Weekend Foodie Chronicles – 1

Heylo everyone,

I hope your weekends have been going great ! πŸ™‚

I have had this urge to share with you all what K & K (my better half and me incase you didn’t know who I am referring to) have been upto for the past two weekends. Now, the reason why I am sharing this is because I want to show off what has been cooking at home considering most of them if not all, have been introduced for the first time by none other than yours truly.

I know you must have all stood up and applauded. But one small clarification. When I say “introduced”, please don’t think that it is my patent whatsoever unless you want to count li’l modifications here and there after eating half of the raw ingredients, as signs of culinary genius. What I am referring to is the fact that I am cooking them for the first time.

I am not really in a mood to share recipes (ah, such vanity) because:

1. They are really easy and I hardly think there are people who don’t know how to make them already.

2. You just need to google and use your kitchen know-how a bit and voila !

3. I am not great at doling out recipes, yet.

4. I do so much of trial and error that I don’t remember how I cooked it. (okie, stop laughing now).

Even though we had a decent DSLR, neither of us has the patience to click using that, once we see the food. So, all pictures are from my iPad and that explains the quality. My food looked super clear and like those in Tarla Dalal’s book okai?

Here are a few things I made while the better half pretended to help me (I am typing only coz’ I know he reads my blog. Umm, well, he actually helped me a lot):

Squiddly diddly - Here is my first IDLI !

Really, don’t ever every think idlis are easy to make. They are easy to eat maybe (doesn’t hold good if you think that idli is a tastless steamed ball of batter which it is in a way but not really tasteless and if the texture annoys you). I love idlis and can eat anything anywaysΒ  and so was raring to cook my first idlis. I must highlight that the batter is store bought and all I did was to steam them. But you can tell how happy and proud I am with that. Okay, now steaming is a long procedure what with getting cooker ready, oiling the idli plates and placing them carefully inside so that all of them get the privilege of getting steamed with no partialty? And whoa, don’t forget the delectable chutney okie? Oh no, that wasn’t bought from any store. Ofcourse I made it from scratch. You really underestimate me.

And then, we had this before lunch.

Simple and super yum !

See that? That’s the simplest thing to make and yet tasted lovely ! Boiled sprouted green gram topped with some diced onions, tomatoes, lemon and Haldiram’s aloo bhujia. That was our Saturday appetizer that we ate so much that we kind of felt full and had to eat a simple lunch. See, you don’t need a very elaborate dish sometimes.

So, we had this for lunch.

Tomato jeera dal and beetroot palya

 

That picture is so unclear. Basically, it was just ground tomato and jeera dal with beetroot. It was a simple lunch but we kind of enjoyed it.

And the evening saw us eating this –

Gupchups ! πŸ™‚

Seriously, for all you guys who want to get a positive on your proposal to loved ones, all you need to do is propose when they the person is eating a gup-chup. They will say nod their head vigorously ! πŸ™‚ Except for the puris, I made the rest (am not referring to the onions and tomatoes but also the pani and the tamarind chutney and aloo thingy also) and trust me, these are some of the easiest things to make and give you the most indelible form of joy πŸ™‚

Left with a lot of idli batter but don’t want to go back to normal idlis? Why fear when an alternative is here —

Uima ! Kaima !

Seriously, this is a great alternative to idlis. Make a kaima out of it ! Ever since we saw this item on Saravana Bhavan menu here, I have been wanting to try it. So when my better half kind of did not react very enthusiastically when I said, “We are going to have idli again!!”, I knew the time to try this one had come. And woah ! We loved it.

And somewhere in between we had this for lunch too. the picture is not really clear but none of them are anyways, so–

Mixture loaded upma

So, this is actually my better half’s plate. He always makes sure all his food is hidden away, submerged under the various sev forms. So ya, I promise you the upma underneath is quite tempting. Hot and soft with some veggies – just the way I love it.

And also, we made this.

Cabbage prathas

Β  Β  Β  with

Dalma

Β which looked something like this:

Yay !

