Diary of a Wimpy Kid series – A Review

Hullooooo everyone,

I have been wanting to write this for God knows how long. Sigh! I can’t believe I brought procrastination with me to the blog world as well.

Okies, no more delays.

Do you enjoy reading funny parts of your/anyone’s childhood? Want to read about an ordinary childhood with humourous parts? Do you want to read a book that makes you laugh in the most childish of ways and makes you feel like you didn’t read anything more heavy than a refreshing comic strip? And most importantly, do you like reading journals that have line drawings and the simplest of illustrations that are so hilarious that you want to lie down and read lest you fall off your chair?

Pick up this series then. I bought mine at Popular bookstore and finished the 5 in one week – a shame, given the fact that this is nothing but sheer un-put-downable!

So that’s the first bookΒ of the series. I got to read the first five though the sixth one is out in the market as well. The series came in a package that looked like this and each one is amazing!

I was so excited to buy my first illustrated series cum journal of sorts that I clicked like a dozen pictures much to the amusement of K who secretly must have felt happy at how my birthday gifts can be so easily decided in future.

Jeff Kinney, the author, wrote the series with the intention of sharing humourous parts of growing up and what it was to be a part of the process. I think this is a super light read, one that you want to pick up after reading something really heavy or after a long day or if you are just in the Just-for-laugh-gags mood.

The series is a fictional biography of Greg Heffley, a sixth grader who kind of has a pretty normal set of parents and whose problems involve avoiding algebra classes, making friendhsips, sustaining an annoying existing friendship and trying his bestΒ to please girls. Everything right from getting bullied to having green-touch escapades to an escapade from teenagers during Halloween, he goes through the traumas of childhood and pens them down with some amazing line drawings. They are an absolute delight to read !

In the series, Greg shares his stories with pretty much every member of his family – father, mother, brother (this one is hilarious), grandmother, grandfather, an uncle who has gotten married multiple timesΒ and Rowley (his annoying friend).

I would recommend it to anyone who answered yes to my questions πŸ™‚ It definitely not a beautiful journal or anything but it is like this realistic piece of fiction through a sixth grader’s eyes. I loved reading it !

The movie of the first part is out as well. I haven’t watched it but am sure the book is a class apart. You wouldn’t want to miss out reading his lines and drawings.

Oh, and this guy inspired me to make my own comic/ line drawing journal. I wish to share them with you all someday.

Have you read this before? Else, go ahead, splurge and let me know how you liked it ! πŸ™‚

19 comments

  1. greenboochi · May 29, 2012

    I would want to read this series… Loving it from your review!!

    and all the best for your own line drawing journal Kismi… share it soon πŸ™‚

  2. Jas · May 29, 2012

    well the best part is what this series inspired you to do… πŸ™‚ I haven’t read it before but will try and lay my hands on it now.

    • kismitoffeebar · May 29, 2012

      You must Jas πŸ™‚ You’ll love it and soon your boy will adore it also πŸ™‚

  3. Bikramjit Singh Mann · May 29, 2012

    he he he he I have read these and now they even have movie on the same ..

    it is hilarious tooooooooooo

    • kismitoffeebar · May 29, 2012

      You have read them Bikram? Cool πŸ™‚ I loved them for the kind of childhood wit and humour πŸ˜› Ya, they have a movie now and soon, Rodrick rules will be out as well !

  4. Destination Infinity · May 29, 2012

    I saw these books in a bookshop recently and I was attracted by the title and cover. I glanced through one of the books, but it was fiction. I read only non fiction books these days. The concept is interesting though.

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · May 29, 2012

      πŸ™‚ Yes DI, it is an interesting concept and there are so many following suit now !
      The equivalent of this is Big Nate ! Ah, you are into non-fiction now. Maybe someday when you feel like it πŸ™‚

  5. The Girl Next Door · May 29, 2012

    I have always seen these books in bookstores, but never felt inspired enough to pick them up! Loved your review, and now, I feel like I want to read this book. πŸ™‚

    PS: Do share your line drawings soon. Would love to see them. πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 29, 2012

      Honestly TGND, when I heard of the movie I had no predilection for it. Don’t know how the series happened – maybe the back cover πŸ˜›
      Oh, yes, I will share them as soon as I can πŸ™‚

  6. Me · May 29, 2012

    Interesting book review – will surely try to grab one soon. The most interesting part was ‘this guy inspired me to make my own comic/ line drawing journal’ – Waiting for it!! πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 30, 2012

      Hey Me ,

      Definitely give this one a try just to know if such books appeal to you πŸ™‚
      ah, yes, because it is just so easy to do them once you see this book πŸ™‚

      • Privy Trifles · August 27, 2012

        Hey Toffee

        Just wanted to let you know I have finally managed to read the entire series and believe Me it is awesome!

        Thanks to you for such a beautiful review that I was tempted to lay my hands on it the next moment πŸ™‚

        I am glad I read your review and decided to grab one ASAP…

        TC

  7. pixie · June 1, 2012

    πŸ˜€
    Sounds interesting!!

  8. aame · June 1, 2012

    Wow after these words from you am sure to read it !!! must be a fun-read indeed.

    • kismitoffeebar · June 2, 2012

      πŸ™‚ It is just that – a fun read ! πŸ™‚ Catch hold of it when you can !

  9. Elegant Chic · June 14, 2012

    Awww nice review! πŸ™‚
    Isn’t lil’ Manny so irritating?? God he so tiny, but his behavior is so so Argh, you know what I mean! πŸ˜€

    • kismitoffeebar · June 15, 2012

      I know!!!!!!!!! he is super irritating. I disliked him so much. So much. And sometimes even Rodrick πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

