The story behind the footprints.

Footprints.Many of them. Traceable ones. Not-at-all traceable ones. Let alone traceable , some are not even visible. They have been trampled upon by many a greater feet and some have been washed away.
Coz’ they were footprints on sand.
And now , as I am trying to retrace them within my limited repository,I have this sudden suspicion as to whether I walked on an undesired path.

Who could have rubbed off my footprints? The footprints I left with so much care. With all of the perspicuousness.With all that caution. With all that encouragement from the others. With all of that limpid signs of having the goal right ahead in front of me.Am I dreaming? Have I overlooked? I must be dreaming.

But again, when I look back, out of sheer inquisitivess and hope , I am intrigued. Some of my footsteps surely seem to be missing.Not possible , I console myself and gear up for another re-search. But to no avail. But such footsteps, are few. All the same, they are missing.

I try to reason it. And after what seems like a moment stretching to eternity , the answer looms right in front of me. Yes. I chose the well-trodden path in those instances.
Those few instances , I walked the path , many chose to walk. Many who walked ahead of me and many who went on to walk after I had left my footprints, but not without trampling the rest.

Naturally, mine were missing. ‘coz in those few phases , I hadn’t chosen the least-trodden path. Had I cared to , I would have never had to carry out this unending quest for my footprints.’coz they would have been fresh and new and untrodden.

So , what happened to all that caution I had taken to carry out a quotidian routine?Were they needed? Your guess is as good as mine.

Now, I observe the footprints that stand out. They have been made on sand too. Only that, the path hasn’t been trodden yet.Not to an extent that my footprints are erased. Erased from view. Erased from memory.
They are the footprints which I made inspite of all that I had to endure. Criticism and praise, alike.

They are the footprints that will lead others to me. Good and not-so-good, alike.

They are the footprints that people once made fun of.The qualified and not-qualified, alike.

They are the footprints that make me proud. Today and tomorrow, alike.

They are the footprints that will only be too happy to let others tread on them.Adults and children ,alike.

‘coz they are the footprints that make me. Similar and different, alike.

‘coz they are the footprints , I can cherish as mine.But most of all , they are my footprints that cannot be washed away.
Now and forever , alike.

8 comments

  1. Visha · March 13, 2012

    Hi Toffee 🙂

    Dunno if this is the best way to say this…

    Make your own path….even though your set of footprints is trodden again and again by someone else…always remember that you were the one who made the path in the first place

    If this does not make any sense…chill…throw it in a bin 😀 😀

    Cheers!!

    • kismitoffeebar · March 14, 2012

      It makes all the sense,Visha 🙂 All the sense ! 🙂

      Thanks for being the first to read 🙂

  2. Phatichar · March 13, 2012

    Namaskaara akkau! Nimma paadada xerox kodi… :). Super.

    • kismitoffeebar · March 14, 2012

      hehe….. iden heeg heLbiTri? bahLa doDDa maatu 🙂
      Tumba thanks 🙂

  3. anuglyhead · March 14, 2012

    Loved from start till the end!!

  4. Janhvi · March 24, 2012

    Very nicely written. You have a wonderful way with words and it is delightful to read your writings…

    • kismitoffeebar · March 24, 2012

      🙂 Thanks a lot Janhvi 🙂

      It is a pleasure to write and better when the feeling is mutual 🙂

Leave a Reply