So, there goes my plate.

At this point, I must confess that I am feeling a bit stupid for sharing unclear pictures and of such commonplace dishes. But I am going to go ahead and post it anyway coz’ I was so enthusiastic when I started typing this post. And who knows someday when I am a famous cook, I can always refer people to this post and say, “See, everyone starts small.”

Right?

πŸ™‚

42 comments

  1. Confused D · April 29, 2012

    haha……..Okay! I am hungry after reading!! I would love to try ‘Uima! Kaima!’ as I have never been introduced to it 😦 I love this post! You should write more of such posts, I don’t mind any kind of picture quality!
    I am hungry! My favorite happens to be gup-chup or gol-gappas or pani-puri πŸ˜€

    • kismitoffeebar · April 30, 2012

      CD ! πŸ™‚

      Thankeeeeee. Yaya, kaima is good actually. Gup-chups were good too.
      Ya, I will write more of these surely simply coz’ they seem to happen pretty much on most weekends πŸ™‚
      How have you been and where are your posts?

  2. Bikramjit Singh Mann · April 29, 2012

    RIght now what do i do .. I feel so hungry seeing all the yummiliscious food .. beautiful pictures …

    • kismitoffeebar · April 30, 2012

      Hey Bikram πŸ™‚

      Really happy to see you here. Welcome ! πŸ™‚
      he he. Go ahead and mae yourself something yummy yummy ! Glad you liked this πŸ™‚

  3. Visha · April 30, 2012

    Haha..loved the way you wrote this….okie..we will believe you had a tough time with idlis πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    I liked the green gram with sev…we do that for weekend evening snacks…

    and whhhhaaattt….u made pani-puri?? I still cant figure out the ingredients which give ‘that’ zingy taste…post the recipe here na…

    I see you make sure you eat all healthy-healthy stuff….super πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · April 30, 2012

      Vishaaaaaaaaaa !

      What healthy healthy stuff? I am made of oil. But nowadays I try to be healthy (only show) πŸ˜›
      Oh okie okie. I will that recipe wait. At work now and will share it when I go home.
      Zingy taste is easy – make sure you don’t use clean hands, that’s all πŸ˜›

      Whoa, you do green gram with sev – sooooper!
      Which city do you stay in Visha (if you don’t mind me asking) ?

      And ofcouse, idli was super challenging okay ? πŸ˜›

      • Visha · April 30, 2012

        Zack too loves oil. I tried making him phulkas once, he said, I cant have it dry…so i had to transform phulka into paratha πŸ˜›

        Not using clean hands for pani puri huh… aiyooo πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

        I stay in Bangalore…come home, i will make you crispy masala vada’s πŸ™‚

        Idli was challenging aa?? Mix a bit of baking soda, it will come out super soft, easy to remove from the plate too πŸ˜‰

      • kismitoffeebar · May 1, 2012

        Visha,

        Ofcourse, I am coming for masala vadas πŸ™‚ wowie! Thankee Visha πŸ™‚

        And oh God!!!!!!!!!! I meant the not using clean hands as a joke only okay ?
        hehehehe
        Okie, I followed this recipe which is pretty much what my mother follows as well. I think it must be on the net, a similar version coz’ I remember googling this one as well πŸ™‚

        You need:

        1/2 cup Tamarind (Imli) Pulp
        2 cups Water
        2 tblsp roasted Cumin Seed (Jeera) Powder
        2 tblsp un-roasted Cumin Seed (Jeera)
        Coriander Leaves
        3 Green Chilly (Hari Mirch)
        2 tblsp Mint Leaves (Pudina Leaves) Chutney
        1 or a bit less tblsp Black Salt (kala namak )
        2 tblsp Jaggary (Gur)

        You can adjust spices and tangyness to taste.
        Strain through a wire strainer to remove any rough bits.

