  5. Visha · June 28, 2012

    Tell you what – become the tourism brand ambassador of Penang, you got the beauty and brains and what else is needed…no, you dont laugh at me 😛

    I will download some pics and keep them as my desktop wallpaper.

    I loved the little desks a lot…perfect place to read a book or listen music or simply while away the time looking at the views offered.

    See? This is why I wish you undertake many such trips to exotic locales…I will get free local gyaan and pictures 😉

    Waiting for the next part.

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Visha 🙂 hehehehe. Oops sorry :p
      Buti wouldn’t mind – not coz I have beauty and brains and all but coz I truly felt such an amazing feeling deep within. The taste stayed for long.

      Yes, wall paper 🙂 I have them too 🙂

      I agree so much about liking the desk. I was so lost and so overcome with inexplicable happiness.

      Yes more travels for you madame:) and next part coming up too 🙂

  6. Jas · June 28, 2012

    You look beautiful 🙂 and chalo baaki snaps bhi theek hain 🙂

    Penang seems like a quaint place to visit… Let me start buging my hubby… 2-3 saal baad shayad materiliaze ho jaaye 😉

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Jas jas 🙂 aap bhi na ! Thankee 🙂
      Pls pls visit Penang. Haan haan, abhi se indent Lagan dijiyega.
      And don’t forget to transit thru Singapore :p

  7. Elegant Chic · June 28, 2012

    Never knew a beautiful blog like this had a gorgeous face hidden behind it! 🙂

    Great post with stunning pictures! And my, my, loved that swing! 😀

    Here’s to many more awesome holidays to the world’s best spots!!! clink 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Hey elegant chic,

      Thankee 🙂 oooooh I am just so happy hearing that. Tee hee. Thankee 🙂
      That swing is awesome na?
      And yes, more awesome holidays to the world’s best spots it is -clink 🙂

  8. Pepper · June 28, 2012

    This is totally gorgeous. Yes, the place did remind me of Kaho na pyar hai a lot.
    And hey, you should probably watermark the pictures?

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Pepper !!!!!!
      Welcome welcome and a big hug 🙂
      Thanks so much 🙂
      Well, I honestly considered water marking them but I posted this coz I could not contain my excitement. I will do that. I need to read up on how to do it but will do it definitely 🙂 thanks a lot lot!
      Really hope to see you by often 🙂

  9. lifesong · June 28, 2012

    It took me a long time to go through this post… reading your really lovely narrative and seeing such beautiful pics 🙂 That vast stretch of beach with not a soul around… that exotic swing… beautiful!!! 🙂 I love such uncrowded, secluded destinations for a holiday 🙂 … reminds me of our road trip through the beaches of Konkan 🙂
    Loved that pic of yours 🙂 … so lost in the lovely surroundings 🙂 So now we know the beautiful lady who writes this lovely blog 🙂 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 28, 2012

      Lifesong 🙂

      Your words mean a lot. Thanks so much 🙂 yes, I love crowded streets but jot crowded beaches. Children are an exception though 🙂
      Beaches of Konkan – have heard of it but never been there yet. I am sure you have amazing memories of it 🙂
      Am waiting for your sequel. Let me check if it is up already :p

  10. Privy Trifles · June 28, 2012

    The pictures are lovely and yours is the most beautiful one amongst them all. As I see your pic one more time I try to give it the name of Toffee and it does suit you completely. :o)

    Seems you have had a great time at such a wonderful place!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 29, 2012

      Privy 🙂

      Thanks so much 🙂 You are so kind! I am nothing compared to the awesomeness there, really. I wish you visit Penang and every beautiful place on Earth! 🙂

      hehe – toffee suits me ? That’s a lovely thing to say! 🙂
      I did, I did have a great great time at a wonderful place with some of the most amazing people 🙂

  11. Atrocious Scribblings · June 28, 2012

    Same pinch on being a mountain person – I`ve practically lived most of my life on the seaside that a mountain side trip is welcome any day/time of the year.

    Oh my, would you look at the breakfast description – Drool Tsunami strikes :P.

    All the photos are so serene especially the one with the Swing and the one in which you make an appearance; they probably reflect the mood and the fun you must have had during the trip.

    I have to repeat what I mentioned a few posts back – K and Toffee seem made for each other.

    I love the way you write travelogues – there is a bubbly and infectious flavor to it. Please keep travelling more and writing more about your adventures.

    Cheers 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 29, 2012

      AS !!

      🙂 Thanks thanks thanks thanks for all of that 🙂 If not anything, I can travel just for b’fast sake 😛 Infact it is a common joke now about how everyone can make me get up early by mentioning b’fast 😛
      Thanks, I do love K 🙂 Thank God!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      I will definitely look forward to sharing more and more as I travel 🙂

  12. Phatichar · June 29, 2012

    Do some travel writing (professionally I mean)…send it out. I’m serious.

    • kismitoffeebar · June 29, 2012

      And how do I go about that? Can I email you maybe?

