Tuesdays with Morrie and My favourite Lines – 2

Tuesdays with Morrie is an experience that I will carry with me till my last. The experience moved me to an extent that I have blinked away tears as I read the book in a train, in a park, in front of an elderly couple in a waiting area and even at home. Every page, every line  is just so very true and something you can only vigorously nod at as it leaves you transported into an ideal world.

I am nobody to write a review. Infact, if I were to review this book, I’d probably copy paste the entire book because every chapter, every tuesday is a beautiful experience.

Mitch, one of Morrie’s better students, is “successful” in his career or so he thinks until he meets Morrie, his University Professor after a hiatus. What ensues is something that you must read for yourself.

I am not a fan of books that fall under the “self help” category but this one is a beautiful conversation with life’s lessons said in the most simple of ways. It is a true account and I can’t stop thinking of it. There are instances when I now wonder what Morrie would have told me if he were around now. Morrie is the kind of teacher I aspire to be someday.

Please go pick a copy and give it a try. I am not finding the lovely cover I have, on the internet. I’ll probably take a snap and update this post later. I just had to share this now.

 The book was gifted to me by one of the helpers in the clinic. She comes everyday to clean my cabin and she gave this book and said “Have you read this one?”, and when I looked blankly at her, she thrust the book into my hand and said “Higtime you read this.” Today, I thanked her profusely for the lovely journey she enabled me to make.

I loved so many lines that I thought of putting some down here and share them with you all under My Favourite Lines series. This is a long one but I want to save it here for all of you and for me. If you wish to read them in the context of the conversations in the book which gives an altogether different high, please skip the below.

“We all know how to be a child. It’s inside all of us. For me, it’s just remembering how to enjoy it.”

“Aging is not just decay…It’s growth.”

“You have to find what’s good and true and beautiful in your life as it is now. Looking back makes you competitive. And, age is not a competitive issue.”

“How can I be envious of where you are–when I’ve been there myself.” (the context in which this is said is just….. beautiful!)

“In the beginning of life, when we were infants, we need others to survive, right? And at the end of life, when you get like me, you need others to survive, right? But here’s the secret: in between, we need others as well.” (Lovely, isn’t it?)

“What’s wrong with being number two?”

“The culture we have does not make people feel good about themselves. And you have to be strong enough to say if the culture doesn’t work, don’t buy it.”

“Have you ever lost someone you love and wanted one more conversation, one more chance to make up for the time when you thought they would be here forever? If so, then you know you can go your whole life collecting days, and none will outweigh the one you wish you had back.”

“Sometimes when you sacrifice something precious, you’re not really losing it. You’re just passing it on to someone else.”

“I like myself better when I’m with you.” 

“If you hold back on the emotions–if you don’t allow yourself to go all the way through them–you can never get to being detached, you’re too busy being afraid. You’re afraid of the pain, you’re afraid of the grief. You’re afraid of the vulnerability that loving entails. But by throwing yourself into these emotions, by allowing yourself to dive in, all the way, over your heard even, you experience them fully and completely.”

“There is everything you know and there is everything that happens. When the two do not line up, you make a choice. ”

“Nothing haunts us like the things we don’t say.”

“I thought about all the people I knew who spent many of their waking hours feeling sorry for themselves. How useful it would be to put a daily limit on self-pity. Just a few tearful minutes, then on with the day.”

There are more, many more. Especially, the ones where every chapter concludes – the finishing line of a chapter.

Have you read this book? How did you feel about it?

I loved it and strongly recommend it.

After all, who doesn’t want a teacher?

42 comments

  1. Destination Infinity · June 15, 2012

    “Sometimes when you lose something, you are not really losing it. You are just passing it on to someone else” – Loved this. How many times do we crib about losing something? I think we should take them in the spirit of this quote and move on. Perhaps we might get something else that is better. Looks like an interesting book. I’ll keep it in my mind.

