Weekend Foodie Chronicles – 2

Heylo all,

I am back with more food to share. I think the cooking bug has bitten me big time and I am loooouuvving it ! ๐Ÿ™‚

Bonus: Having aย hubby who appreciates food (no matter how good it is) and is always calling you even at work to ask you what is cooking for dinner and expresses keen willingness to be experimented upon.

I have started doing whatย  I never thought I’d do – lurking around food blogs and websites of the likes of Tarla Dalal et al. So now I know how to use yoghurt, cashew paste and all the fancyย ingredientsย ย I thought only the most seasoned of cooks used (read mother and otherย master chefs). I am loving this. All the nuances that go into cooking resulting in that heavenly concoction that delights you not just gastronomically but also appeases senses beyond this.

I love food. K loves food. It isn’t just about taste or smell. It is not because of the variety. I love it how food brings out such a powerful feelย ofย a particularย culture and how your plate and palateย are mostly an amalgamation of cultures. I love how the diversity tells us so much about a region and its people. It’s over-powering, really !

Last weekend saw us host a Punjabi couple and their absolutely cuddlable-huggable li’l twin boys. Extended session of X-box Kinect games with some yummy food (ya, I self-certify like that) made for a wonderful saturday !

For the first time, I made aloo bonda. Now you know why I rejoice over such simple feats ! I AM such an amateur.ย So, K being K had to taste everything at every stage. It is another thing that the salt was really less and that he SAVED it.

So, here’s what it looked like when it was on the kitchen platform under my vigilant eyes.

And the minute it goes on the dining table, you can see what happens –

So ya, that’s the famousย “sampling” hand of K.ย Well, the aloo bonda with mint chutney and some sauce tasted good. The batter layer was thin but was good nevertheless and my heart was all swelling with pride when the li’l guys asked their mom “mummy, ek aur le loon, pleeeesh?”

And then for main course we had mushroom masala and kadai paneer with plain rice. I made some modifications to the recipe and well, they didn’t seem to harm the product though Kadai Paneer ended up becoming Paneer Masala. We ended up really enjoying this meal coz’ I had really spiced it up to the extent of giving everyone pinkish faces but gladly, all of us there could handle the spice. Yay !

Presenting — Mr.ย Paneer Masala and Ms. Mushroom Masalali

ย and

We totally licked it off.

For dessert we had alphonso mangoes and some kulfi icecream. Sorry, no pictures of that one. And I won’t make you drool (and curse) by showing alphonos images now. I don’t have access to them either and lack the guts to even look at them.

We burnt off the calories not that I care by playing some Kinect sports with the kids. What bliss!

I have been wanting to make brinjal gojju for long now. So whenย I saw this dessicate brinjal screaming to be cooked, I called ma and asked what I can do with it. She reminded me of the yummilicious gojju. I also noticed a fellow veggie radish on the verge of tears as well and so fried him up and we had this

ย Whenever I make any paneer dish, the fried paneer in butter get gulped down so fast that I need to fry 3 packets to get 2 packs for the gravy. Sigh ! I can’t blame ourselves for they do look so ambrosial,ย  are so succulent and juicy and smell like…. sigh !

ย 

ย I usually don’t deep fry a lot. Maybe like once in 2 weeks or so. Before you think I am health conscious and all let me hurriedly correct your most grave misconception. We eat fried food majorly when we eat out. Sometimes, our waistlines plead for some mercy and we try to go easy at home atleast.

The weekend before the last, K suddenly wanted me to make pakoras. This hubby I tell you. What if I didn’t have besan or something? He will just cuddle up and say, “Please make me some pakoras na. Iย need it now. See the weather. See See” – rolls eyes-ย 

And so, I rush to theย kitchen before I change my mindย and use some baby corn, potatoes, brinjalย and onions and come out with something like this. they don’t look great but they tasted nice only, okay? and well, how canย bajjis NOT taste good with all that yummy oil?

ย 

I made mint chutney and washed it down with some yummy apple-mango drink instead of coffee.

On the Friday night I made the vegetarian omelettes that TGNDย described. I loved the taste but they didn’t look as gorgeous as how hers looked because I made a runny batter in my greed to add everything more. But loved the taste. We ate it with raw banana fry and some onion pickle.

I also made bisibele bath with raita on Sunday but the pictures are in K’s phone and I’ll post them in the next food chronicle. All in a all, a good weekend for food.

We summedย the weekendย up by discovering a great great sports and community centre where they have an amazing swimming pool, awesome badminton courts and hockey pitches ! We celebrated the discovery by booking a one hour slot for badminton that saw us fighting like hardcore opponents. Lets just say thatย we’ll be frequenting this place often.

I also read a wonderful series and the review will be up by this weekend.

How was your weekend? ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

42 comments

  1. Visha · May 15, 2012

    Looking at these pics, you want us to believe you when you say you are an amateur cook???

    Hmph……am not talking to you….

    • kismitoffeebar · May 15, 2012

      Uh oh.