        I basically grind everything other than the tamarind water and jaggery.
        Heat the tamarind water till the raw smell goes away. Now add the ground paste and jaggery to the tamarind water and bring to heat.
        Later, strain it through a wire/ muslin or the tea strainer to get the pani out.
        Keep it aside for cooling.
        Later, you know what to do ! πŸ˜›

        Ah, yes, bakind soda! . I will try it Visha. My idlis came out soft but I like to show off a bit about my culinary effort πŸ˜› Thanks dearie !

  4. Jas · April 30, 2012

    Should I go back and make the breakfast again? it seems my tummy is empty and ready to try all of this…. πŸ™‚ Never knew about Kaima… will search for the recipe and try it… and never really tried cabbage paranthas too… interesting…. πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · April 30, 2012

      Jas Jas Jas Jas,

      When you go back and make more b’fast – pls make some for me too – I feel terribly hungry.
      Ya if you don’t find kaima recipe, ask me. I will tell you my version πŸ˜› Cabbage prathas are yummy yummy ! πŸ™‚
      Let me know how they turned out πŸ™‚

      • Jas · April 30, 2012

        let’s save time… tell me the recipe… now…. πŸ™‚

      • kismitoffeebar · May 1, 2012

        Okie dokie, here goes the recipe πŸ™‚

        For kaima idly, you need to make a tomato-onion masala in a slightly paste form and then cut the idlis into fours or sixes and then mix them in the masala paste and fry for two mins. It tastes great with chutney (of any kind). I made raita as well.
        The onion tomato masala is made by :
        1. Chop onions and tomatoes fine.
        2. Fry onions till golden.
        3. Add some ginger-garlic to it.
        4. Also, grind some raw onion, jeera, pepper, turmeric and green chillies in a mixer to a paste.
        5. Add this paste to the fried onions and fry a bit more till the smell and rawness leaves and till oil starts to leave along the sides.
        6. Now add finely chopped onions and mix them up till they become a pasty-consistency. Add jeera powder, a bit of tumeric, dhania powder, some garam masala and a bit of amchur.
        7. Fry a bit. add some salt to taste.
        8. now add the cut idlis into this paste and mix gently till the pieces are smeared with the masala all over.
        9. Garnish with some finely chopped corriander.
        10. Tastes good when eaten hot along with chutney (mint is a great idea)

        And presto ! πŸ™‚ Tell me how it turned out, ya? πŸ™‚

  5. Atrocious Scribblings · April 30, 2012

    Whyy??? Why are you doing thissss? If I see one of those heavenly pictures again – I will start crying.

    On the positive side – I know who’s place to gatecrash for dinner in Singapore now. Expect a sudden knock on your door with a glutton on the other end anytime in the future. You have been suitably warned :D.

    Cheers πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 1, 2012

      AS :))

      Ah, sorrie 😦
      You just come off whenever you want. I love feeding people. And what better than to feed a friend who is a foodie ! πŸ™‚ No need of warning. Just let me know when you come by, ya?
      Thanks for coming by AS. That made me so happy !

  6. techie2mom · April 30, 2012

    “Uima ! Kaima !” πŸ˜€ seriously yummy pictures!!!!
    enjoyed the foodie chronicles πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 1, 2012

      techie2mom :))
      Welcome here ! Very happy to see you πŸ™‚
      Hehe, I thought the pictures were so unclear. Glad you enjoyed them πŸ™‚
      Keep coming !

  7. The Girl Next Door · April 30, 2012

    Lady, each of these dishes sounds and looks perfectly drool-worthy. I am tempted to try out something new in my kitchen too, now. πŸ™‚ I am tempted to post pics of whatever I cook too on my blog, not that it is something exotic!

    Never heard of Kaima! Please to share the recipe. I hate idlis – I think they are just steamed balls of batter. Would love to try a variation of the same.