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      Yes, it is a beautiful way to think of something.
      I really hope you enjoy the book 🙂

  2. The Girl Next Door · June 15, 2012

    I read this book a long long time back. Now, I don’t remember any of the lines from this book, but I remember loving it. I remember being immensely touched by the book. I remember feeling like you do – that if I ever become a teacher in life, I want to be one like Morrie. I remember feeling that I want to age gracefully, like Morrie.

    Thanks for this post. Reminded me of the beauty that this book is.

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      Isn’t it ? that’s just the beautiful way I felt too !

      My pleasure TGND. This book will be one of my prized possessions.

  3. Bikramjit Singh Mann · June 15, 2012

    Yes whats wrong with being number two , I know I wrote a post a few months back on the art of losing , you see I beleive that a winner is only ONE (alone) whereas who lose are in higher number .. SO whats wrong ..

    moreover its the one who comes second who knows what winning is .. the one who wins what does he know … and all he has to look forward is NOTHING.. wheras the one who is second has that number one spot to look forward to.. 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      You did ? I do want to read your post. Not many seem to think that way bikram. I agree with everything you said and more importantly, no matter what the end is, the journey is the most important and beautiful part ::)

  4. greenboochi · June 15, 2012

    “I like myself better when I’m with you.”

    “In the beginning of life, when we were infants, we need others to survive, right? And at the end of life, when you get like me, you need others to survive, right? But here’s the secret: in between, we need others as well.” (Lovely, isn’t it?)

    “What’s wrong with being number two?”

    “Sometimes when you sacrifice something precious, you’re not really losing it. You’re just passing it on to someone else.”

    Simply superb lines!!! For that matter, every other line you mentioned here is a gem.

    I will definitely find this book and give it a read.

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      Pls do read this gb. I really hope you enjoy this journey 🙂 and yes, totally know how you feel about those lines. They are indeed gems.

  5. Jas · June 15, 2012

    Some really beautiful lines… I loved “Nothing haunts us like the things we don’t say.” and this one

    “In the beginning of life, when we were infants, we need others to survive, right? And at the end of life, when you get like me, you need others to survive, right? But here’s the secret: in between, we need others as well.”

    I am sure to lay my hands on it. In fact ,I just searched flipkart and they have it 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      Yay jas 🙂 yes yes please do get this one. I am sure you will love it 🙂 I loved those lines a lot too.

  6. aame · June 15, 2012

    I have read this book and it is says so much in so few lines ! It was an overwhelming experience !!! And i think this is a kind of book (like ‘Buddha’ by Herman Hesse) which one can read at different stages of life to find a new meaning each time !!! Thanks for refreshing these important thoughts ! 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      You summed it up beautifully. You can indeed read this at different stages inline and take home little lessons that make a huge difference. you are more than welcome dearie 🙂 am so glad you read this one 🙂

      • aame · June 15, 2012

        something more in common ! 🙂 🙂

      • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

        Seriously :))

  7. Visha · June 15, 2012

    I LOVED all the one-liners

    Good work Toffee 🙂

  8. pixie · June 15, 2012

    wow! 🙂
    I am going to pick u p this book!! Thank you Kismi! 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      Go ahead pixie. Dive into the beautiful experience 🙂
      Oh, you are more than welcome 🙂

  9. Me · June 15, 2012

    I have been hearing a lot about this book off late as if something is pulling me to read it. I was a bit skeptical if I would like it or not but after reading you post I am sure I will love it.

    Will read it ASAP

    • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2012

      Am so glad that this post kind of corroborated all your feelings about reading this book. Pls pls do and am sure you will love it 🙂

  10. sugar · June 15, 2012

    I read this book couple of months back. n how i loved this book.
    i remember one of my cousins making faces when i mentioned this book n the category to which it belongs. Like u , I was also skeptical before reading this book. But thanks to my sheer boredom, I had to lay my hands on this just to prove me I was wrong about the book.
    Every line written is just so precious n hats off to u for having to pick some of the lines so as to sum up in ur one post.

    ah! i just realised such a long comment i have typed 😀
    P.S -new follower.!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2012

      Sugar 🙂

      A very warm welcome here 🙂 I am a big fan of long comments, so thanks a lot for taking time to share your views.
      seriously, I identify with that kind of skepticism about self help books.

