Why I love Roald Dahl – 1

I remember the last time I read Roald Dahl was in 5th standard in my English Maincourse Book. It was a story of how Roald Dahl had adenoids and how his grandmother took him to see the doctor to get them operated and how afraid he was and what he went through.

Even though he must have had a fired jocose vein propelling him to describe that incident so vividly, I was aghast. Here I was, a student of 5th standard who never knew what adenoids were and he described them as lumps that needed to be removed. He even described what they looked like after the surgeon removed them and put them into the tray right in front of him. I was scared but somewhere deep down I loved the way he had written it.

This was ’96.

Fast forward to now.

I have been bitten by a I-want-to-read-all-of-Roald Dahl’s books bug all of a sudden for a couple of months now. I have absolutely no idea what prompted my grey cells or my auricles and ventricles to have this kind of a craving. But crave, I did. And badly, at that.

I told you I am crazy.

And so, when Popular, a chain of bookstores had a book exhibit recently with some offers, K and I couldn’t resist going and splurging bigtime there. One of the outcomes was that we had strained shoulders carrying all of it back home. And all the other of the outcomes, were pure awesomeness.

Since, I had been eyeing the Phizz-whizzing collection by Roald Dahl for a while now, we bought that set as well. Out of that set, I finished reading The Twits and George’s marvellous medicine. 

How, just how can RD write so brilliantly? How does he brew up those amazingly addictive concoctions?

Mr. and Mrs. Twit are two horrible people who love playing dirty tricks on each other. What starts off as an entertaining scheming of sorts by the husband and wife to trick each other in a really nasty way ends in the most hilarious of ways. They become the target of revenge by their caged monkeys, the muggle-wumps. The Twits enjoy catching real birds and making their bird-pies. How can this love of theirs get them into trouble?

George is an 8 year old sweet boy who lives with his parents and grandmother. His grandmother is definitely not the types who dote on their grandsons and regale them with stories. She is a rather grumpy ol’ woman with dark secrets. George who has had enough of her wants to make her turn into a more friendly woman and imagine what he does that?! He concocts a medicine with the weirdest of ingredients and the effect is even more astonishing !

What I love about Roald Dahl is the way his imagination works. I read somewhere that The Twits was a scary concept to the adults because it was written based on the premise that children enjoy disgusting and scary tales. Also, he hated beards as a child and that is evident in The Twits. I love the way he coins a word and comes up with the cutest and most descriptive of neologisms from nowhere. Sometimes onomatopoeia, sometimes visual and sometimes crazy, it is just what makes up for a refreshing light read and takes you to your childhood. Well, that’s what I feel. Roald Dahl + his creative humour = sheer awesomeness.

I have also gathered some interesting tit-bits about where Roald Dahl wrote his stories and how he wrote them. I will share them with you in Part 2.

Have you read Roald Dahl? What is your favourite story by him so far? and what do you like about Roald Dahl? Do you have any author who makes you feel beautifully childish?

A small delight for you all: I just found the link to the pdf format of George’s Marvellous Medicine (I found one for The Twits as well but unable to locate it now) if you wish to read it on your Kindle or phones or even on your desktop during a break! 🙂

http://www.freewebs.com/ammdownloads/GEORGE’S%20MARVELLOUS%20MEDICINE.pdf

 

38 comments

  1. DI · June 23, 2012

    I am familiar with the name, but I have not read any books written by him. Looks like a very creative author. Thanks for the pdf, I might read it sometime. BTW, do you have a Kindle/Nook? Just want to know how is the reading experience in these devices.

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · June 23, 2012

      He is a very humourously creative author 🙂 Do try his books sometime 🙂 I don’t have a Kindle yet. I have an iPad and a Samsung Galaxay Tab. I find them convenient for reading during travels sometimes or when I can’t buy some books. The experience is definitely not the kind of joy you get when you hold a book in your hand but these aren’t bad definitely. Infact I’d suggest you try the experience. I have read some books on this type of platform and have liked it actually 🙂

  2. Bikramjit Singh Mann · June 23, 2012

    🙂 we all have a kid inside us don’t we…

    Thanks for the link.

    • kismitoffeebar · June 23, 2012

      We all do 🙂 Thanks Bikram 🙂 waiting for your good news! I should check your blog if you have shared it already~:)

  3. techie2mom · June 23, 2012

    Now, you made me order this….Yes, i bought The twits which should get delivered sometime next week 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 23, 2012

      Ah yay! Yay! 🙂 I really hope you enjoy the book Zini’s Mom 🙂 And please do tell me if you enjoyed reading Roald Dahl. Very soon, Zini will start reading too 🙂

  4. My Era · June 23, 2012

    The whole of Roald Dahl’s series is in my wishlist. I’ll buy it for Pari in around a years time. As far the pdf link, thanks Kismi I’ll jump over to that immediately 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · June 23, 2012

      Ah awesome ME :)) I am sure pari will enjoy like crazily 🙂 and so will her mom 🙂

  5. Privy · June 23, 2012

    However much we grow up we all still have one side of us which just refuses to grow up 🙂

    Thanks for the PDF, will surely try reading it!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 23, 2012

      That is just so true – what you said about a side to us that refuses to grow up. I hope you like the book 🙂 eachf his stories is different and probably the only thread that joins them is the author himself 🙂

  6. Jas · June 23, 2012

    Never read Dahl but seems that humor is his forte… The links are sure fire help.. 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 23, 2012

      Ya humor is his forte. And there is a kind of agelessness in them 🙂 have fun reading him Jas 🙂

  7. Sumitra · June 24, 2012

    I love Roald Dahl’s works too! Can’t wait for you to get to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. One of my absolute and all-time favourites.

