Someday I want to….

Well , the title isn’t really apt considering the list I have which features zillion things I wanna be doing someday. and nope, have no fear. I am not going ot rant on that now.

But there is one thing that figures in the top very-few. Very very few , actually.

As a kid , I have always been fascinated by this one game ” Teacher-teacher” .. Oh! I loved it, and loved it with all my heart. I would just drape my ma‘s saree around , take a long scale (ruler) , chalk , use my blackboard (yes, papa had gotten me those huge black charts)  a long book (now, that would be the register) and ofcourse wear my paati’s ( grandma’s) glassless spectacle frame and start addressing the class of invisible pupils who seemed to have the same names of my classmates at kindergarten. And even now , when I look back , I can trace the happiness I derived from a game as simple as that one. Earlier it was the sheer fantasy of using red ink , correcting the course-books , scolding students the way you wanted ( the ones who had beaten me at a game of capseller!), the joy of having no exams and so much more.. I even remember how at school in the 4th std., one of our teachers had asked a few students to help out a few other students with certain subjects they weren’t comfortable with. I was assigned V with whom I took the complete liberty of acting like a Head Mistress and even gave him homework and marked stars on his book for good work. Ah! Good old golden days.

 As I come back to the present , I feel nothing much has changed. The passion to teach and share the little that I know with the kids is still there , very much there. Yes! Maybe with changes here and there. It is no more just the sheer fantasy for all the seemingly childish aspects above but for much more and it has grown with time and probably will live on forever with me in the time to come.

 Very fortunately , each one of us gets to realize this passion ( it is , for me!) knowingly or unknowingly at some point in their lifetime. It could be just helping out your sibling at homework or maybe even cycling , teaching your dog new tricks , sharing something you know about a gadget you have recently purchased , with a family member , helping a toddler to walk….  life is full of that!

 But here , I am referring to teaching in classrooms. Teaching on football fields. Teaching under teh rain. Teaching on a hill-top.  Maybe even at summer camps , workshops and just about anywhere where you get to use your creativity and share the little chunks they call “knowledge”.

That reminds me about the small school I used to run at home over weekends. I was myself at school and was raring to be teacher to 3 kids – 2 of them being our home-helper’s kids and the third being their tag-along friend. They had the privilege of going to school unlike many of their pack , thanks to their mother who was and probably still is very very particular about  children going to school , learning english ( She used to say that with pride and I loved/love the fire in her!) and even nursed a dream of seeing her kids turning out to be doctors or engineers. Rare but true! They used to come over during weekends to learn math and a bit of other subjects. They were amazing at coursework  and I truly enjoyed in a manner that words can never ever describe. The best part was that I got to learn  so much from them – their school , the kids there , the little tales , why Mangala’s son stopped coming to school suddenly and how he has been pushed to cattle grazing , the kind of meals they get as a part of the so-called scheme , the games they play, the kind of simplicity and unity that shows in their actions , the innocence, the carefree nature and what not. everytime I think of their faces, I relive my childhood memories. And that probably is the best gift a teacher can ask for.

 Someday down the lane , I see myself standing in a classroom surrounded by ebullient kids , all 5 or 6 yrs of them in a classroom or maybe a camp under the stars on a hilltop where I have taken them to tell tales of night, the science and math of it all, laughing and learning with them and bringing the child out in me. Bliss.

Would I forget the weekends I spent a few yrs back? Ofcourse not.. after all , that is what you call , the power of a beginning..

P.S. I now see kids having an iPad, iPod, iPhone, psp etc. What happened to good old hopscotch, hide n seek, pretend plays, tree houses? No, am not a nanny. I am still very much in my mid twenties. But, such thoughts make me feel so overcome with feelings I can’t name but only bother my better half and more recently all of you with.

Do/did you have any such dreams? Something you laways wanted to do? Like, I have also wanted to be the newspaper boy in the mornings and President by afternoon etc etc. What were your fancies readers?

 

19 comments

  1. Sumitra (@thedailymoo) · March 20, 2012

    Hey, really sweet post! I can so picture a sweet little girl in her mom’s saree, acting like a grown up teacher 🙂

    My secret dream has been to sell ice creams. I walked into a newly opened Amul store near my house recently, and a girl sold me the ice cream. You can’t believe how jealous I was of her. I so badly wanted to take her place scooping out ice creams daily and showering them with sprinkles. 😀 Although, I’d probably end up eating more than I’d sell.

    • kismitoffeebar · March 20, 2012

      Hey Sumitra,

      Am so happy to see you here 🙂 Haha, yes, that brat in the saree would be me alright – my saree would be just the kinds that went round and round and I had trouble walking 😛
      Wow, ice-cream seller – that’s a really adorable dream. You are the first one I know who wanted to be that 🙂
      A big welcome and pls do keep visiting 🙂

  2. Jas · March 20, 2012

    That’s good work you were doing there… I agree today’s generation is spoiled for choices and too exposed to technology…. we cannot stop them but we can work towards working out a fine balance where they still enjoy hop scotch and porbably download a youtube video to add variation to it 😉

    I wanted to be a newsreader.. oh! I loved them.. the accent, the style…

    • kismitoffeebar · March 20, 2012

      Hey Jas,

      🙂 I agree that we could probably introduce a fine balance. The much needed balance.
      Also, hey ! Somewhere I have had newsreading as a wish too. I particularly liked their formal wear and esp. how they got to meet big guys ask them the mst daring of questions unabashedly.
      Thanks for coming Jas. Keep visitng ! 🙂

  3. Visha · March 20, 2012

    Will our similarities ever end Toffee 😛

    A part of me wanted to be a teacher..my parents thought it is a profession especially crafted for me…until Harry Potter happened…immediately I wanted to become a story-teller 🙂

    When I finished my high school, I was sure I would become a paediatrician since I absolutely adored babies…until the first lab of Biology happened 😛

    And the joys of using red ink…immeasurable…..