    I make the moong–sev chaat and the panipooris at home too – pani and masala included. πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 1, 2012

      Ah, lovely that you enjoyed this TGND πŸ™‚ Go ahead, put up your food photos and I will look forward to seeing them πŸ™‚
      For kaima idly, you need to make a tomato-onion masala in a slightly paste form and then cut the idlis into fours or sixes and then mix them in the masala paste and fry for two mins. It tastes great with chutney (of any kind). I made raita as well.
      The onion tomato masala is made by :
      1. Chop onions and tomatoes fine.
      2. Fry onions till golden.
      3. Add some ginger-garlic to it.
      4. Also, grind some raw onion, jeera, pepper, turmeric and green chillies in a mixer to a paste.
      5. Add this paste to the fried onions and fry a bit more till the smell and rawness leaves and till oil starts to leave along the sides.
      6. Now add finely chopped onions and mix them up till they become a pasty-consistency. Add jeera powder, a bit of tumeric, dhania powder, some garam masala and a bit of amchur.
      7. Fry a bit. add some salt to taste.
      8. now add the cut idlis into this paste and mix gently till the pieces are smeared with the masala all over.
      9. Garnish with some finely chopped corriander.
      10. Tastes good when eaten hot along with chutney (mint is a great idea) πŸ™‚

      Tadaa! πŸ˜› Tell me how it went TGND :))

  8. Sumitra (@thedailymoo) · April 30, 2012

    Yum, Yum, Yum!!

    I totally agree that idlis are not easy to make. Especially the batter, I always use store bought batter too. I’m sure our ancestors are watching in horror. πŸ˜€

    Lovely idea for a post. As you said, anyone can get the recipes anywhere, it’s looking at all the food that’s fun. I stalk food bloggers just to see pictures of their food, I never read the recipes πŸ˜€ Put up bigger pics next time, I want to know what’s cooking next weekend!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 1, 2012

      Sumitra,

      :)) Yay ! So happy to see you by again, here. Yaya, I agree on the idlis. hehe
      I will definitely post pictures of next weekend food surely :))
      Thankee!

  9. Phatichar · May 1, 2012

    yummy post.

    Oh, K & K andre u and ur hubby na? gothaithu bidi, that was really very specific and informative..nimma hesaru, kula, gothra yella gotthagoithu.. πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • kismitoffeebar · May 1, 2012

      hehe πŸ˜› neevu maha purusharu – sarvagnananne meerusavavaru. Adakke erade eradu aksharagalalle ella aritiri ! :))

      • Phatichar · May 1, 2012

        sadhya – ‘neevu purushare alla………maha purusharu’ antha shuru maadlilwalla, bachau aade.. πŸ˜›

      • kismitoffeebar · May 2, 2012

        hehehehehe (am thinking of a Umashree’s line but will save for later)

  10. Phatichar · May 2, 2012

    Now that has got me shuddering….the great Umashree’s line’s being thought of to throw back at me….aiyyo, ammamma…shivane! (bega hel ri adenu helbeku antha..suspense togolakke aagalla).

    I hope it’s not from one of those ‘roll call ramakrishna’ series….egads!!!

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2012

      hehehehehe !
      Illa illa, nothing very great. I love her accent and the spontaenity. so, I like imitating her way of speech. adakke will save it for later anta heLiddu πŸ˜›
      Oh, roll call ramakrishna enu?
      And seriously, Umashree is one amazing person from within. Have you wiki-ed her?

  11. Destination Infinity · May 2, 2012

    How much do you make and eat in a single day ya? πŸ˜› Plain idly is sometimes boring. Kaima idly is a good idea, but try eating sambar idly and sambar vada in saravana bhavan. They make it wonderfully. I like idly upma with excessive onions and various dhals. Of course, you don’t get this in hotels and need to make this at home. But then, you have already become an expert cook (I already counted three recipes in the comments?) so this should not be difficult for you! πŸ™‚ If you have Dosa plaza near your house, don’t miss. They make some awesomely delicious varieties of dosas. U heard of pizza dosa? They make it!