      In that case, let me get rid of the amateur ๐Ÿ˜›

      But these are are my early attempts lah ๐Ÿ™‚

      Please talk to me ? ๐Ÿ™‚ *puppy dog eyes with shiny spot in the corners caused by moistening* :))

      • Visha · May 15, 2012

        Hmm…ok…still….if early attempts result into such heavenly looking dishes, I wonder how experienced ones will turn out ๐Ÿ˜›

        P.S I want that aloo bonda when I end up at your doorstep sometime in my life

      • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

        Just come just come and I’ll be so happy to try all these for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Atrocious Scribblings · May 15, 2012

    Whyyyyyy???? Why are you doing this? I can almost feel a tear coming down my cheek – this is worse than torture.

    I`m most definitely camping at your place in Singapore next time I`m there and making up all the kilo’s I’ve lost in the past till you kick me out :P.

    On an end note, K and Toffee seem made for each other – God Bless.

    Cheers ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 15, 2012

      AS!!!!!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Really, promise, I thought of you before posting. I was like “should I or should I not?” and then I was like “Let me post it. I will make up for it by cooking yummy food someday for AS.” Don’t cry now. I have been through this for a year too. it will pass really !

      Camping at my place in S’pore – definitely ! ๐Ÿ™‚

      K and Toffee seem made for each other – Thanks so much AS ๐Ÿ™‚ By God’s Grace!!!!!!!!!

      ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The Girl Next Door · May 15, 2012

    Droolicious pics ๐Ÿ™‚
    Need recipes for all of this pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeee
    And you fry radishes? I have never heard of or eaten fried radishes!
    Glad the omelettes turned out well. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am also in full-on cooking and experimenting mode these days, and it’s super fun, I tell ya! And a foodie husband is the biggest boon in life. ๐Ÿ˜€ I am the foodie in our case – I am the one who wants bajjis and pakoras in the rains and hot soup in the winters. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Was the series you read by Frances Mayes, by any chance?

    • kismitoffeebar · May 15, 2012

      TGND,

      First things first. no, I haven’t read Frances Mayes but something more eerie ๐Ÿ™‚ He he. I love keeping you all curious ๐Ÿ˜›

      I know you are into cooking. I love your step by step photos.
      ya, I sliced the radishes and fried them in a bit of olive oil and some salt pepper and added a bit of maggi masala also. They taste nice actually (or maybe we were hungry). I fried coz’ that seemed to be my first instinct when I saw them ๐Ÿ˜›

      Yes yes, a foodie hubby is a big boon ๐Ÿ™‚

      Okie dokie, recipes will be shared though I myself mixed and matched from some sources ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Destination Infinity · May 15, 2012

    So, are you going to review that ‘Land and Wildlife of Africa’ book? ๐Ÿ˜›

    In the south, we eat all those paneer/aloo with gravy stuff mostly at hotels. It’s mostly rice and derivatives of rice at home! But then, since there are so many varieties, its ok.

    Till about a year back, I experimented with small things – Tomato rice, lemon rice, semiya upma, etc. I like such easy to do and simple cooking but still tasting great dishes.

    I recently learned to do chappathi + tomato+dhal. Only I can’t practice often! Looks like you have made some great dishes – makes me hungry! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Land and Africa is a coffeetable book ๐Ÿ˜› No no I won’t review it. I will spare you of that ๐Ÿ˜›

      I looooooove rice and its derivatives and all the amazing tiffins and I am from the southern part as well. But I loooooove the dishes from all parts of India, Being a vegetarian I love experimenting and learning to make all these at home ๐Ÿ™‚

      Chappathi and tomato and dhal – wow ! It is heaven ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks DI ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Bikramjit Singh Mann · May 15, 2012

    I loved that Mr. paneer masalla .. I jsut wish that I can cook that nicely …

    so now you shud start to put the recipes tooo, the hard thing i find with a lot of food blogs is they say put this and this .. BUT a idiot like me needs to know HOW much is this and this ๐Ÿ™‚

    sometimes i put too much or too less … still struggle to get it right …

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Oh thanks so much Bikram ๐Ÿ™‚

      Recipes -hmmm, I may once I start remembering how I did it. I just cook so instinctively that I taste, add this or that etc ๐Ÿ™‚ Someday I will but I don’t see how I will be different coz’ there are such amazing food blogs.
      Just add according to taste and am sure you will get there.
      And oh if you still can’t then never mind. We need people who love to eat also else good cooks won’t get appreciation man ! ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Jas · May 15, 2012

    Kadahi paneer is my favorite… a true punjabi you see… all oily fatty stuff… we call bajjis pakoras… and these pics, yummmmmmmyyyy….