    • kismitoffeebar · March 20, 2012

      Eerie no?

      Ah, story telling – wowie !
      So what are you working as now ? (if I may ask) No matter what you are doing now, I sure hope you realie your dreams someday.
      Biology lab – he he !

      red ink – absolute bliss and later on green ink made me feel powerful but nothing can replace red ink. I’d “correct” my own book innumerable times, almost like an agenda on a summer holiday.
      🙂

      • Visha · March 21, 2012

        Heylo Toffee,

        You have been tagged…you are requested to hop here-[http://zackandme.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/first-tag/]

        Cheers!!

  4. Confused D · March 21, 2012

    You know, I remember doing the same! I would drape my mom’s saree and boss my siblings. I grew up in a joint family, so there were many kids around. I was the elder one, so I always had to help with the homework. It was not fun that time. But when my maid’s kid come to me, it suddenly is so much of fun! After their result was out, they even made a greeting to thank me! It was over whelming 🙂

    • kismitoffeebar · March 22, 2012

      Confused D,

      I am so so happy to see you here. I wasn’t able to see your comment earlier – sorry !

      I so understand how happy you must have felt to teach your helper’s kid 🙂 And a greeting – that’s so so sweet. Such li’l acts can go such long ways in overwhelming you 🙂

      Pls keep visiting often 🙂

  5. The Girl Next Door · March 21, 2012

    Same pinch on the teacher part! 🙂

    I used to LOVE the ‘Teacher teacher’ game so much that my parents thought I would definitely become a teacher. 🙂 Sadly, when it came to choosing a career, I didn’t choose teaching – because I strongly felt I needed to acquire some more knowledge for that, I do not have the voice that is necessary for teaching, and that I wanted to go into writing more than teaching.

    That said, I do want to teach sometime in my life – in a very fun, interactive way – about my field. 🙂

    Apart from that, two of my dearest dreams have been to become a librarian/bookshop owner and a magazine editor/writer.

    • kismitoffeebar · March 21, 2012

      Hey TGND,

      Ah, I knew I wasn’t alone on the teacher game. It was so much fun.

      Very happy to hear about your teacher games and your desire to teach someday – it is so rewarding isn’t it? The very thought I mean 🙂

      Ah, your dearest dreams sound so wonderful and well, I am sure given the voracious reader you are, you are almost a librarian (of your own library) and a writer (blogs) – so someway you have actually gone ahead with fulfilling a part of your dreams, haven’t you? 🙂

      Keep coming 🙂

      • The Girl Next Door · March 21, 2012

        I am a writer in real-life too. That’s my profession. What I meant was that I want to write for a magazine, which I don’t do at the moment. 🙂

        And yes, I am indeed the librarian of my home library, though I am not doing a very good job out of it at the moment. 😛

  6. Phatichar · March 21, 2012

    Is this ‘teacher-teacher’ thingy a common thing with girls? My daughter just loves to all that you used to do, drape a saree, brandish a scale et al.

    Me? I always wanted to be a super-hero (ok, don’t roll your eyes), but yeah well, I used to regale my class with these absurdly concocted stories in the ‘free’ period, and all my classmates would gape and listen like I had taken them for a free ride to weirdo-land. Sometimes they even dropped their jaws with “huh? can something like this happen at all?”

    I guess I’ve not changed much, except the stories happen in cyberspace now. 😛

    • kismitoffeebar · March 22, 2012

      Phatichar 🙂

      Wow, you are a wonderful story teller and hence our very own super hero as well, very much on this space 🙂
      I used to narrate Horror Show stories during auto rides as well – the ones my aunt used to tell me during the night.

      You have a daughter? Very sweet 🙂 I can visualize a li’l one all over the place with her scale and wrapped up saree that has a long tail behind :))

      • Phatichar · March 22, 2012

        Of course, she’s 10 now…she used to do it a couple of years ago.. 🙂

  7. aame · March 22, 2012

    This is ur first post i read late yesterday night…and i felt just so good…because that’s what i have been thinking of always…wanting to do…in some corner of my heart…and very soon i would be on my way…. 🙂
    I love kids and i always feel the importance of the role a teacher plays in a child’s life in moulding and shaping his/her thought process/conscience at those early years…
    I want to be a teacher because i strongly believe i would be able to make a difference in atleast one child’s life,if not 40,every year… 😉

    And it was really heartening to read all the above comments too 🙂 Thanks for this post !

    Cheers !

    • kismitoffeebar · March 22, 2012

      Agree agree to everything. it is just so true isn’t it? Like Kabir who said that a teacher is a potter. Ah, the joy of giving shape to anything, being a part of it, wow !It IS an inexplicable feeling. A high.
      So glad to know that you are on your way – I will be happy to know the day you start living your dreams 🙂

      My wishes will always be with you 🙂

      Ah, yes, I had a lovely time reading the dreams. Everyone needs that kind of journey sometimes – going back to the childhood and reliving it.

      • aame · March 22, 2012

        Very true 🙂

  8. Janhvi · March 24, 2012

    I used to love doing that! To the extent that when my mom (who was a teacher) got back notebooks of students at the end of a term, i used to keep them safely and use them in my game. I played this game till maybe 3rd standard…. I loved it so much.

    Apart from this burst of nostalgia that I just had, I must say, an exceptionally well written post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