      All this just reinforces the thought that one must be open minded right ?

      Am glad you read this one. It is a wonderful experience 🙂
      Hope to see you often here 🙂

  11. techie2mom · June 16, 2012

    OMG…This is mind-blowing!!!!!
    And all you guys are recommending great books, i should log in to flipkart now….

    • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2012

      I know how you must be feeling. I am busy writing down what every amazing blog friends are recommending and it is so inspiring to live and know that there is so much to do 🙂 pls read this ZM and I really hope you love the experience 🙂

  12. My Era · June 16, 2012

    Have added it to my wishlist and will read this book soon 😀
    Thank you for sharing your favorite lines Kismi, it helped me decide to buy this book right away 😀 😀

    • kismitoffeebar · June 16, 2012

      Yay ME and me 🙂
      Pls read it right away. The experience will feel make you feel so good and so nice:))

  13. Deeps · June 17, 2012

    Wow now I so want to read this book! Loved those lines you favorited!

    Thanks for the review, will pick it up for sure when I am visiting home next month 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · June 18, 2012

      Please do pick this one up Deeps 🙂 Glad you liked the lines too ! Youl will probably love the book and the context even better!

  14. Elegant Chic · June 19, 2012

    Never heard of this book, until now! 🙂
    If those are some of the LOVELY lines from the book, I can imagine how the whole book would be. Must read it for sure!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 20, 2012

      ah, yay! Pls do 🙂 Infact the same author has written a few other books as well. No idea about how they are, but this one is great! 🙂

  15. KP · June 20, 2012

    I will read this book.You have kindled my interest with the excellent lines.Thanks

    • kismitoffeebar · June 20, 2012

      Hey KP 🙂

      Big welcome here! 🙂 I hope you enjoy it. it is an amazing book 🙂

  16. Pingback: Why me and Why today? « From the Editions of Green Boochi
  17. Phatichar · June 22, 2012

    Must get hold of the book now.. 🙂

  18. Scribby · June 29, 2012

    I’ve read this one as well as the other one of Mitch ‘the 5 people you meet in heaven’ and also have watched both the movies…and I couldn’t agree more with your review here…these are the books to re-read!!!

    I cried buckets too..hugs!

    • kismitoffeebar · June 30, 2012

      Ah 🙂 am so glad that you have read 2 of his books 🙂 I saw a set of 4 books by him at a store. I think I will grab it 🙂
      Yet to watch the movies. Waiting to !
      Hugs 🙂

  19. Dennis Mariano · August 17, 2012

    I’m not into book reading but when i saw this book on my moms shelves, I don’t know what force pushed me to read it. Actually its the only book that i finished reading and I love it. It’s so inspiring. Makes me tear eyed everytime.

    • kismitoffeebar · August 27, 2012

      I know what you mean and so concur with that tear-eyed feeling. It is a beautiful read and I can’t state that enough 🙂
      A very warm welcome here. Hope to see you often, as often as you wish! 🙂

  20. Pingback: A new beginning « The Era I lived in
  21. Sia · October 29, 2012

    I have been wanting to read this for so long..
    Thanks Kismi for reminding 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · October 29, 2012

      Hey Sia ! 🙂
      A warm welcome here 🙂 I hope you get to read this as soon as you wish! 🙂

  22. Zephyr · December 3, 2012

    When I subscribed to your blog, this post came up as some of the interesting ones I have missed 🙂 And just yesterday I put up a post which used Tuesdays…as a peg. Do read it please. I’d love your feedback too 🙂

    I read this book only recently and loved every line. But I am sure I’d not be able to pick out any one of them to quote and end up quoting chunks 😀

Leave a Reply

