The Hat Shop on the Corner – Marita Conlon-Mc Kenna

Last week saw me craving to buy a couple of nice sidesweeps and trims thanks to what I got my nose buried in. That’s right – this book made me crave for hats- all types of them, just about one each will do (I am quite understanding  and selfless that way towards the better half). Unless you want to gift me one.

Anyways, I digress.

Well, I borrowed this book from the library only because of the name. I thought I must read books with fun names and give the serious reads a rest. So, Mr. Salman Rushdie and Mr. V.S. Naipul et al., please excuse.

Ellie’s life takes a turn when she inherits her mother’s hatshop in Dublin’s South anne Street. Ellie has a job already and must decide what she wants – whether she wants to keep the hat shop or give it away for a generous sum to one of the developers who wish to change Dublin.

Ellie herself has studied fashion and  knows how much the shop meant to her mother. But does it mean the same to her? Also, Ellie has a job already. Do the millinery confections seduce her towards them?

Surrounded by supportive friends, old customers and new ones who come to the shop with myriad requirements and requests, Ellie finds herself surrounded by an assortment of an order list. But does she manage to do them all?

Alongside is her relationship with Rory who seems non-commmital but yet promises his love for her. And then, there is Neil Harrington. Whom does she choose?

                                       The Hat Shop On The Corner

That’s the cover of the book. For the kind of hats described, the cover doesn’t do justice.

I liked reading this one. Simple, quite cheesy at times most of the time, majorly predictable but yet makes you want to read so that you are left feeling good and the drool-worthy descriptions of the hats made me feel exactly what the book set out to make me feel – good. And, Craving. For. Hats.

I have never read a proper chick-lit book for long (make that LOOOOOOOOOOOOONG). So, I was excited and kept drilling the fact that I was reading chic-lit to my better half who was much relieved when I returned the book on Sunday. I am crazy only. As if I need to say it out.

Umm, I am bad at rating and all. But, yeah, go pick this one up if you want a super light, happily predictable read.

I’d probably read more by this author just to feel good and bother hubby with girly tales.

So, what have you been reading lately readers?

8 comments

  1. Jas · April 3, 2012

    Let me hit the Crossword for this one… lately, no reads…. waiting to buy some…. and now my book rack is crying… already heaps on it….

    • kismitoffeebar · April 3, 2012

      tee hee.
      I don’t know if you would want to “buy” this one 🙂 But yaya, why not ! If you don’t like it, come and scold kismitoffeebar 😛
      Seriously, I want to buy some books too Jas. Need that therapy 😛

  2. The Girl Next Door · April 3, 2012

    This is the first time I have heard of this book, or this author. Sounds like a very interesting book! It definitely seems to be the kind of book that I would enjoy reading. Lemme see if I can find it somewhere.

    I never thought of hats as something that would suit me, but after reading your review I am like ‘Why not?! Why not try?!’ Hats are pretty little things, aren’t they?

    I am presently reading Jodi Picoult’s Salem Falls. Kinda drowning in the book, unable to put it down. And it’s my first Picoult book.

    PS: Good to know I am not the only person who keeps bugging the husband with details about the books that I read. 🙂

  3. kismitoffeebar · April 3, 2012

    Hi TGND,

    It was my first read by this author as well. She writes in very simple language, nothing great but just sweet. I think you will like it too 🙂

    And oh, I looooooove hats ! They sure are pretty li’l things especially those English ones with the right frill and trill 😛

    Ah, Jodi Picoult – I must read one too for the challenge. I am looking forward to reading one.

    hehe, I bother the husband big time !

  4. Confused D · April 4, 2012

    I am not fond of chick-lit books but I LOOVVVEEE hats! So I guess I will buy this one. And oh Yes! Even I bother my man a LOT when a book is finished 😀 He hates reading anything except Mills and Boon 😀
    Would you believe that I tortured him to read twilight 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · April 4, 2012

      hehe. I can understand how you may have tortured him ! Poor poor man 🙂
      I haven’t read much in the genre either but well, I guess I will change that part a bit 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · April 4, 2012

      and yaya ! am all for hats and will soon buy one 😛 Go for it 🙂

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet | The Girl Next Door

Leave a Reply