    • kismitoffeebar · June 29, 2012

      I don’t know if am that good but will try it, why not? 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 29, 2012

      And seriously, thanks. I got a delirious high when you said it. Thanks so very much 🙂

  13. Bikramjit Singh Mann · June 29, 2012

    oooh someone is in deeep thought , what you thinking .. 🙂
    that beach look beautiful ..

    you know what the problem i face now is that the flights are so bloody expensive to reach and if you are 2 -3 in family its a big chunk on the pocket .. which is a shame

    lovely pictures thanks for sharing

    and now we know how kismitoffeebar looks Like 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 29, 2012

      hehehehe I really don’t know. I was in a trance maybe!
      Yes, it was beautiful 🙂
      I understand what you mean. When I first came to s’pore I used to think that I’ll fly back to B’lore every 2 months – not possible 😦 somehow that’s a regret I live with.
      Thank YOU ! 🙂 Hehe, ah, yea. Now you know!

  14. Phatichar · June 29, 2012

    To me? No..I meant to a travel mag or portal 🙂 Unfortunately I have no contacts in the said area, else I’d have personally forwarded it to them. 🙂

    Google some- am sure you’ll come up with some prospective takers. What say?

    PS: Of course, you could always email me just to say ‘hi’…or for that movie list, which (even as I watch it) seems endless 😦 – donno if I”ll be able to put it up here. Will try, yeah?

    Tata!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 29, 2012

      Will do 🙂 Thanks! 🙂 Very nice of you!

      Yes, I will definitely email for the movie list, pakka! 🙂 then you can suggest in batches though i have come to know how hard it is for a movie lover to make batches in the first place 🙂
      Thankee , see ya 🙂

      • Phatichar · June 29, 2012

        Oh, you said it.. 🙂 But fikar not, will come up with that list soon It’ll be mostly the movies I’ve watched. I want to take some time because I’ve watched some incredible foreign films I can’t name right off the top of my head, so will need to jog my memory a bit.. 🙂

        ciao ciao

  15. Sumitra · June 29, 2012

    You are beautiful! 🙂

  16. Deeps · July 1, 2012

    Those are beautiful clicks, kismeetoffeebar! Did you do para sailing? Penang is so beautiful and serene! Have been to KL but never Penang..after seeing those photos I so want to!

    And you look lovely, so deep in thoughts! 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 1, 2012

      Hey deeps 🙂

      Thanks so much ! Yes, Penang is a beautiful place 🙂 you just need to look for the right spots. Pls do visit it when you can. I did not try para sailing 😦 we did not have much time and I guess I was a chicken deep down. I will soon, by God’s Grace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. The Girl Next Door · July 2, 2012

    Loved the travelogue. 🙂 Super awesome pics, too! 🙂

    You look gorgeous!! Glad you decided to let the pic stay. K has clicked a super pic of you – all dreamy and thoughtful, and the place looks so serene too.

    Gosh, you are so much like me as far as travel is concerned. And food too. 🙂 I take in all these little things that people usually miss when I go to a place, and I start crying when I see too much beauty. I cried when I left Kashmir too. 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · July 2, 2012

      Thanks so much TGND 🙂 Means a lot that you returned from a vacation and read this. I do look forward to your opinions ! 🙂

      I know, right? all those little things makes all the difference! 🙂 Hehe yaya, I was all dreamy. The place was like that !

      I know how you must have felt when you left Kashmir. I am so so looking forward to reading your experiences ! 🙂

  18. greenboochi · July 2, 2012

    Kismi…………………. 🙂 That was just awesome… you made me re-live all my Penang memories again.. Super duper post… I cant wait to go visit it again 🙂 🙂
    I must say you look so beautiful… that was a great pic.. may be cos you were lost in your thoughts and K clicked it without your knowledge… looks like the best! loving it 🙂 Glad I could see it before you removed 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 2, 2012

      Thanks Gb 🙂 Waiting for you to visit Penang 😛 🙂
      Penang is so so beautiful ! 🙂
      Ya, K clicks people only when they are not posing (well, usually) 🙂
      Thanks so much! Glad you love Penang as much as I do !

  19. Diane · July 2, 2012

    what a great article! it’s really informative and innovative. keep us posted with new updates. it’s was really valuable. thanks a lot!!http://www.plactual.com

  20. Pingback: Chinese New Year: Trip to Penang via Kuala Lumpur – Part 3 « kismitoffeebar
  21. aame · July 21, 2012

    Hey how did i miss this !!! So much to catch up on the whole trip !!! Would be back as i read each part in detail…as of now all i wanna tell u is your are just soooo sweet and pretty ….just as your lovely words !!!! XOXOXXO

    • kismitoffeebar · July 22, 2012

      hehehehe oshooooo ! Thankee dearie. You are just too kind with your words 🙂

  22. Nithvin · August 8, 2012

    Hey! was just looking at your archives and I saw this ! I am writing this to say you look lovely! kismitoffeebar just suits you 🙂 Loved the pics and shall read the series soon 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · August 8, 2012

      Hulloooo 🙂 thanks so much dear 🙂 really means a lot that you came back to say that. Thanks so much. We loved this trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