    Destination Infinity

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2012

      DI,

      hehehehe. Not single day but over the weekend. we are like that only. The only break from the kitchen is when we eat πŸ˜› Those are our awesome weekends πŸ˜›

      Idly upma I have eaten and like it a lot too ! πŸ™‚ But I haven’t cooked it myself and will try definitely. Hayyo, what recipes in comments? They are experiments only πŸ˜›
      Dosa Plaza? No dearie, none that i know of in Singapore.
      Saravana Bhavan sambhar idly is yummmmmmy yum yum and so is vada.
      I have heard of pizza dosa but never had it ever 😦 I must look around a bit else catch up on that when I come home to India πŸ™‚
      Thanks DI for coming by πŸ™‚

  12. Privy Trifles · May 2, 2012

    Kaima Idly – This is some version of idli I have never tried before. Will try it now and let you how it feels with pictures ofcourse :o)

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2012

      Hey PT πŸ™‚
      Welcome here ! Happy to see your comment πŸ™‚
      Please do try and I will look forward to seeing the pictures and the experience πŸ™‚
      Well, if it turns out not too good, then I’ll do the vanishing act πŸ˜›

  13. PeeVee (@ThePeevee) · May 3, 2012

    It’s 2.13 p.m, I haven’t had lunch and you made me terribly, horribly hungry 😦

    • kismitoffeebar · May 3, 2012

      PeeVee ! πŸ™‚

      Hehe. That serves as a good reminder to do the needful πŸ˜›
      Very happy to see you here πŸ™‚

  14. pixie · May 3, 2012

    I don’t like idlis! πŸ˜›
    everything else looks delicious! πŸ˜€
    And I’m really glad I read this post after breakfast! :mrgreen:

    • kismitoffeebar · May 7, 2012

      Hehe pixie. Ah, thankee :))
      Ya it helps to read after breakfast :p

  15. Deeps · May 4, 2012

    Yummmmm! I am so tempted to try the sprouted gram appetizer and the cabbage parathas especially! πŸ™‚

    • kismitoffeebar · May 7, 2012

      He he thanks deeps :))

      Pls go ahead and try them. They are super easy to make and taste good too πŸ™‚

  16. lostinmylilworld · May 7, 2012

    Hey u had a great food week I guess!! Just like mine http://lostinmylilworld.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/random-updates-of-2-weeks-in-bullet-points/ as too much food was invloved here too!!

    I loved the way u hv least bothered to explain wat u hv cooked n still managed to click snaps put down this post.. πŸ™‚ he he

    The Punchline n the idea behind it is very smart!!
    β€œSee, everyone starts small.” LOL on that… Hv a great week ahead Kismi (Hope I can call u that)

    • kismitoffeebar · May 8, 2012

      Tee hee πŸ™‚
      Thanks you so much πŸ™‚
      I must check out your post now. Where there food, there is me !

      Ofcourse, you can call me Kismi ! πŸ™‚

      • lostinmylilworld · May 8, 2012

        Okies.. Thanks…
        Kismi -> I used to love this choc called Kismitoffeebar, Ur name will always remind me abt our childhood days( Golden Days I say)

      • kismitoffeebar · May 8, 2012

        tee hee ! The whole purpose behind my name πŸ™‚

  17. Greenboochi (GB) · May 11, 2012

    You said you had no mood to share the recipes but ended up giving three recipes on the comments πŸ˜€

    super duper food… idly pudina chutney combo is always the awesome one… but did you really have tough time preparing idli? πŸ™„

    Your food looks very yummilious… πŸ˜€ a visual treat to see so many varieties on a single go… πŸ˜›

    making my stomach grumble though its not the lunch time yet..:(

    • kismitoffeebar · May 11, 2012

      Greenboochiiiiiiie ! πŸ™‚

      I didn’t have a mood to but had to give in to public demand and all πŸ˜›
      Thankiee !
      Oh, idli was tough you know – my first time – getting the texture and all. what? I am so basic like that ! :PP

Leave a Reply