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Arey Jas ! I am also the Oily fatty type only ! Thankee ๐Ÿ™‚
      But kadahi paneer turned out to be something else ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. aame · May 15, 2012

    Oh dear toffee why why whyโ€ฆyeh itne yummilicious pics posts karna jaroori tha !!!!!!
    U had me at aloo bhonda itself !!!!! Mummmmmyyyyyyyy !!!!!!!!!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      He he aap bhi kuch nahin ho. You shared the sinfun thingy you made. I am not even going to name it. I can’t attempt it until the weekend. Sigh !
      Thanks dearie. I’d love to make these for you someday ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. My Era · May 15, 2012

    Yummmmmmmy….please share the recipes, especially of Brinjal Gojju for I have no clue to what it is ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    As far the paneer, you have tempted me enough to try a paneer dish for dinner tonight for tomorrow is too far ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    Absolutely loved the idea of a post talking about so many varieties of yummy food ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Confused D · May 15, 2012

    You know what! I have been asked by the doctors to avoid all the good food of the world and you are posting this ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I am literally living on milk and fruits and you came out with this post :((
    I am not talking to you…..katti!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Why avoid all good food? What happened? Hope all is well re….
      Okay, this sunday I am going to be on fruits and milk and yoghurt. Let me see if I can do anything for you and share ๐Ÿ™‚ Okay?
      What is it with “don-t talk to KTB” thingy you and Visha are upto? ๐Ÿ˜›

  10. pixie · May 16, 2012

    delicious!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I want to try making aloo bonda too! they look positively drool-worthy!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Pixie !

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Ya ya, try and tell me how they turned out, wokay? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • pixie · May 17, 2012

        wokay! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Greenboochi (GB) · May 16, 2012

    awesome awesome food… ๐Ÿ™‚ everything had me drooling except for the omelettes ๐Ÿ˜› I am trying to give honest feedback you see… ๐Ÿ˜› But i am sure they tasted good as you said..

    Mr. Paneer kadai and Ms. Mushroom Masalali are my absolute favorites! they look so yummy here… ๐Ÿ˜€ you are turning out to be a Master Chef ๐Ÿ˜€

    Do you make radish fry – with the pink or white ones? I had no idea… recipe pls ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Hullo GB ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ No masterchef and all – yeow !
      You are too kind GB.

      Radish fry with white radish only – just slice them up and fry with lil olive oil, salt, pepper, bit of dhania and jeera powder. In the end you can some maggi masala if you had an extra pack lying around ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Greenboochi (GB) · May 17, 2012

        I am going to be trying it soon ๐Ÿ™‚ will let you know!

  12. Phatichar · May 17, 2012

    Another yumm post ๐Ÿ™‚

    note: a teeny weeny blooper there. Shouldn’t it be ‘hubby appreciates food (no matter how bad it is) ?? ๐Ÿ˜›

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Food can’t be bad ๐Ÿ™‚ When made with so much love – so it is only less good or really good ๐Ÿ˜›
      Thankee ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Phatichar · May 20, 2012

        Oh oh, so love is obviously quite blind, so naanu nimge adu explain maadidru nimge artha aagalla, yaake ‘no matter how good’ is inappropriate here. so…np…hehehe…take care. ๐Ÿ™‚ enjoy maadi.

      • Phatichar · May 20, 2012

        oh, and before you really frown upon my ‘nitpicking’, which I’m sure you will…I’m an editor in real life :), hence just couldn’t resist pointing that one out. Please don’t mistake me. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • kismitoffeebar · May 21, 2012

        Editor saaaar,

        Ad bidde saar ! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Why will I mistake you? Ushapppaa !

  13. Ritika · May 17, 2012

    Everything looks so yummmy ! I am already hungry

    • kismitoffeebar · May 17, 2012

      Thanks a lot Ritika ! Welcome here ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope to see you often ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. The Girl Next Door · May 20, 2012

    Hey, it was รณur’ Ruskin Bond’s birthday yesterday!!! I was so thrilled to know about it late last night, via the Facebook page of Page Turners’ Bookstore (Bangalore). I have a strong feeling I should not delay going to meet him at Mussoorie. At least, I should try to do it – it has been a long-time dream of mine, and the hubby is in full support. It is a bucket list item of mine.

    • kismitoffeebar · May 21, 2012

      Wheeeeeeeeee ! I cannot just stop loving that man more and more ๐Ÿ™‚
      I share the feeling too TGND. I keep telling myself that I may repent any further postponing – one of those ughh feelings. Ya ya, my bucket list also ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me start bugging hubby ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. gardenerat60 · May 21, 2012

    Hi, Came via Greenboochi’s blog.

    I loved the way you prepared food and explain. There is no text book instructions, but it sounds real experiences. I am also a foodie and want to try whatever catches my fancy( yes, even now!).

    Enjoyed reading your post.

    • kismitoffeebar · May 21, 2012

      Hey ๐Ÿ™‚

      Very glad you came by ๐Ÿ™‚ welcome and hope you come by often ๐Ÿ™‚
      Did you say you are a foodie? Let me hop into your space now ๐Ÿ˜›

      • gardenerat60 · May 21, 2012

        Yeah, a well seasoned one. But I am lazy to write the recipes. and photograph. I will start soon.

        Right now eating and growing veggies is consuming my time ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Sumitra · May 24, 2012

    I’m totally loving your weekend foodie chronicles! I might just steal this idea from you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • kismitoffeebar · May 25, 2012

      He he ๐Ÿ™‚ Go ahead Sumitra and I’ll be eager to read them ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. anuglyhead · May 29, 2012

    too much food on the blog…No food in my stomach.Leading to a hungry and craving for food me!

Leave a Reply