    • kismitoffeebar · June 25, 2012

      Really? I am waiting to phizz them all off too ! 🙂 Now on BFG and then I will take up Charlie and the Chocolate factory sooooooooooon ! Esp. after you said all that, can hardly wait 🙂

  8. sm · June 24, 2012

    havent read
    looks interesting

    • kismitoffeebar · June 25, 2012

      Then I’d recommend it to you 🙂 You may like it too 🙂

  9. greenboochi · June 25, 2012

    5th Std maincourse book…. I went into the flashback mode several times… while the name sounds familiar, I am really not able to recollect it 😦 Am I getting older….!?!?

    Thank you so much for the link Kismi.. I am heading there right away 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · June 25, 2012

      Gb 🙂
      Oh, just google him up and you will remember. arey, what growing old and all? you can only grow younger 😛
      I hope you enjoy the book gb 🙂

      • greenboochi · June 26, 2012

        Read the book and absolutely loved it… 🙂 Now, I am going to order the rest of his books..

      • kismitoffeebar · June 26, 2012

        Gb, you made me so happy (this reply and the other also) 🙂 Muaaaaaaaah ! 🙂 Go ahead and order them all – yay! lets both go on a Roald Dahl ride together 🙂

  10. Phatichar · June 25, 2012

    Ah, one of my favorite authors (and inspiration as well) 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 25, 2012

      🙂 Seriously 🙂

      • Phatichar · June 26, 2012

        Of course, don’t tell me you haven’t read his adult fiction! Case(s) in point:

        Tales of the Unexpected (1979)
        More Tales of the Unexpected (1980)
        Roald Dahl’s Book of Ghost Stories (1983)

        Not just that – the funny thing is, I learnt about Dahl about 7 years ago when after reading one of my stories, a reader asked me if I was a Dahl fan. I was embarrassed; because though I’d heard about him, I’d never got around to reading his works. Subsequently I read a couple of his books. You’ve to read the stories to believe. Genius. For me, personally, it was an honor to be even mentioned in the same breath as him.

        Had he been alive, I’d have loved to meet him and personally tell him what an inexplicable pride I felt writing stories similar to his. *Sigh*.

      • kismitoffeebar · June 26, 2012

        I have not read his adult fiction ever. Infact, I must thank you bitime for telling me about these books – seriously, didn’t know. I will definitely read them. Thanks so much.
        I was wondering why he was yoour inspiration because I didn’t even know that he wrote that genre. 🙂

      • Phatichar · June 27, 2012

        Yes, in close circles he’s more revered for his ‘twisty’ stories 🙂

      • kismitoffeebar · June 27, 2012

        🙂

  11. Visha · June 25, 2012

    I have never read Dahl. But once I came across an article which said Rowling is as good as Dahl. And for me, Rowling is on a very high pedestal. So Dahl should also be equally good 😉

    • kismitoffeebar · June 25, 2012

      Visha pls do read them. Personally JK Rowling seems to be influenced by Dahl.I have always felt that. Snitch and the very concept of neologisms is very Dahl-ish to me 🙂 while both deal with creative fiction, Dahl specializes in creative humour. you will love him !

  12. lifesong · June 25, 2012

    I read a couple of RD books a few years back and enjoyed them thoroughly. Your post is a reminder that I must order the series and read them soon… I hope Cheebu would love them too when she can read 🙂
    And thank you for the link… hopping there right away 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 25, 2012

      Cheebu will looooooove them 🙂 pls do order them 🙂 RD is a master storyteller 🙂

  13. aame · June 25, 2012

    I haven’t read any of his works yet but thanks for the link 🙂 That would be the first to go ! 🙂 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 26, 2012

      Please do read them dear 🙂 I’d suggest you try more then 2 of his works to probably choose a favourite 🙂

      • aame · June 26, 2012

        okie 🙂 would sure do !!! 🙂

  14. The Girl Next Door · July 2, 2012

    I somehow missed reading Roald Dahl as a kid. Read his Charlie and the Chocolate Factory a couple of years ago, and LOVED it. Went on to read all his other books, except a couple. Loved all of them. He is sheer genius with the way he describes things. 🙂

    The BFG, The Witches, Matilda and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory are my most favourite Dahl books. HOpe you love them too.

    Thank you so much for the link to George’s Marvellous Medicine. It is one of Dahl’s books that I haven’t read yet. 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · July 2, 2012

      Ah:) I am loving the experience TGND. You are back from holiday!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 Looking forward to hearing about it 🙂
      I hope you enjoy George’s Marvellous medicine!
      You are welcome! 🙂

  15. chattywren · December 7, 2012

    I am a big fan of Roald Dahl stories too! I haven’t read all his books either but there hasn’t been one book which I haven’t liked.

    • kismitoffeebar · December 19, 2012

      Same pinch! 🙂 I am reading Charlie and the great glass elevator now. Loved the chocolate factory that I read just before this ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

